Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree12Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 11-27-2011, 12:17 PM
  #6961  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 33
Default

thanks :-)
when it comes to it, this cars handling is perfect! it can handle throttle everywhere (which is privilege of 4WD) but i have problems with "flip over" at low speed .... today i figured out that front spring suspension wasn't good.... and i have new tires, so i think about "round off the edge of the wheel" (i used translate.google to write this, so maybe i wrote it wrong).

P.S: Rear suspension is really hard I didn't notice that undertray touches the ground....
and this undertray is perfect because it defends the rear shaft (guys with Xray 2WD cars broke at least one per race... i do not O:-) )
SquirrelCZE is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 04:20 PM
  #6962  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Evesham UK
Posts: 31
Default My still Brawn rep :(

Still having no joy finding a Brawn body for my F104. Any 1 got any ideas? dont think it will look right on a F60 body
Bigtomo71 is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 05:31 PM
  #6963  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bigtomo71 View Post
Still having no joy finding a Brawn body for my F104. Any 1 got any ideas? dont think it will look right on a F60 body
F60 and the Mclaren pretty much it, unless you go with a Chevron body from DDrive
texastc is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 01:00 AM
  #6964  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
JamesHealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 556
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The exotek 104 doesn't fit with the one piece yeah racing motor mount.
Not with out sanding down the left rear link arm so it doesn't bind.





Originally Posted by SquirrelCZE View Post
Thanks for advice, but it's not best option for me... because i use Yeah Racing Aluminum Motor Mount Single Piece and i would have to change complete motormount... that's the reason why i asked about the TRG :-)

another thing: I have Tamyia F104GT in development and we have made (me and my father) our own dumper solution, but our solution is still too big to be used in F1 car :-)

P.S: i have pics of that, but i can't post link ...

JamesHealey is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 11:08 AM
  #6965  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
JamesHealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 556
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Red crc side springs, 50wt oil, no pre load
Tamiya blue centre spring, 50wt oil, no pod droop
I then use yeah racing one piece alloy motor mount and steel axle all to add weight
At the rear of car!

Also don't have too much aggressive setup on front end!




Originally Posted by Bumpy View Post
Hey guys.

Does anyone have any setup info for the Exo104 chassis for low-mid traction outdoors asphalt, medium sized semi technical track. At the moment im struggling with the rear sledging into corners. Am running it pretty much box standard.
JamesHealey is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 01:05 PM
  #6966  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Evesham UK
Posts: 31
Default

Originally Posted by texastc View Post
F60 and the Mclaren pretty much it, unless you go with a Chevron body from DDrive
What r the wings again? isit 3 racing? Link if pos
Bigtomo71 is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 10:35 PM
  #6967  
Tech Regular
 
kneedeeppow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: new zealand
Posts: 307
Default

Originally Posted by Bigtomo71 View Post
Still having no joy finding a Brawn body for my F104. Any 1 got any ideas? dont think it will look right on a F60 body
here is mine using a tamiya f104 mclaren body and 3racing wing set
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya F104 Pro!-bgp.jpg  
kneedeeppow is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 10:58 PM
  #6968  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
HeliYogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: WA
Posts: 1,199
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default Need support Mini Z - F1 class Re-starting at Kyosho America Track

Hey guys,

This Saturday we asked Kyosho to open the Mini Z F1 Class for their fall classic race to be held this coming Saturday 3rd and they have agreed. We have four cars confirm, but still need at least two to make the minimum six required.

If you have not experience running your Mini Z F1 at Kyosho this is a great chance to do so, plus you will be supporting the F1/ Mini Z scale efforts to be alive and racing again in southern California.

I support anything F1,we hope to meet you Saturday at Kyosho.

Cheers, Marcos

PS I been part of Mr. Lightfoot’s UF1 gang since the beginning (2009), for reasons outside our control Kyosho had previously schedule this race the same day as November’s 2nd round of the UF1 winter series. I will always promote staying away from the UF1 schedule or any other F1 race so we get more (including and not excluding) options for all F1 enthusiasts.

Sorry in advance for this unwanted situation.

Click for race info.
http://www.kyoshoamerica.com/R-241-Raceway-_c_15.html

HeliYogi is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 02:22 AM
  #6969  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kapiti, New Zealand
Posts: 134
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JamesHealey View Post
Red crc side springs, 50wt oil, no pre load
Tamiya blue centre spring, 50wt oil, no pod droop
I then use yeah racing one piece alloy motor mount and steel axle all to add weight
At the rear of car!

Also don't have too much aggressive setup on front end!
Thanks. Ill give those a try. What is the pound weight of the CRC side springs and the Tamiya blue center spring,I'm using AE side springs and center shocks setup the same as my other AE pan cars. Also, what about ride heights, front and rear. I heard that running the front high and the rear low helps a whole lot. Any ideas?
Bumpy is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 06:58 AM
  #6970  
Tech Regular
 
tudor_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 345
Default

Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
If you have a low-pro servo then this is the best way;



http://www.exotekracing.com/f104-bolt-in-servo-mounts/
Sorry to dig up this old post..

What are the blue 6mm spacers? Exotek part? Tamiya part?
Thanks!
tudor_47 is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 09:16 AM
  #6971  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 384
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tudor_47 View Post
Sorry to dig up this old post..

What are the blue 6mm spacers? Exotek part? Tamiya part?
Thanks!
Pretty sure those are the tamiya spacers from there spacer kit they sell I want to say the 5.5 or 5mm But depending on your servo is going to depend on spacer length you may have to join two together to get a proper level turnbuckles.
Shameless121 is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 09:16 AM
  #6972  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,587
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bumpy View Post
Thanks. Ill give those a try. What is the pound weight of the CRC side springs and the Tamiya blue center spring,I'm using AE side springs and center shocks setup the same as my other AE pan cars. Also, what about ride heights, front and rear. I heard that running the front high and the rear low helps a whole lot. Any ideas?
Hi, Did you email me last week? I replied but didn't hear back.

Originally Posted by tudor_47 View Post
Sorry to dig up this old post..

What are the blue 6mm spacers? Exotek part? Tamiya part?
Thanks!
Use any old spacers- 6mm worth of hinge pins spacers will work.
MikeR is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 10:26 PM
  #6973  
Tech Regular
 
tudor_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 345
Default

Originally Posted by Shameless121 View Post
Pretty sure those are the tamiya spacers from there spacer kit they sell I want to say the 5.5 or 5mm But depending on your servo is going to depend on spacer length you may have to join two together to get a proper level turnbuckles.
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
Use any old spacers- 6mm worth of hinge pins spacers will work.
Thanks!
tudor_47 is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 10:38 PM
  #6974  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Matthijs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tudor_47 View Post
Thanks!
I used this threaded spacer: http://www.ebay.nl/itm/290569896247, 'any hinge pins spacer' won't work as you have no thread to mount the ball connector and the servo horn. Would be a nice option for Exotek to sell these threaded spacer in 6mm as I couldn't find one at the big hobbyshops.
Matthijs is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 10:46 PM
  #6975  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,587
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Matthijs View Post
I used this threaded spacer: http://www.ebay.nl/itm/290569896247, 'any hinge pins spacer' won't work as you have no thread to mount the ball connector and the servo horn. Would be a nice option for Exotek to sell these threaded spacer in 6mm as I couldn't find one at the big hobbyshops.
The spacers shown in the pics have no thread! I'm not making this info up, indeed 2- 3mm hinge spacers will work. Push a long m3 screw through the servo horn hole, through the spacers and thread it into the Tamiya threaded balls...
MikeR is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.