Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree12Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 09-27-2011, 07:54 AM
  #6451  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

http://f1paintlab.com/zencart/
direct link to his store. I just bought one from him 2 weeks ago.
texastc is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 11:19 AM
  #6452  
Tech Adept
 
Shangrila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 122
Default

All the podium and A main cars were running wide F103 front and rear at the Tamiya EuroCup Finals last week. It is absolutely faster.


Originally Posted by robk View Post
If you're going to do that you may as well run the wide front end as well. You car will be like a tricycle, since the rear will be 200mm and the front 180 with the 104 front end.

Wider will be faster, if it's allowed.
Shangrila is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 06:23 PM
  #6453  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Shangrila View Post
All the podium and A main cars were running wide F103 front and rear at the Tamiya EuroCup Finals last week. It is absolutely faster.
And hear I am modifying my F109 to a 104 frontend, well, one of my F109s.
texastc is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 10:51 PM
  #6454  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,324
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
If your lucky on e-bay and if not try our beloved paintjob guru http://www.f1paintlab.com/Site/HOME.html
Send him a mail and he will hook you up.

regards Roy
Yes I do have them in stock, I had a small issue with the site accepting payments or orders, but I think everything is working now. The address to the online store is f1paintlab.com/zencart
The McLaren bodies are under the 104 section
BP SHADOW is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 11:17 PM
  #6455  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BP SHADOW View Post
Yes I do have them in stock, I had a small issue with the site accepting payments or orders, but I think everything is working now. The address to the online store is f1paintlab.com/zencart
The McLaren bodies are under the 104 section
worth it. Already deciding on the next one. What would be a good body in your stock to replicate the early 90's Williams?
texastc is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 11:22 PM
  #6456  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,324
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by texastc View Post
worth it. Already deciding on the next one. What would be a good body in your stock to replicate the early 90's Williams?
Type C body which is also in stock, I will be doing the FW14 decals very soon, I have most of the artwork from when I did a Nigel Mansell NSX
BP SHADOW is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 01:52 PM
  #6457  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 384
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Im installing a new servo in my f104 pro what is the best way to mount it? pics and any help would be great I want to get this thing in there. thanks
Shameless121 is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 07:05 PM
  #6458  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (45)
 
clayrace24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 521
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Mounting options can be dictated by the size of the servo. Most important is to get the turnbuckles almost straight across to help eliminate bump steer. I ended up shimming my servo with balsa underneath to raise the servo to the proper level.

Clay
clayrace24 is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 07:36 PM
  #6459  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,524
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Shameless121 View Post
Im installing a new servo in my f104 pro what is the best way to mount it? pics and any help would be great I want to get this thing in there. thanks
If you have a low-pro servo then this is the best way;



http://www.exotekracing.com/f104-bolt-in-servo-mounts/
MikeR is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 08:34 PM
  #6460  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
If you have a low-pro servo then this is the best way;



http://www.exotekracing.com/f104-bolt-in-servo-mounts/
i fit it with a regular size servo and works great
theatriks is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 09:04 PM
  #6461  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,370
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
If you have a low-pro servo then this is the best way;



http://www.exotekracing.com/f104-bolt-in-servo-mounts/
Mike,

How much mm of shims do you use under the horn to space the ball stud down?

Also, do you move the servo back a little for good Ackerman.

I tried this setup the other week, and personally prefered Austin's upside upright servo to this method, but I don't think I got it setup well, so want to try it again.

Thanks
Ed
TryHard is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 10:33 PM
  #6462  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,524
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Mike,

How much mm of shims do you use under the horn to space the ball stud down?

Also, do you move the servo back a little for good Ackerman.

I tried this setup the other week, and personally prefered Austin's upside upright servo to this method, but I don't think I got it setup well, so want to try it again.

Thanks
Ed
I suggest 5-6mm of spacers (depends on your servo size) and the alloy horn. You want the turnbuckles perfectly level to eliminate the bump steer. Grind under the arms if they rub the turnbuckle when the suspension is compressed and the wheels are turned.
Yes, you can slide the servo forward or back as well to adjust ackerman. Bonus points for that

Here is Hayato Matsuzaki's car with the same set up;
MikeR is offline  
Old 09-28-2011, 11:01 PM
  #6463  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,370
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
I suggest 5-6mm of spacers (depends on your servo size) and the alloy horn. You want the turnbuckles perfectly level to eliminate the bump steer. Grind under the arms if they rub the turnbuckle when the suspension is compressed and the wheels are turned.
Yes, you can slide the servo forward or back as well to adjust ackerman. Bonus points for that

Here is Hayato Matsuzaki's car with the same set up;
Thanks Mike

I used 6mm before, but I think I got the servo in the wrong place so screwed the ackerman up. Did notice the links getting close to the upper a-arms as well, will keep an eye on that.

On a different point, interesting that Hayato's car seems to be 1s... anyone know if that is a Japanese rule?
TryHard is offline  
Old 09-29-2011, 12:01 AM
  #6464  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
JamesHealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 556
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Shangrila View Post
All the podium and A main cars were running wide F103 front and rear at the Tamiya EuroCup Finals last week. It is absolutely faster.

I'm surprised this is legal? In the UK at the BRCA the wide cars aren't allowed in the GP1 class (narrow,lipo + bl), although it appears nobody raced GP1 everyone ran in the GP2 class this year and ran Silver Can type + Wide cars.


I've considered trying the F104 front & rear on my F103 just to see how it handles in comparison before committing to buying a narrow car.

I'm quite intrigued by the Exotek FX10 conversion kit for the HPI.
JamesHealey is offline  
Old 09-29-2011, 12:04 AM
  #6465  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JamesHealey View Post
I'm surprised this is legal? In the UK at the BRCA the wide cars aren't allowed in the GP1 class (narrow,lipo + bl), although it appears nobody raced GP1 everyone ran in the GP2 class this year and ran Silver Can type + Wide cars.


I've considered trying the F104 front & rear on my F103 just to see how it handles in comparison before committing to buying a narrow car.

I'm quite intrigued by the Exotek FX10 conversion kit for the HPI.
Am putting f104 front and rear one of my F109s. Just for giggles
texastc is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.