Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
The Speed Passion Thread >

The Speed Passion Thread

Like Tree52Likes

The Speed Passion Thread

Reply

Old 05-23-2011, 05:59 PM
  #7186  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
mr crum's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida 813
Posts: 1,591
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lostinbaja View Post
I not only paid to win a junk motor but I learned an important lesson besides, Don't buy second rate Speed Passion equipment and stick with the good stuff like Tekin and Trinity based motors. Tekin at least has a support network.
Hopefully others will learn from my mistake.
how many degrees of motor timing did you have in the motor and if im correct the instructions clearly state to not free rev motor or it will destroy it
mr crum is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 06:18 PM
  #7187  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (15)
 
lostinbaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Frankfort, Illinois U.S.A.
Posts: 771
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mr crum View Post
how many degrees of motor timing did you have in the motor and if im correct the instructions clearly state to not free rev motor or it will destroy it
If you read the post, the motor was not even revved to 1/4 throttle with no boost and no turbo and the timing was as it was out of the box. You can't tell me you never touch the throttle unless the tires are on the track! I was checking to make sure the car was actually turned on before I set it down on the track.
If I did something stupid like rev it to the moon and it exploded, I would not be posting this. The rpm should not have been enough to damage the motor. Like I said, since I posted this, I have recieved PM's from other people that have had the same issue. Now that I know it is an issue with Speed Passion motors, I will just move on.
lostinbaja is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 10:28 PM
  #7188  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lostinbaja View Post
I am positive that a 17.5 without boost and turbo in a sedan at less than 1/4 throttle will not spin up as fast as a 13.5 with boost and turbo maxxed out at full throttle in a short course truck.

Since I made the post this morning, I have recieved PM's from several people that have had the same issue with their SP motors on the track (under load).

The lesson I did learn is: There is a reason why the used Tekin motors get snatched up in minutes on the classifieds board and the SP stuff sits on the board for days.
Sorry mate but i have to dissagree , i have 8 to 10 SP motors and not one has had a shattered rotor , get your facts corect before mouthing off !!! i had a Tekin motor and it burned in one run , was that the motors fault ???? NO do i go complaining in the Tekin thread NO ,

RANT OVER !!!!
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 01:28 AM
  #7189  
Tech Master
iTrader: (69)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,372
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Cool

I have both motors and I don't have any problem with them yet. I raced them hard and free-rev the motor without any issue.

Maybe you're just unlucky to get a defective unit. But smacking a brand just because of one failure and talking about how godly the Tekin motors are won't help you get anywhere because this is a Speed Passion thread. Instead, you can get more help by PMing Solara or Speed Passion and ask for assistance.

What would I get if my Tekin exploded and I go and condamn the brand on the Tekin thread? Other than getting nowhere with the issue, I am sure I will get a lot of backfires.

Another thing to consider, Speed Passion motor has vent holes which are prone to debris. I've heard in some rare instance, some track debris such as small screw or pin may get into the hole and jammed up the rotor, or destroy the rotor while it is spinning. I am not sure if this is the cause of your problem. The Tekin does not have any vent hole so it is not affected. There are pros and cons about the design, pros being it runs cooler because air vents around the rotor (I can gear my Speed Passion motor 1-2 teeth more than the Tekin and still stays cool). Cons being obviously higher maintenance and debris-prone.
eComet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 01:53 AM
  #7190  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (13)
 
smilekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,536
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

any good setup for 10.5t Touring track open flowing and straight 120 feet long
smilekt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 04:45 AM
  #7191  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 321
Default

Does anyone have a good setup for 323 stock software running an 13.5 x12 motor, med/large track.
Smartypants is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 05:08 AM
  #7192  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (15)
 
lostinbaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Frankfort, Illinois U.S.A.
Posts: 771
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
Sorry mate but i have to dissagree , i have 8 to 10 SP motors and not one has had a shattered rotor , get your facts corect before mouthing off !!! i had a Tekin motor and it burned in one run , was that the motors fault ???? NO do i go complaining in the Tekin thread NO ,

