Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
The Speed Passion Thread >

The Speed Passion Thread

Like Tree52Likes

The Speed Passion Thread

Reply

Old 09-27-2011, 05:30 PM
  #7951  
Tech Addict
 
JRRobiso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 659
Default

Originally Posted by mike_d View Post
Hi i just recently purchased a couple of 1/8th scale Speed Passion Silver Arrow v.2 speed controls and am wondering which programing box i should purchase to use with these?

This one.
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...Programing-Box

Or this one.
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...Programing-Box

Per Solara...either one would work....the other benefit if you get the LCD box is you can update the firmware on your ESC whenever they come out with one and also if you decide to get the SP GT PRO speedos, you can use the same box.
JRRobiso is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 05:34 PM
  #7952  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (84)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wyoming, MN
Posts: 697
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

That is exactly what i was hoping to hear, thanks for the info!

Originally Posted by JRRobiso View Post
Per Solara...either one would work....the other benefit if you get the LCD box is you can update the firmware on your ESC whenever they come out with one and also if you decide to get the SP GT PRO speedos, you can use the same box.
mike_d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 05:39 PM
  #7953  
Tech Addict
 
JRRobiso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 659
Default

Originally Posted by mike_d View Post
That is exactly what i was hoping to hear, thanks for the info!
You're welcome...I should have mentioned before that I was planning on selling my NIB SA Ver 2.0 ECS I purhased earlier this month from SP USA. Oh well.
JRRobiso is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 05:40 PM
  #7954  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (84)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wyoming, MN
Posts: 697
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

I wish i would have known a week ago. How much are you looking to get for it BTW?

Originally Posted by JRRobiso View Post
You're welcome...I should have mentioned before that I was planning on selling my NIB SA Ver 2.0 ECS I purhased earlier this month from SP USA. Oh well.
mike_d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 06:00 PM
  #7955  
Tech Addict
 
JRRobiso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 659
Default

Originally Posted by mike_d View Post
I wish i would have known a week ago. How much are you looking to get for it BTW?
I'm selling the following as a package if you're interested (all items are NEW) for $150.00 with free shipping:

Silver Arrow V2.0 1/8 Brushless ESC with Multi ESC Program Card and GENS ACE 5000mah 3S1P 11.1V 40C hard case Lipo battery.

I also bought a Silver Arrow V2.0 5.5R that I'm keeping for my SC10 4x4. I originally purchased the items direct from SP USA for my SC truck but realized that the battery I also purchased (from HobbyPartz) was way too big for the SC10. The ESC runs better with 3-4 cell lipo packs compared to 2 cells. Thus the reason why I purchased the 3 cell lipo hardcase.
JRRobiso is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 07:33 PM
  #7956  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Edmonton Alberta
Posts: 16
Default

sorry to sound like a noob, but i am looking at replacing a broken tekin rs pro with a speed passion esc. thing is on the site i don't know what to choose from

Whats the differences from the

GT V2.1 EX Brushless ESC
GT2.0 LPF Brushless ESC
GT2.1 Prostock ESC
GT2.0 Pro Brushless ESC

I have read the description but it does not tell me much, help would be much appreciated or a site that might link the specs of each?

Thanks
ragingdemon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 07:59 PM
  #7957  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,528
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

save your money, new sp esc coming out soon
but if your just racing stock blinky, get the lpf, cheapest and just as good as the rest
skypilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 11:28 PM
  #7958  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
SpeedySST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wheatland, WY
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

To SpeedPassion guys,

Is there any way to get a replacement lower case for the blue Prostock GT2.1? I wanted to clean the inside out of mine and the front pieces broke. Thanks!

Mark
SpeedySST is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 05:48 AM
  #7959  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (84)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wyoming, MN
Posts: 697
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

What does blinky mean?

Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
save your money, new sp esc coming out soon
but if your just racing stock blinky, get the lpf, cheapest and just as good as the rest
mike_d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 06:28 AM
  #7960  
Tech Initiate
 
David Home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 44
Default

If you run the no timing software on your ESC, it will result in the led at the bottom flashing continuosly. Hence the name ' Blinky Mode'.
David Home is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 06:34 AM
  #7961  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (84)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wyoming, MN
Posts: 697
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Ahh that makes sense thanks for that.

