R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-05-2003, 03:55 PM   #1
ajg
Registered User
 
ajg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: albuquerque nm
Posts: 924
Default GM V12 motor limit

The motor limit on my Gm V12 is 7 turns. Should I put deans connectors on if I use a 7 turn motor. Also I'm might put a 10 cell battery pack in it. Would that be too much for the speed control even though it can handle up to 10 cells.
Thanks Andrew
ajg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 04:10 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
antoniop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 371
Default

If you do that your next post will look like this

I had a V12 that had a motor limit of 7 turns. I hooked it to a 10 cell pack and a 7 turn motor.
Now both are black and everything smells bad...
What should I do?



First of all if the limit is 7 turn (I'm not sure and I have one V12Xc) you should not use that motor with 10 cells.
Both limits will be too much for it.

A 7 turn motor with 10 cells will destroy itself in no time. Don't do it. 6 cells with a 7 turn is already a bullet...
antoniop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 04:13 PM   #3
ajg
Registered User
 
ajg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: albuquerque nm
Posts: 924
Default

Alright, thanks.
It will go about 60mph on just 7 cells anyway, so 10 cells would be too fast, I think.
Also what motor do you recommend.
ajg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 04:33 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
antoniop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 371
Default

I'm just one of those poor Europeans "forced" to run 12 turn motors

To be honest a lower turn motor now seems a distant memory. However I assure that we feel that the 12 are plenty fast.

The lower that I used was a "mad" 9 turn. The thing was a blast but very dificult to do the 5 minutes with it...
we were using 2000 and 2400 back then.

Then I started to aim at corner speed rather than straight line speed, so the insane speed runs I leave to my brushless (not a novak )
antoniop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 04:36 PM   #5
ajg
Registered User
 
ajg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: albuquerque nm
Posts: 924
Default

I race it in the stock class and is fast for my track with just a stock motor. But I'm going to drag race it when I'm not racing at my track. But I don't want to spend a bunch of money on a brushless motor and 10 cell battery pack.
ajg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor limit coolguy5 Electric On-Road 5 07-28-2005 07:49 PM
Best No Motor Limit ESC.... RobS Electric On-Road 3 01-29-2005 08:44 AM
Wanted esc no motor limit rcracer0229 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 11 12-15-2004 01:31 PM
esc motor limit ajg Electric On-Road 2 02-12-2004 08:09 PM
Motor limit??????? Why????? Coxy Australian Racing 47 05-05-2003 02:23 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:25 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net