R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 04-06-2009, 10:20 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Exclamation TC3 HIGH SPEED RUN

HI, I AM NEW TO THIS STUFF AND I HAVE A ELECTRIC TC3 THAT I WANT TO MAKE IT RUN AS FAST AS POSSIBLE FOR A HIGH SPEED RUN. I AM USING A 11.1 VOLT 3000MAH 35C LITHIUM POLYMER BATTERY.

I WANT TO KNOW WHAT WOULD THE BEST MOTOR AND ESC TO USE.
I WAS TOLD A NOVAK 3.5R BUT THERE ARE DIFFERENT MODELS. THANKS FOR THE HELP.
DUCATIMADMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 10:37 PM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

What kind of Course or Surface?

Long straight or closed course?

a NOVAK 3.5 is rated at 10,500 rpm per volt (Kv) so on 11.1 the "unloaded" RPM is going to be VERY HIGH and hard to control.

With that kind of voltage, and depending on the surface...you might want to start with something slower and work up as you play with the AERO.
Things are headed towards a return of the SWT Series, but for
2017 the focus will be on the Encino Velodrome (and dirt oval racing)
SWTour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 11:36 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

wwooww! i remmeber my old tc3 speed run days!

the tc3 would do great with the 3.5 novak but i found out after the chassis gets hot from the hot surface and the motor and cell heat the chasis tweaks. so keep an eye on the temps. (a tweaked out chassis doesn't matter in speed runs but the drive train gets loud and could cuase wear after time) just something for thought

post a pic of you're ride!
Old 04-07-2009, 11:47 AM   #4
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to raven101 Send a message via Yahoo to raven101

i have a tc4 that had a castle 4600 and a sidewinder running 3s with a 32 tooth pinion and a 75 tooth spur and it had a max speed of 65mph according to a radar gun at the last topeka high speed chalange it was a good combo for a straight 1/8 mile run.