Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree12Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 11-25-2010, 02:07 AM
  #3841  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

Originally Posted by Mitch-e4fs View Post
You should try shipping from the US. i bought a dizzy for a car for $10, it cost $50 to get it to Australia. Wolf hobbies minimum shipping rate is $30, even if it's just a set of arms.
That has to do with the type of shipping used and what they are willing to use. I've shipped to Australia for less with the F1 parts I sold in the past.
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 11-25-2010, 02:21 AM
  #3842  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (7)
 
Mitch-e4fs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canberra
Posts: 132
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
That has to do with the type of shipping used and what they are willing to use. I've shipped to Australia for less with the F1 parts I sold in the past.
Yes I have had some stuff shipped for less, however that may be only 1 in 50. Seriously shipping from the us is a joke. Ems is maybe a day quicker than the super cheap alternative.
Mitch-e4fs is offline  
Old 11-25-2010, 05:05 AM
  #3843  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (48)
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Overseas shipping is a PITA regarless. Some shops if not most even charge bank fee's on top of it. Oh well, the price we pay for fun.
gashuffer is offline  
Old 11-25-2010, 05:15 AM
  #3844  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (48)
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gsxr0311 View Post
yes, shipping will be insane. i like foam and currently run it on an indoor carpet track, but i do like rubber because they are cheaper and last longer. i bought some spice f1 foams, which are good, but cost a small fortune. my nitro foams are cheaper and better, why do they cost so much?
They probably have a higher rubber content or it could just be the name brand. Luckily for me I am happy with my stock kit foams. They hook up great. I just go through fronts like crazy. I cut them, glue them and toss them usually after a race day.
gashuffer is offline  
Old 11-25-2010, 08:38 PM
  #3845  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 210
Default

Another question, How much room is there under the F60 body for electronics? I have a normal size RX and an older bit larger ESC (novak 410-MXC, its older than me yet likely better than most at my LHS). If the dimensions are too tight ill need a new esc for this.
kb525 is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 05:42 AM
  #3846  
Tech Fanatic
 
akura2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Paramount, CA
Posts: 819
Default

if you don't use the pontoons and just leave the sides uncut, there is plenty of room for electronics under the shell from what I've heard... I wouldn't know because I use the realistic add-on pontoons and small electronics... but I would assume that it why they give you the option of cutting the body or not....
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya F104 Pro!-f60.jpg  
akura2 is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 06:34 PM
  #3847  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (48)
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone run a 103 front end on the Exotek chassis? If so what are your thoughts on it? I already have a 103 but I would like to hear some feedback before I start wrenching. Thanks
gashuffer is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 07:02 PM
  #3848  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
gsxr0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 1,243
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gashuffer View Post
Does anyone run a 103 front end on the Exotek chassis? If so what are your thoughts on it? I already have a 103 but I would like to hear some feedback before I start wrenching. Thanks
i dont run the exotek with the 103 front, but i got smoked by a exotek with a 103 front. it was dialed. he smoked everybody, 103's, 104's, 109's & exotek 104's. i run the exotek 104. this was on the asphalt track.
gsxr0311 is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 07:05 PM
  #3849  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
gsxr0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 1,243
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

if anybody cares,

my exotek is now dialed for the carpet. all i had to do is change my rollout and change the side springs to stiffer ones. keeping up with the 103's. its now neck and neck.
gsxr0311 is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 07:22 PM
  #3850  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

gsxr0311......would you be able to share any setup tips for asphalt track using the exotek.
aussierevo is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 09:03 PM
  #3851  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 8,045
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gashuffer View Post
Does anyone run a 103 front end on the Exotek chassis? If so what are your thoughts on it? I already have a 103 but I would like to hear some feedback before I start wrenching. Thanks
The real question is why you have not done this already. 103 front end + 103 tires = pwnage
robk is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 09:53 PM
  #3852  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
tunerjetta29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 690
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Funny, in so cal the 104/exotek seems to be the car to have.
tunerjetta29 is offline  
Old 11-26-2010, 11:33 PM
  #3853  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,906
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tunerjetta29 View Post
Funny, in so cal the 104/exotek seems to be the car to have.
May be more that Jonathon is the guy to beat and he is drivin the Exotek/104.

What if your brother was driving a 103?

Do you guys think he would smoke us even worse than he is now cuz he was killin us even before he changed to the Exotek chassis?

Exotek has surely helped him go even faster with the 104 tho, without a doubt the 104 is a much, much better set up than the standard chassis!
I want one!

So, question is:

Is the F103 finally rivaled by the Exotek/104?

I'm still thinkin that same driver with each car, the 103's wide and short footprint is gonna still rule.
Even if the 104 is sportin the 103 front end and sneakers to equal the width, not feelin the extra length will be an advantage but will the lengthwise battery be the equalizer?

Just thinkin out loud and wondering.

I realize that the F104 is where we, out here in So Cal want to be, due to the fact that it is the modern F1 config. but it still seems as tho the 103 is the "cheater" chassis pound for pound.
F N CUDA is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 12:42 AM
  #3854  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

Well a big part of it is what tires are going to work best. On our surface for some reason the rubber tires for the F103 just do not work well and foam gets no grip at all...yet the F104 tires get pretty good grip. Now if the tires were equal then yes the F103 would be the better setup as it is in most cases.
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 07:30 AM
  #3855  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (48)
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by robk View Post
The real question is why you have not done this already. 103 front end + 103 tires = pwnage
Is this on carpet of assfault?
gashuffer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.