Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree12Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 01-11-2012, 03:55 AM
  #7351  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (14)
 
rcdave1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by aarcobra View Post
RC DAVE-Get rid of the outer rib, both inside and out side? On the outside, do you just glue the sidewall "flap" on the tire to the similar looking area on the wheel?

Thanks,
Ned
Ned, the outer rib on the front and back of the wheel! If you run the plated wheels make sure you sand the metallic off the area to be glued. I've mounted 2 ways. (1) gluing the flap just like the foam wheel (2) flipping the tire inside out and carefully removing the flap with a pair of body scissors and reversing the tire so the cut part is on the back of the wheel. This is a very clean look like a touring car tire and wheel mounted. Make sure if you are going to cut the flap off leave the flat bead part intact!!!! Very important!
rcdave1 is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 04:10 AM
  #7352  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (14)
 
rcdave1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by texastc View Post
so looks like we know why they are out of stock
Mmhmm! I finally found some at a Canadian hobby shop, hobbyhobby.com had them in stock and I should have them by saturday for some racing on the rug! One sidenote though the shipping was as much as the wheels! Oh well you play you pay
rcdave1 is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 08:42 AM
  #7353  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcdave1 View Post
Ned, the outer rib on the front and back of the wheel! If you run the plated wheels make sure you sand the metallic off the area to be glued. I've mounted 2 ways. (1) gluing the flap just like the foam wheel (2) flipping the tire inside out and carefully removing the flap with a pair of body scissors and reversing the tire so the cut part is on the back of the wheel. This is a very clean look like a touring car tire and wheel mounted. Make sure if you are going to cut the flap off leave the flat bead part intact!!!! Very important!
Great info! Thanks, I'll take a look at my parts and give it a try!

Ned
aarcobra is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 08:47 AM
  #7354  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by texastc View Post
so looks like we know why they are out of stock
Yeah these guys that stock up on parts!!! I have half a dozen F1's and hardly any spares that matter! (and no place to run 'em-might try HOTSHOTS in GA. Saturday if I can get info on times etc.

That's a good thing tho, most guys will share if you need stuff!
aarcobra is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 02:13 PM
  #7355  
Tech Master
iTrader: (55)
 
hanzo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

The actual nut driver is too large to use. Do they have diff thickness 7mm drivers?
hanzo3 is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 02:16 PM
  #7356  
Tech Adept
 
rcsuicide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 208
Default

Can somebody tell me if the F104 Pro is less than 190mm wide?
rcsuicide is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 02:27 PM
  #7357  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,588
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hanzo3 View Post
The actual nut driver is too large to use. Do they have diff thickness 7mm drivers?
Time to take your car to Shaun at TQ and let him sell you a proper fitting nut driver
MikeR is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 02:28 PM
  #7358  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,186
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Erhmmmmm..it would be more like 180MM wide

regards Roy

Originally Posted by rcsuicide View Post
Can somebody tell me if the F104 Pro is less than 190mm wide?
Pro10noob is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 04:58 PM
  #7359  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
Csaari77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,500
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Is it still necessary to cut the ears off of the servo if I'm using a low profile layed down?

Last edited by Csaari77; 01-11-2012 at 05:11 PM.
Csaari77 is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 05:30 PM
  #7360  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Csaari77 View Post
Is it still necessary to cut the ears off of the servo if I'm using a low profile layed down?
no
texastc is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 05:31 PM
  #7361  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hanzo3 View Post
The actual nut driver is too large to use. Do they have diff thickness 7mm drivers?
I have to use a socket wrench, my nut driver is too big too.

That sounded so dirty.
texastc is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 06:25 PM
  #7362  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 8,069
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

In case of emergency, Tamiya 4 way wrench...they come in every kit
robk is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 12:30 PM
  #7363  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 137
Default

Originally Posted by texastc View Post
no
Could you guys provide picture on a setup with a low profile servo without cutting out the ears? Just got a Savox 1251 low profile and honestly would hate having to cut out the ears of the thing.
arix is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 12:49 PM
  #7364  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by arix View Post
Could you guys provide picture on a setup with a low profile servo without cutting out the ears? Just got a Savox 1251 low profile and honestly would hate having to cut out the ears of the thing.
here you go
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya F104 Pro!-f1posse.jpg  
texastc is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 03:14 PM
  #7365  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
Csaari77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,500
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Got my servo mounted. Fit perfect and doesn't seem to hit the servo mounts. Now I just need to route the wires so it doesn't look like spagetti and I'll be done.
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya F104 Pro!-photo.jpg  
Csaari77 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.