Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree12Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 06-10-2010, 11:04 AM
  #2881  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default front springs

does Tamiya have a stiffer F104 front springs than the stock gold springs? if so, what is the part number? thanks.
over gear is offline  
Old 06-10-2010, 11:25 AM
  #2882  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

Originally Posted by Slapmaster6000 View Post
Burt....
I got a hold of a 104Pro. Oh boy, the wheels are turning already. I put one race day on it and got my ass handed to me. So many things to address. I applied a short course of corrections to see if I am out of my mind, but we'll see this Sat. This is just a skinny pan car with a funky t-bar. Should be able to make it work!

Oh, forgot to mention that I spent a scant 72 hours in Honolulu a few weeks ago. I didn't call. That was rude. I'll have to come back.
Brian
LOL I can picture the gears at work...you'll definately have to come back
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 06-10-2010, 01:06 PM
  #2883  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by over gear View Post
does Tamiya have a stiffer F104 front springs than the stock gold springs? if so, what is the part number? thanks.
The springs come as a set. Black are the firm, Gold medium, and Silver soft.

RC F1 Front Spring Set
Item #50509

RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 06-10-2010, 02:46 PM
  #2884  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
The springs come as a set. Black are the firm, Gold medium, and Silver soft.

RC F1 Front Spring Set
Item #50509

thanks
over gear is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 04:08 AM
  #2885  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,021
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cyclone x View Post
do any of you guys use the tekin rs or fx
actually running (after seeing mr.sharpe's car) a Tekin b1 in my F104

super small, tons of power, and made for brushed motors
k_bojar is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 04:10 AM
  #2886  
Tech Regular
 
alan1467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham UK
Posts: 352
Default

Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
actually running (after seeing mr.sharpe's car) a Tekin b1 in my F104

super small, tons of power, and made for brushed motors
What motor are you using with it?
alan1467 is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 04:35 AM
  #2887  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,021
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by alan1467 View Post
What motor are you using with it?
tamiya silver can...but I know people that have used the B1 with a 27t stocker in 12th scale
k_bojar is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 05:23 AM
  #2888  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Just keep an eye on what steering servo you use with that esc.

If I recall there was an issue or two at horsham when using it with a high speed (high draw)1/10 servo.
j.d.roost is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 06:19 AM
  #2889  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,021
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by j.d.roost View Post
Just keep an eye on what steering servo you use with that esc.

If I recall there was an issue or two at horsham when using it with a high speed (high draw)1/10 servo.
Makes sense - I onlly have a futaba 9402 or something like that in mine, nothing crazy-fast or hi-draw

Last edited by k_bojar; 06-11-2010 at 02:26 PM.
k_bojar is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 06:30 AM
  #2890  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
Csaari77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,500
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Is anyone interested in trading a NIP Ferrari F60 body for my NIP F104 Pro body? I recieved the body for finishing in 2nd at the Memphis TCS, but the body on my F104 is pretty much new right now.
Csaari77 is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 07:21 AM
  #2891  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
cyclone x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gaithersburg MD
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

drove my f104 yesterday and got it to handle like a 103 finally
cyclone x is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 07:25 AM
  #2892  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
Csaari77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,500
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

What is your setup on the 104? I would love my 104 to handle like a 103.
Csaari77 is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 08:07 AM
  #2893  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
Greg Sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ...jumping stuff
Posts: 3,263
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
actually running (after seeing mr.sharpe's car) a Tekin b1 in my F104 super small, tons of power, and made for brushed motors
Originally Posted by alan1467 View Post
What motor are you using with it?
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
tamiya silver can...but I know people that have used the B1 with a 27t stocker in 12th scale
Originally Posted by j.d.roost View Post
Just keep an eye on what steering servo you use with that esc. If I recall there was an issue or two at horsham when using it with a high speed (high draw)1/10 servo.
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
Makes sense - I onlly have a Guyana 9402 or something like that in mine, nothing crazy-fast or hi-draw
Yeah, the BEC in that ESC is only rated at 1.5A b'c it's intended for 1/18th servos. However, the digital 1/12 servos are strong enough for the F104 yet efficient enough to stay within the 1.5A BEC limits. Many of the digital & brushless 1/10th servos would shut down the BEC in the pits while simply sawing the wheel back and forth, and some made it around the track a few times before melting in a pool of plastic. The Tekin Fx has a 3A BEC and it's almost as small as the B1, which is another good choice.
Greg Sharpe is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 07:00 PM
  #2894  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
GasGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tween a Rock & a Hard Place in Pa.
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have two of those pools of plastic
GasGod is offline  
Old 06-12-2010, 05:10 AM
  #2895  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
cyclone x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gaithersburg MD
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Csaari77 View Post
What is your setup on the 104? I would love my 104 to handle like a 103.
well i have the 103 tires in the rear
soft t bar
40 wt oil in shocks
the camber plate set on 1 degree
cyclone x is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.