Like Tree5Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!


Old 01-25-2010, 06:45 PM
  #2041  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Greg Sharpe View Post
Thanks Rob! While you're solving our problems, can you say specifically which arbors fit the front wheels of the F104? I tried three different pancar arbors last weekend, but haven't found one that fits the F104 front wheels yet.
I use a standard pan car arbor with 2 6x10 bearings placed in the wheel.
This is the same bearing used on the rear axle of the Tamiya F1 cars with adjustable ride height.
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:19 PM
  #2042  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
Greg Sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ...building minis
Posts: 3,250
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
I use a standard pan car arbor with 2 6x10 bearings placed in the wheel.
This is the same bearing used on the rear axle of the Tamiya F1 cars with adjustable ride height.
Ahh, and the pin catches a spoke to keep it from spinning?
Greg Sharpe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:36 PM
  #2043  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Greg Sharpe View Post
Ahh, and the pin catches a spoke to keep it from spinning?
No pins on my Hudy Tire Truer.

Which truer are you using, what arbors, pics?
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:46 PM
  #2044  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
Greg Sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ...building minis
Posts: 3,250
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
No pins on my Hudy Tire Truer.

Which truer are you using, what arbors, pics?
I just use other peoples truers. Since you are using bearings in the wheel, what holds the wheel tight to the arbor? Are you simply crushing the bearings down a bit?
Greg Sharpe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 08:57 AM
  #2045  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,975
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm using the Square F103 arbor for my F104. The adapter has a nice tight fit on my Hudy truer and spins relatively straight. It also has a little step machined into it for a snug fit with F103 fronts wheels. To true F104 fronts, I take old F104 front bearings (bushings would work better) and put them in the wheels before I put it on the adapter. Does the job
rtypec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 06:57 PM
  #2046  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
doriftu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 838
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

how do you guys fit a lipo pack into the chassis w/o mods to the rx and esc holders? I am using IP 3800.

pics would be much appreciated...

Thanks.
doriftu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 07:01 PM
  #2047  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by doriftu View Post
how do you guys fit a lipo pack into the chassis w/o mods to the rx and esc holders? I am using IP 3800.

pics would be much appreciated...

Thanks.
I just fit mine in there last night, all you need to do is run a 3x8 screw on the right side of the Tplate and a flat nut with a bit of threadlocker on it
I am running an Orion 3800 pack and the above hardware change allows the pack to slide in no problem.
Then you can fab a harness like FMW to solve the connector issue
BP SHADOW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 03:40 AM
  #2048  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
iknowjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Edison, NJ, USA
Posts: 1,134
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default F1 Battery issues

Originally Posted by doriftu View Post
how do you guys fit a lipo pack into the chassis w/o mods to the rx and esc holders? I am using IP 3800.

pics would be much appreciated...

Thanks.
I ran into the same problem this past week during my build. I have 5000s I run in my TC and wanted to utilize them. After brainstorming with a buddy of mine, this is what we came up with. There is no need to mess with the chassis of the car. I eliminated the electronics holders to account for the battery. I installed all 4 tray posts. I then cut holes just big enough to SLIP OVER the tray posts and cut holes for the nubs on the bottom of my battery. A little strip of foam tape to hold my battery in place and she's looking good! This is also a good alternative to those not too crazy about the electronic trays in general. This gives you some more room to play with. Hope you can use these ideas.

Tamiya F104 Pro!-img_0002.jpgTamiya F104 Pro!-img_0006.jpgTamiya F104 Pro!-img_0007.jpgTamiya F104 Pro!-img_0008.jpg
iknowjoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 04:56 AM
  #2049  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 1,499
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by doriftu View Post
how do you guys fit a lipo pack into the chassis w/o mods to the rx and esc holders? I am using IP 3800.

pics would be much appreciated...

Thanks.
I use an Orion 3800 and did not have to make any modifications to the rx or esc holders.

I insert the battery with the positive and negative ports closest to the motor. I did have to dremel the top chassis plate some to access the battery ports.

The attached photo is an old one showing my broken Rx case, but you can see the negative wire plugged into the battery.
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya F104 Pro!-one.jpg  
Geppetto is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 10:14 PM
  #2050  
Tech Regular
 
zpmhinojosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Reno,NV
Posts: 262
Default

I'm lovin those pics...
zpmhinojosa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 11:40 PM
  #2051  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
gsxr0311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 1,234
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

well i drove the f60 with rubber tires today. weather was about 55-60 degrees.
a few days ago i treated the tires with paragon, let it sit for a day. then i did the same thing with simple green. my goal was to soften the tires up a little. the tires griped pretty good. not many spin outs. i tested the car with a 10t brushed motor. all in all im happy with the tires so far.
gsxr0311 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 12:11 AM
  #2052  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I ran last night and tried a couple of things with the Tamiya rubber tires.

I tried some with gripper only, and then some with just tire warmers, then a combo of the 2.

I got my best times with heating them up with a bit of tire gripper. Could feel myself getting on the throttle earlier and the lap times were consistent.

The comments from the more experienced guy's was that the tires are really wearing well and bedding in nicely

Another racer got a set of the Shimzu (???) rubbers.....they are soft out of the packet that's for sure. He has his F104 set up with a 10.5 1s Lipo. He really liked them for about 5-6 laps, then he was just sliding all over the place after that and went back to the foams. He has had good success with running F103 foams in the rear.
aussierevo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 12:37 AM
  #2053  
PDR
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,838
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Unfortunately, last Sunday's race meet was rained out, so I didn't get to play with my F104. Relatively new, but Ride have released some rubber ones and will be used as the control tire for the TITC race next month.

Couple of different compounds available and some details are here. (Google doesn't do a bad translation).

Phil.
PDR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 03:00 AM
  #2054  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by PDR View Post
Unfortunately, last Sunday's race meet was rained out, so I didn't get to play with my F104. Relatively new, but Ride have released some rubber ones and will be used as the control tire for the TITC race next month.

Couple of different compounds available and some details are here. (Google doesn't do a bad translation).

Phil.
the ride tires look interesting, a little expensive but for my taste.

i would like to run at a track like that at TITC....looks very fast
aussierevo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 03:12 AM
  #2055  
PDR
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,838
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by aussierevo View Post
the ride tires look interesting, a little expensive but for my taste.

i would like to run at a track like that at TITC....looks very fast
I think I've tracked some down, so will give them a whirl. Pricing on the web site is the equivalent of RRP, so street price should be better. They are more expensive than the Tamiya ones, but I'll have to wait and see how they go.

I've run mine at Whalan in western Sydney, which is big and fast flowing - the car loved it. Will have to get back there more often. My car was more shiny back then
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya F104 Pro!-img_1598.jpg   Tamiya F104 Pro!-img_1649.jpg  
PDR is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service