Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree16Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 01-12-2012, 08:30 PM
  #7366  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 137
Default

^ Thanks for the pictures guys, just installed mine and it looks fantastic.

Oscar.
arix is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 08:37 PM
  #7367  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (67)
 
Taman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: GC, Aust
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

will the cirtrix stock club race fit in the 104pro? thanks

edit: Thanks mattwoodcraft

Last edited by Taman; 01-13-2012 at 05:08 AM.
Taman is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 09:14 PM
  #7368  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
mattwoodcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: perth / australia
Posts: 2,747
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Sure will this what I have been using in my F104 plenty of room
mattwoodcraft is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 06:27 AM
  #7369  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 137
Default

Was wondering why does tamiya recommend trimming the outside of the turnbuckle ball cups with an xacto knife/blade. Just did it while assembling the front end and kind of find it pointless. My other touring car didn't require this and was basically the same concept.
arix is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:29 AM
  #7370  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
nrtv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 1,030
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by arix
Was wondering why does tamiya recommend trimming the outside of the turnbuckle ball cups with an xacto knife/blade. Just did it while assembling the front end and kind of find it pointless. My other touring car didn't require this and was basically the same concept.
So you dont have to pop the ball ends off to change the ackerman on the steering blocks.
nrtv20 is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 07:52 AM
  #7371  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
mattwoodcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: perth / australia
Posts: 2,747
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

i never cut the ends off mine but now it does make sense that some one has cleared it up because i wondered the same
mattwoodcraft is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 08:43 AM
  #7372  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (37)
 
abailey21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: ATX
Posts: 5,410
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

One nice thing about cutting off the ears of the Savox is that a replacement case is like 13 bucks
abailey21 is offline  
Old 01-13-2012, 09:26 AM
  #7373  
dfx
Tech Adept
 
dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 131
Default

Originally Posted by nrtv20
So you dont have to pop the ball ends off to change the ackerman on the steering blocks.
But I think that X1 manual recommends it for the opposite side (servo side of turnbuckle). Maybe space problem with front arm?

dfx is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 07:53 AM
  #7374  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (51)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: VA
Posts: 4,198
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

For those who have mounted the servo horizontally about how much spacing are you using to get the steering rods flat? I want to start them out flat and then play around from there with angle. Also, anyone have a tamiya part number for longer ball connectors?
Apex is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 07:57 AM
  #7375  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
mattwoodcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: perth / australia
Posts: 2,747
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

i have 3mm in mine and my servo is on a slight angle with 0 bump steer
mattwoodcraft is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 09:23 AM
  #7376  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Csaari77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,526
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I used 4mm of spacers. The arms are completely flat. Instead of getting longer ballstuds, I used Tamiya ball ends and a 10mm screw. It fit perfect.
Csaari77 is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 04:52 PM
  #7377  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,622
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys I got a set of f104w tamiya rubber tires part number 9408053 and rims but I can't seem to find any inserts for them...anyone no who might stock these?
theatriks is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 05:54 PM
  #7378  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,021
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

for guys looking for f104 foam rims, rc market has them in stock..

just ordered 2 sets about 11pm last night, and got a shipping notice around 12:30am - talk about QUICK service...

just hope USPS cooperates
k_bojar is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 10:05 PM
  #7379  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I've been having an issue with losing C clips off the kingpins the last couple of weeks on my Exotek. I may have fixed the issue but won't know until I get back to the track next week. I want to run it by y'all, maybe its happened to some of you.

I've been running the front end with no spacers under the caster block. So the arms are at an angle, I think I saw it on RobK's blog, so I ran with it. Its the only thing I can think of that could cause it. I have the right size C clips, I don't know if it has been binding and just chunking them off but its happening every race just about. So my miracle cure all that I've done is, of course, put the spacers back under the caster blocks. I need to search the blog again and make sure I didn't misunderstand something. I saw it when I first started running the F104 front end on my F109, and carried it over to the Exotek chassis. But if any of ya have had this issue, let me know. I'm going bonkers.
texastc is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 11:55 PM
  #7380  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Looks like I had it all wrong. I checked out some video's. And seems I totally misunderstood something. Must have gone by memory. lol

Still, don't know for sure this was causing the C clips to fall off.
texastc is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.