R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2009, 05:17 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Farmer_John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Why are TC5 diffs such a pain...

to build?

this has probably been covered too many times, but I'm too frustrated to go fishing.

Any tips?

For starters, nut is bottomed in the t-nut.
Farmer_John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 05:22 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,887
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

haha, i hate the little nut. everytime i build a diff i go through at least two nuts and bolts trying to assemble the diff. poor design in my opinion.
LOW ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 06:05 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

There is nothing wrong with the diff or the t- nut or the nut. The problem lies in the length of the bolt. I got some bolts, 2/56x1", and have given a few to guys in my area. Anyone using the right length of bolt, in this area at least, hasn't had an issue. The ones in the kits are about 2mm too short. They're fine for the composite diffs but the aluminum ones are slightly thicker in the middle.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 06:08 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,887
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

i agree, the bolt is to short. i guess that's what i wanted to say. you would think ae would have corrected this because i'm sure the problems people have building the diffs the pro's have the same problems. i think the nut is aluminum also??? a steel one would be much better and i'm sure it wouldn't hurt performance.
LOW ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 06:29 PM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 63
Default Diff

First thing, is the nut stripped? If it was started and it and came loose, it is stripped. If it is ok do this, have everything ready to assemble, have a allen wrench or screwdrive shaft to place across t-nut ready, then compress spring (hold compressed for about 1 minute) then immediately put together. The trick to this is the compressed spring. If you wait to put together the spring will go back to original size. It happens within 5 minutes. After I did this it was easy to put together, have done it several times. Works every time. Hope this helps.
Lugnutz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 08:06 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Farmer_John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I'll go with the longer bolt, steel nut idea.

I"m no A main guy, I just want to do clean laps. Saving a gram or less with an aluminum nut is just stupid (IMNSHO)

This is a car that I bought mostly built...except the rear diff. The one that is giving me fits.

Thanks guys.

I also got a tip local to me to use the diff bolt kit for a TC3. According to this gentleman, it goes together like butter.
Farmer_John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 08:18 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
mikel33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,431
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

I sanded the bottom of the cup until it was thin enough to make assembly less of a PIA. I reasoned that the bottom of the cup was against the outdrive so the nut wasn't likely to pull through. Haven't had a problem with it in the 10 months since I did it and I can get the diff together in a snap just holding it together with my fingers. The longer bolt is no doubt a better solution but I didn't think of that at the time!
__________________
Michael Larson.

Village Idiot Racing - Now accepting driver applications.
mikel33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 04:43 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
Hyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 945
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've used some tc3 parts for the tc5 diffs work very good.

but if you could bare the time and your patient then the tc5 diff works well.

and yeeessss a steel nut would work much better
__________________
MyForum> www.uncovertruth.forumotion.com
Hyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 05:16 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
IL_AudiRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Clearwater FL
Posts: 981
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

you need the diff nut for the T3 (Stealth Nut) it comes with a longer bolt and the T nut is white and comes pre assembled i destroyed both my originals when i was building my kit and this was suggested to me in the TC5 thread i ordered them and the diffs went together like a dream dont know why AE doesnt just include them in the Kit.

heres a link

https://www.hobbyoutlets.com/store/hobby/6575.html?js=n
__________________
FS-Samsung-galaxy-tab-3g-verizon
**PLEASE CHECK MY OTHER ADDS LOTS FOR SALE**
Garage: ITS ALL FOR SALE LOADED Tamiya M03R,LOADED AE TC5R (VTA), LOADED Duratrax Vendetta ST
IL_AudiRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 06:41 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
K_Spec_RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Powder Springs, Ga
Posts: 2,734
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to K_Spec_RC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IL_AudiRacer View Post
you need the diff nut for the T3 (Stealth Nut) it comes with a longer bolt and the T nut is white and comes pre assembled i destroyed both my originals when i was building my kit and this was suggested to me in the TC5 thread i ordered them and the diffs went together like a dream dont know why AE doesnt just include them in the Kit.

heres a link

https://www.hobbyoutlets.com/store/hobby/6575.html?js=n
Ditto. Get the Stealth nut and throw away the kit stuff! I have rebuilt all my diffs using the T3 nut and never had one come loose in 2-3 seasons of outdoor and indoor racing.
__________________
HighVelocityRacing.com | TurtleTraxRaceway.com | itFitzDesign.wordpress.com | Misfitz Motorsports | Jconcepts | KO Propo | Tekin | Kyosho RB5 SP | Kyosho Ultima SC
K_Spec_RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 07:04 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

When i had a TC5 i was extremly pissed at the diff also, a longer bolt and a steel nut would have fixed my frustration, come on AE fix it.......
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 07:59 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Farmer_John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I used a TC3 nut. And it is much like the old T3 (and prior) Associated diff nut.

Went together like butter on hot toast.

I don't fault Ass. for much (every time I leave and come back to this hobby, it's what I choose to drive), but they certainly @#%$ up by not taking a couple of seconds to throw the right length bolt in the TC5R and/or TC5F kits(or anything going from the plastic outdrives to the "team" pieces).
Farmer_John is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:04 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net