Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree16Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 12-15-2009, 12:49 AM
  #1681  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 200
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by timmig
At the KO Propo race at Westcoast RC Raceway here in Calif this past weekend- the 104 cars were the equal of the fastest 103 cars.
The top F103's weren't performing at their full potential, they were battling with too much traction on the front wheels. It was tricky not to traction roll. This track was perfect for F104's, the traction was high enough where off power push wasn't an issue.

If Tim's car had less bite on the fronts, he would have put a severe beat down on the whole field.
DirtyRacer is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 08:59 AM
  #1682  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
kyle3333's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 460
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Questions?? What electronics are commonly used with this Car?

What electronics are commonly used with this car without having to modify the chassis or the body? I was hoping to fit an LRP SXX in this thing. Also, what lipo batteries fit the chassis?

Thanks
kyle3333 is offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 09:13 AM
  #1683  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
Greg Sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ...jumping stuff
Posts: 3,279
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kyle3333
What electronics are commonly used with this car without having to modify the chassis or the body? I was hoping to fit an LRP SXX in this thing. Also, what lipo batteries fit the chassis?

Thanks
Just look back a few pages, pictures and all.
Greg Sharpe is offline  
Old 12-16-2009, 05:53 AM
  #1684  
Tech Adept
 
clittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Default Should I be concerned.

I've just finished building my F104 Pro, put the electronics in and I'm going to go and run it any day soon. Happy times.

Now, I have a question. I have mounted the kit body and I have noticed that the back of the body is higher than the start of the wing? (I've currently mounted the wing at the "technical track" setting from the manual). Should I be concerned about this? Am I losing downforce with this?

Again, I haven't run it but It's just something I've noticed. Anyone have any thoughts on this? Cheers.
clittle is offline  
Old 12-16-2009, 10:39 AM
  #1685  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
toybreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 309
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kyle3333
What electronics are commonly used with this car without having to modify the chassis or the body? I was hoping to fit an LRP SXX in this thing. Also, what lipo batteries fit the chassis?

Thanks
I personally use the Spektrum receiver, s3100 i think and the Tekin RS Pro ESC. all are pretty small so they fit well. for the servo i use a normal size servo. it all fits well.
toybreaker is offline  
Old 12-16-2009, 10:42 AM
  #1686  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
toybreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 309
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by clittle
I've just finished building my F104 Pro, put the electronics in and I'm going to go and run it any day soon. Happy times.

Now, I have a question. I have mounted the kit body and I have noticed that the back of the body is higher than the start of the wing? (I've currently mounted the wing at the "technical track" setting from the manual). Should I be concerned about this? Am I losing downforce with this?

Again, I haven't run it but It's just something I've noticed. Anyone have any thoughts on this? Cheers.
Check your wiring, that is usually what holds it up. On mine i pin the body at the 3rd hole down on the rear posts. That places it right at the level of the technical setting on the wing. I am with you, with the body up it has to make the air around the wing act not normal. after seeing how effected onroad cars are by the body i have to think it would cause an issue or at least not the desired amount of downforce that setting can provide. Wish i had a little wind tunnel, i would test it.
toybreaker is offline  
Old 12-16-2009, 11:13 PM
  #1687  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
doriftu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 838
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

beside the alu motor mount, what other parts do I need?

what about tires? should i go rubber or foam route?

im new to direct drive...

thanks
doriftu is offline  
Old 12-16-2009, 11:33 PM
  #1688  
Tech Regular
 
zpmhinojosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Reno,NV
Posts: 262
Default

Originally Posted by toybreaker
I personally use the Spektrum receiver, s3100 i think and the Tekin RS Pro ESC. all are pretty small so they fit well. for the servo i use a normal size servo. it all fits well.
Mine's simular, Traxxas rec., Tekin Fx, normal servo. I agree, all fits awsome.
Tamiya F104 Pro!-new40-016.jpg
zpmhinojosa is offline  
Old 12-16-2009, 11:38 PM
  #1689  
Tech Regular
 
zpmhinojosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Reno,NV
Posts: 262
Default

Originally Posted by doriftu
beside the alu motor mount, what other parts do I need?

what about tires? should i go rubber or foam route?

im new to direct drive...

thanks
Your kit foams might be good on carpet, but on road even with sauce they're junk. If you're on road you might want to throw some rubber on the back. Or slap some 103 foams on, they're wider. You might hook then. You'll more than likely run foams all day up front, the 104 sweet due to the adjustable susp. You could run foams to the rims! LOL.
zpmhinojosa is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 03:33 AM
  #1690  
Tech Adept
 
Oortael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 172
Default

Has anybody tried the new rubber tires (#51400 and #51399) on a parking lot?

I'm not sure if I get more grip instead of the foam tires.
Oortael is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 03:58 AM
  #1691  
PDR
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,150
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Oortael
Has anybody tried the new rubber tires (#51400 and #51399) on a parking lot?

I'm not sure if I get more grip instead of the foam tires.
Got some on order to try at my home track (medium grip asphalt). However, with the warmer weather here down under now, I'm finding the Tamiya B foams to work pretty well. The seasons might delay my testing, but I'm hoping the rubber ones might help on the cooler evening meets where the foams really struggle.

Here's a clip of one of the F1's (F201) circulating at the track. It's a good social class in our club, so there's a variety of car/motor combinations.

Switched back to the stock T-bar (from the soft one) recently and dropped about another .5 seconds off each lap. Tyre wear on the front seems a bit better too.

One of the local suppliers is getting stock of some Spice foams, so will look to try those too.

Phil.
PDR is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 05:26 AM
  #1692  
Tech Adept
 
clittle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Default

Thanks for your reply. I've managed to squeeze it down to the 4th hole. It's tight, but from sighting it, the air flow should be ok. (I'm guessing)....

Originally Posted by toybreaker
Check your wiring, that is usually what holds it up. On mine i pin the body at the 3rd hole down on the rear posts. That places it right at the level of the technical setting on the wing. I am with you, with the body up it has to make the air around the wing act not normal. after seeing how effected onroad cars are by the body i have to think it would cause an issue or at least not the desired amount of downforce that setting can provide. Wish i had a little wind tunnel, i would test it.
clittle is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 12:46 PM
  #1693  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,279
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Arrived Ferrari F60 Nice body !
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya F104 Pro!-ta-58477.jpg  
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 08:29 PM
  #1694  
Tech Regular
 
zpmhinojosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Reno,NV
Posts: 262
Default

Originally Posted by RC MARKET
Arrived Ferrari F60 Nice body !
COuld you post the link? I was on that site and did not see it.
zpmhinojosa is offline  
Old 12-17-2009, 09:33 PM
  #1695  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
MaxSp97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Camarino
Posts: 468
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by zpmhinojosa
COuld you post the link? I was on that site and did not see it.
The F60 kit.
http://rcmarket.com.hk/product_info....vmv4rtia78rv96
MaxSp97 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.