Originally Posted by David Home View Post
If you run the no timing software on your ESC, it will result in the led at the bottom flashing continuosly. Hence the name ' Blinky Mode'.
mike_d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 06:49 AM
  #7962  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,757
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I have to GT LPF 1.1s. Is there a trade in/upgrade program?
liljohn1064 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 09:09 AM
  #7963  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,182
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TheZoof View Post
That was my thinking too until I did the testing. If I ran my original v.3.0(with 10degree upgrade) Speed passion motor with the 10.4 ratio everything was awesome. It is a 417 car with 113 spur, 21t pinion... (113/21)*1.94=10.439. Temp was about 115 after 5 minutes.

If I run the new MMM with the same gearing of 10.4 then I see the heat issue. The only difference I can see is that I had my MMM turned to highest possible timing.

I even have the 10degree board in my v3.0 original.

My car was the fastest on the straight and had decent bottom end. In fact I was thinking of going to a ratio closer to 11 for next race.

I tried 7:1, 8:1 and 9:1... all of them lacked power and speed on our carpet track. The 10.4:1 was the best by far. My lap time is about 1 second difference from 6.5:1 compared with 10.4:1... my driving line was the same.

>.. Anyways... I am just curious about timing of motors... do people run them lowest timing possible on motor... or highest and why. I obviously will try it out next time however I am going to IIC so I just wanted people's input.

Also FYI, I run a ratio of 4.1:1 without boost and at IIC I will definitely run at least an 8:1 ratio to start for 17.5 boosted due to the larger track.
If you are going IIC...talk to BILL SYDOR or JJ Wang...but I can tell you this. Bill is very fast with 323stock 17.5 class (boost 17.5) and his FDR is about 6.9 for indoor carpet. I really cannot see running 10+ final is the answer. I will believe that is a BOOST setup with 3.5T motor final drive.

What is your 323stock setup...?

About timing board in the motor...the V3 came standard 10 board. MMM came standard with 20 board. It is not the option, those are standard, and I always run 10 back then when 20 and 30* were not even the option...Now, I think my latest setup (carpet season just started and there are no BOOST class no more) was about 22. And no...you don't run minimum motor timing, nor run MAX motor timing...is depends on track size, and esc setup.

If your temp is 115 after 5 minutes running BOOST class...there must be something wrong there. Don't get me wrong...I WISH we are all getting only 115 running boost class and be fast...but we are all reaching 180-190 almost to the line that will blow up the motor in order to be fast....115 is just way too good to be true (that still be fast).

Your MMM getting hot is because the board inside (RED BOARD) is 10 plus degree more then the black V3 board (which is only 10 max)...you max out the MMM, that is 20 timing....if your ESC setting does not change, of course it will get hotter because you are simply adding 10+ then your V3 setup.

Also...if you are running MMM 17.5 for blinky class.....your 4.1 final is about right. Make sure you use the green sensor board and crank to full right 30. You might need to gear up 1 or 2 tooth...again, talk to BILL SYDOR, he was TQ last year at IIC for stock 17.5.

And ask him about superstock 17.5...and have him to look at your 323stock setting...I think there must be something you did that is completely different then what we used for boosted 17.5....10.4 final is just crazy.

Good luck at IIC...
Solara is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 09:10 AM
  #7964  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,182
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TheZoof View Post
One other question I had is due to this ratio my car has a lot of built in drag break. Does speed passion offer any push control type setting to counter that issue?
No, we don't have push control....you can adjust your radio, throttle subtrim to forward position by 25%.
Solara is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 09:11 AM
  #7965  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,182
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syrss View Post
I am still confused as to if the Inspire V2 can support sensored motor? I don't see where you would plug the sensor wire into the esc? But someone posted on here that it support both sensor and sensorless?

Can someone chime in on this?

TIA,
Ron
No...already answered the same question at the other thread.
Solara is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service