RANT OVER !!!!
I asked a simple question and was told I did something wrong, along with PM's stating they have had the same issues.
I have my facts straight, people at my track and on this forum have confirmed my thoughts.
You need to get your "facts" correct! I am not your "mate", I don't even know you.
If I had the same problem with a Tekin motor, it would be on the forum. If you want to complain on the Tekin thread go ahead and complain, I don't think I could care less.
Absolutely everything I posted is factual.
lostinbaja is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 10:07 AM
  #7193  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lostinbaja View Post
I asked a simple question and was told I did something wrong, along with PM's stating they have had the same issues.
I have my facts straight, people at my track and on this forum have confirmed my thoughts.
You need to get your "facts" correct! I am not your "mate", I don't even know you.
If I had the same problem with a Tekin motor, it would be on the forum. If you want to complain on the Tekin thread go ahead and complain, I don't think I could care less.
Absolutely everything I posted is factual.
ok see you in the Tekin thread from now on .........
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 10:16 AM
  #7194  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (15)
 
lostinbaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Frankfort, Illinois U.S.A.
Posts: 771
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
ok see you in the Tekin thread from now on .........
I have no need to be on the Tekin thread, so you won't see me there.
lostinbaja is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 10:21 AM
  #7195  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lostinbaja View Post
I have no need to be on the Tekin thread, so you won't see me there.
ok
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 10:42 AM
  #7196  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,203
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lostinbaja View Post
I have no need to be on the Tekin thread, so you won't see me there.
Jerry, you have PM to check...thanks.
Solara is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 12:58 PM
  #7197  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 321
Default

Clean it out, put a new rotor in and then your back racing! Now back on topic
Smartypants is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 02:14 PM
  #7198  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Bern, N.C.
Posts: 1,462
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default getting to speedo settings 12 thru 15

OK. So, after weeks of anxiously waiting, my LCD programmer box finally arrived. But, when I plug the thing in, it still only lets me choose settings for the basic adjustments in items 1 thru 10. There's nothing in the instructions (which are very poor) that explains how to get the thing to display the advanced settings for items 12, 13, 14, or 15. I'm not finding an explaination for how to do this on the SP site either. How does one download the newer software versions and/or upload whatever is necessary so that the LCD program box can be used to choose the advanced boost and timing settings in the speedo? 2 more questions please.........is there a software version that would be appropriate for running blinky 13.5 in a 1/12th scale car? And which software would be good for running mod 1/12th with a 4.5 motor?
vafactor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 02:21 PM
  #7199  
Tech Master
iTrader: (69)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,372
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vafactor View Post
OK. So, after weeks of anxiously waiting, my LCD programmer box finally arrived. But, when I plug the thing in, it still only lets me choose settings for the basic adjustments in items 1 thru 10. There's nothing in the instructions (which are very poor) that explains how to get the thing to display the advanced settings for items 12, 13, 14, or 15. I'm not finding an explaination for how to do this on the SP site either. How does one download the newer software versions and/or upload whatever is necessary so that the LCD program box can be used to choose the advanced boost and timing settings in the speedo? 2 more questions please.........is there a software version that would be appropriate for running blinky 13.5 in a 1/12th scale car? And which software would be good for running mod 1/12th with a 4.5 motor?
I think the settings unlock depends on your firmware. If you're running non-boosted firmware 508, those setting will be locked out. Try to update to the latest firmware (flash a few times and do transmitter re-calibration) and then see if you can see those advanced settings.
eComet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 03:01 PM
  #7200  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,721
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vafactor View Post
OK. So, after weeks of anxiously waiting, my LCD programmer box finally arrived. But, when I plug the thing in, it still only lets me choose settings for the basic adjustments in items 1 thru 10. There's nothing in the instructions (which are very poor) that explains how to get the thing to display the advanced settings for items 12, 13, 14, or 15. I'm not finding an explaination for how to do this on the SP site either. How does one download the newer software versions and/or upload whatever is necessary so that the LCD program box can be used to choose the advanced boost and timing settings in the speedo? 2 more questions please.........is there a software version that would be appropriate for running blinky 13.5 in a 1/12th scale car? And which software would be good for running mod 1/12th with a 4.5 motor?
Make sure you have the latest firmware on the LCD card.
Fred Hubbard is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service