Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree12Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 02-22-2010, 02:39 PM
  #2221  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
gsxr0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 1,243
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MaxSp97 View Post
Why you need to buy the top plate?
Just cut the top plate and add 2mm shim under the upper arms at the servo mount.
http://www.rctech.net/forum/6500026-post1380.html
The chassis is more flex and the handling is better.
that looks pretty good. the only thing is, the zen top plate allows for quick battery change. of course if i thought of cutting it i would have. i did use my old top plate to pimp up the f60 a little. so for me it wasnt a waste of $35.
gsxr0311 is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 05:43 PM
  #2222  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (118)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,231
Trader Rating: 118 (100%+)
Default

What kind of lipo battery are you guys running in these? Are you finding the need to add any weight?
Chris Furman is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 05:59 PM
  #2223  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,324
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chris Furman View Post
What kind of lipo battery are you guys running in these? Are you finding the need to add any weight?
ORION 3800 with an adaptor harness
BP SHADOW is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 06:36 PM
  #2224  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chris Furman View Post
What kind of lipo battery are you guys running in these? Are you finding the need to add any weight?
Orion 3400
Out of curiosity, why would you need to add weight ?
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 06:39 PM
  #2225  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (118)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,231
Trader Rating: 118 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
Orion 3400
Out of curiosity, why would you need to add weight ?
To give the car a more planted feel. I am not familiar with the F104.. I know with my MINI I had to add a little bit of weight to the lipo to get the car to transition better from left to right. Was curious.
Chris Furman is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 06:42 PM
  #2226  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
414MPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 989
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BP SHADOW View Post
ORION 3800 with an adaptor harness
Brad, does the Orion 3800 fit with the electronics trays installed?
414MPH is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 06:49 PM
  #2227  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chris Furman View Post
To give the car a more planted feel. I am not familiar with the F104.. I know with my MINI I had to add a little bit of weight to the lipo to get the car to transition better from left to right. Was curious.
What surface do you run on ?

For the Asphalt tracks I've run the 104 on, it's glued to the track, very stable.
I am working only on how to find sharper turn in without sacrificing stability.
Tamiya B's @ 58mm to start helps a lot, front ride height 1mm higher than the rear, run the car low as possible, and I run the Tamiya 3.5 offset steering blocks #53259.
On very bumpy tracks removal of the shock spring helps, also fitting of the soft t-bar is a good choice.

We are somewhat limited on tire choices at the moment, but with A, B combos I have found tons of grip.

This chassis is more stable than the 103, but does turn in a bit slower.
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 06:56 PM
  #2228  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 414MPH View Post
Brad, does the Orion 3800 fit with the electronics trays installed?
Goes right in Marty, just tried it.
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 09:04 PM
  #2229  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
gsxr0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 1,243
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

After what seemed like a long time, the 3racing 09 style wings finally came out. I just mounted them on my 104 pro, and they seem very flexible like the ones that came on the 3racing f109. I have crashed my f109 many times and I have had many people crash into me, and so far the wings haven't broke yet.
so I think they are o.k. to use in a race. I like the detail that they have. Now both my 104's don't have the same wings on them and they both look like 09 style cars.
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya F104 Pro!-getattachment-1.aspx.jpeg   Tamiya F104 Pro!-getattachment.aspx.jpeg   Tamiya F104 Pro!-getattachment-2.aspx.jpeg  
gsxr0311 is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 10:22 PM
  #2230  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In der Black Forest mit der elves
Posts: 271
Default Schweet

Originally Posted by gsxr0311 View Post
After what seemed like a long time, the 3racing 09 style wings finally came out. I just mounted them on my 104 pro, and they seem very flexible like the ones that came on the 3racing f109. I have crashed my f109 many times and I have had many people crash into me, and so far the wings haven't broke yet.
so I think they are o.k. to use in a race. I like the detail that they have. Now both my 104's don't have the same wings on them and they both look like 09 style cars.
Very cool. Can't wait to get my mitts on some of those wings. Also, that rear diffuser is really nice.
Tom Slick is offline  
Old 02-24-2010, 12:14 AM
  #2231  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
gsxr0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 1,243
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

its the double diffuser. i hope it does for me what it did for brawn gp, win
gsxr0311 is offline  
Old 02-24-2010, 12:14 PM
  #2232  
Tech Rookie
 
jdmcoupe86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Augsburg, Germany
Posts: 12
Default vinyl decals

i want to make an 2008-style ferrari with the regular f104 pro body and i've found some decals on d-drive sports. for the wings (you guys with custom bodys) it seems that you put vinyl tape on it, but from where can i get it? thx
jdmcoupe86 is offline  
Old 02-24-2010, 12:32 PM
  #2233  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,324
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jdmcoupe86 View Post
i want to make an 2008-style ferrari with the regular f104 pro body and i've found some decals on d-drive sports. for the wings (you guys with custom bodys) it seems that you put vinyl tape on it, but from where can i get it? thx
Any sign supply shop would have the vinyl. If you go to a shop that makes signs they might sell you material by the foot. I have a vinyl cutter, so I keep a stock of materials on hand
BP SHADOW is offline  
Old 02-24-2010, 08:05 PM
  #2234  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
WheelNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I know this has been asked a lot, but with so many pages on this thread I doubt I'll find an answer without hours of digging.
Is there anywhere else to get Red Bull decals besides D-Drive? They are out of stock, of course. Have any of you guys ordered out of stock decals from D-Drive? How long did it take for them to fill your order?
WheelNut is offline  
Old 02-24-2010, 08:41 PM
  #2235  
Tech Initiate
 
prhess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 33
Default

@ wheelnut

I use Daytona 7 to look at the decals and find part numbers.


http://translate.google.com/translat...87%2Flist.html

I ALWAYS order from Rainbow Ten, they have a great selection of AMS decals. They speak english, take paypal and have GREAT customer service. Their catalog is in text format, but is up to date. Packaging of the shipment is exceptional...especially decal sets.


http://www.rainbowten.co.jp/english/

I have tried to order from Daytona 7, but there was a communication problem and I do not think they ship out of Japan??

Pete
prhess is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.