Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree16Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 06-10-2010, 11:04 AM
  #2881  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,161
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default front springs

does Tamiya have a stiffer F104 front springs than the stock gold springs? if so, what is the part number? thanks.
over gear is offline  
Old 06-10-2010, 11:25 AM
  #2882  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

Originally Posted by Slapmaster6000
Burt....
I got a hold of a 104Pro. Oh boy, the wheels are turning already. I put one race day on it and got my ass handed to me. So many things to address. I applied a short course of corrections to see if I am out of my mind, but we'll see this Sat. This is just a skinny pan car with a funky t-bar. Should be able to make it work!

Oh, forgot to mention that I spent a scant 72 hours in Honolulu a few weeks ago. I didn't call. That was rude. I'll have to come back.
Brian
LOL I can picture the gears at work...you'll definately have to come back
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 06-10-2010, 01:06 PM
  #2883  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by over gear
does Tamiya have a stiffer F104 front springs than the stock gold springs? if so, what is the part number? thanks.
The springs come as a set. Black are the firm, Gold medium, and Silver soft.

RC F1 Front Spring Set
Item #50509

RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 06-10-2010, 02:46 PM
  #2884  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,161
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX
The springs come as a set. Black are the firm, Gold medium, and Silver soft.

RC F1 Front Spring Set
Item #50509

thanks
over gear is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 04:08 AM
  #2885  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,021
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cyclone x
do any of you guys use the tekin rs or fx
actually running (after seeing mr.sharpe's car) a Tekin b1 in my F104

super small, tons of power, and made for brushed motors
k_bojar is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 04:10 AM
  #2886  
Tech Regular
 
alan1467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham UK
Posts: 352
Default

Originally Posted by k_bojar
actually running (after seeing mr.sharpe's car) a Tekin b1 in my F104

super small, tons of power, and made for brushed motors
What motor are you using with it?
alan1467 is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 04:35 AM
  #2887  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,021
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by alan1467
What motor are you using with it?
tamiya silver can...but I know people that have used the B1 with a 27t stocker in 12th scale
k_bojar is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 05:23 AM
  #2888  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,271
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Just keep an eye on what steering servo you use with that esc.

If I recall there was an issue or two at horsham when using it with a high speed (high draw)1/10 servo.
j.d.roost is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 06:19 AM
  #2889  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,021
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by j.d.roost
Just keep an eye on what steering servo you use with that esc.

If I recall there was an issue or two at horsham when using it with a high speed (high draw)1/10 servo.
Makes sense - I onlly have a futaba 9402 or something like that in mine, nothing crazy-fast or hi-draw

Last edited by k_bojar; 06-11-2010 at 02:26 PM.
k_bojar is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 06:30 AM
  #2890  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Csaari77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,526
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Is anyone interested in trading a NIP Ferrari F60 body for my NIP F104 Pro body? I recieved the body for finishing in 2nd at the Memphis TCS, but the body on my F104 is pretty much new right now.
Csaari77 is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 07:21 AM
  #2891  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
cyclone x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gaithersburg MD
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

drove my f104 yesterday and got it to handle like a 103 finally
cyclone x is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 07:25 AM
  #2892  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Csaari77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,526
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

What is your setup on the 104? I would love my 104 to handle like a 103.
Csaari77 is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 08:07 AM
  #2893  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
Greg Sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ...jumping stuff
Posts: 3,279
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by k_bojar
actually running (after seeing mr.sharpe's car) a Tekin b1 in my F104 super small, tons of power, and made for brushed motors
Originally Posted by alan1467
What motor are you using with it?
Originally Posted by k_bojar
tamiya silver can...but I know people that have used the B1 with a 27t stocker in 12th scale
Originally Posted by j.d.roost
Just keep an eye on what steering servo you use with that esc. If I recall there was an issue or two at horsham when using it with a high speed (high draw)1/10 servo.
Originally Posted by k_bojar
Makes sense - I onlly have a Guyana 9402 or something like that in mine, nothing crazy-fast or hi-draw
Yeah, the BEC in that ESC is only rated at 1.5A b'c it's intended for 1/18th servos. However, the digital 1/12 servos are strong enough for the F104 yet efficient enough to stay within the 1.5A BEC limits. Many of the digital & brushless 1/10th servos would shut down the BEC in the pits while simply sawing the wheel back and forth, and some made it around the track a few times before melting in a pool of plastic. The Tekin Fx has a 3A BEC and it's almost as small as the B1, which is another good choice.
Greg Sharpe is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 07:00 PM
  #2894  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
GasGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tween a Rock & a Hard Place in Pa.
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have two of those pools of plastic
GasGod is offline  
Old 06-12-2010, 05:10 AM
  #2895  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
cyclone x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gaithersburg MD
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Csaari77
What is your setup on the 104? I would love my 104 to handle like a 103.
well i have the 103 tires in the rear
soft t bar
40 wt oil in shocks
the camber plate set on 1 degree
cyclone x is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.