Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree12Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 12-25-2009, 04:43 PM
  #1711  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default F-104 Pro 17.5 1S

Something a little different...



RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 12-25-2009, 06:18 PM
  #1712  
Tech Adept
 
Sauber F1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 107
Default

This looks great. With that thin appearnce, somebody should produce old F1 bodies like a Lotus 49, Ferrari 312, or even cars from the 70s.
As a newby, what battery are you using?
Sauber F1 is offline  
Old 12-25-2009, 06:21 PM
  #1713  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Question that may have been answered already. The F104 comes with foam tires and I know there is rubber but I personally think that the foams will work better to the most part. What are you guys using to true the tires down after they are mounted? What arbor or is there another one that works?
xspower is offline  
Old 12-25-2009, 06:45 PM
  #1714  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,324
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by xspower View Post
Question that may have been answered already. The F104 comes with foam tires and I know there is rubber but I personally think that the foams will work better to the most part. What are you guys using to true the tires down after they are mounted? What arbor or is there another one that works?
I have the arbor that ddrive sells, I cant remember who makes it, but it works for 103 and 104 wheels
BP SHADOW is offline  
Old 12-25-2009, 07:27 PM
  #1715  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 8,042
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Eagle makes the Ddrive unit I believe, but TRG has one as well I think.
robk is online now  
Old 12-25-2009, 09:39 PM
  #1716  
Tech Fanatic
 
akura2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Paramount, CA
Posts: 819
Default

Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
Something a little different...




Are those F104 wheels/tires?
akura2 is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 02:57 AM
  #1717  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Finally was able to have a run with the tamiya rubber tyres for the F104.

I've run the car in the past with foams at my local outdoor low to med grip track with the formula tuned motor. While the setup is far from perfect, I've been able to run 19.2's and do 18 laps while using tire compound on the rear only. Many of the local racers have been surprised by it's performance as they feel foams are better for this car.

Ran tonight with no changes to the car other then rubber all round, and was able to in the first heat run 19 laps and 18.4' while using tyre grip.

The car was very loose for the first couple of laps, but then ran quite nice after the tire grip came in to play.

In the second heat, I again had trouble in the first handful of laps with rear grip. Was able to run 18.5' and again the car performance ok.

I had hoped to run again without using any additive, but alais, the clouds opened and the night of racing came to an end.

I will next weekend give them another go and try various amounts of additive and make some set-up changes, but the comments from a couple of drivers afterwards was positive to say the least.....a good start in my book.
aussierevo is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 04:12 AM
  #1718  
Tech Master
 
NiMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Luton, England
Posts: 1,704
Default

RedBullFixx
That looks like a 1s set up?
What size motor?
And how does it perform with the different weight balance?
NiMo is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 08:41 AM
  #1719  
Tech Adept
 
Oortael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 172
Default

Originally Posted by aussierevo View Post
Finally was able to have a run with the tamiya rubber tyres for the F104. [...] I will next weekend give them another go and try various amounts of additive and make some set-up changes, but the comments from a couple of drivers afterwards was positive to say the least.....a good start in my book.
Do you remember how hot it was today. On my homeplace air temperature gets seldomly over 25 degree Celsius (77 degree fahrenheit).

I might get more grip with the rubber tires if it's "cold".
Oortael is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 12:31 PM
  #1720  
Tech Regular
 
Blueman Austria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 427
Default

Hy there!

Is it possible to fit a F104 pro Body on a F103?
I think if you only cut out the body (without the sitd cooler parts) the battery should fit.

But fit the front wing?

Greets Blueman
Blueman Austria is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 01:22 PM
  #1721  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Oortael View Post
Do you remember how hot it was today. On my homeplace air temperature gets seldomly over 25 degree Celsius (77 degree fahrenheit).

I might get more grip with the rubber tires if it's "cold".
The temperture when i ran was 25 degress Celsius, with humity of 85-90%. It was very overcast most of the day here in our local area.

I'm told had I warmed the tyres up in tyres warmers, that would have helped stop the skating around I got for the first 3-4 laps while the tyre additive kicked in.
aussierevo is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 01:50 PM
  #1722  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thanks I will try to locate one.
xspower is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 03:51 PM
  #1723  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 301
Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default

Hi,
I wanted to ask if this battery will fit in the car: http://www.rcplanet.com/Reedy_5000mA...o_p/asc709.htm
fishymamba is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 06:45 PM
  #1724  
avs
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
Something a little different...



where did the tbar go? it doesn't seem like there is enough space below the battery
avs is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 07:56 PM
  #1725  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
dildil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 138
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

My f104, work in progress, NIGHT RACER



dildil is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.