R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-03-2003, 09:29 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
wolfeman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Big Dance, USA
Posts: 445
Send a message via AIM to wolfeman09 Send a message via Yahoo to wolfeman09
Default Novak GT7 Question....

I just purchased this speed control and I was wondering if I could remove the circuit that is under the shrink wrap.

The reason for this is that the wires are way to long but I have never seen anything like this on any other speed control I have owned.

Thanks....
wolfeman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 09:45 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Re: Novak GT7 Question....

Quote:
Originally posted by wolfeman09
I just purchased this speed control and I was wondering if I could remove the circuit that is under the shrink wrap.

The reason for this is that the wires are way to long but I have never seen anything like this on any other speed control I have owned.

Thanks....
The "circuit board" is the newest 25amp doide which has been incorporated in the ESC so that you dont have to solder 1 in your motor.

Yes, you can take it out, but you'd have to put doides in your motor, personally, i wouldn't, it makes your motor run more "cooler" and reduces "noise"
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 10:21 PM   #3
jsp
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: escondildo,ca.
Posts: 483
Default

Run the new circuit, I have added it to my older Novaks. You have to make it fit. How are you and the family?
john
jsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 10:29 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
SlobbaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 423
Default

You can take it off and resolder it onto the wires somewhere else but it needs to stay on there. Novak also offers it seperately with 2 wires off of it that you can solder onto your motor or elsewhere as long it's on the positive wire and negative motor wire.
SlobbaTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 12:47 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
wolfeman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Big Dance, USA
Posts: 445
Send a message via AIM to wolfeman09 Send a message via Yahoo to wolfeman09
Default

Thanks everyone for your responses.

Does anyone have any pitures with a TC3?

Thanks.....
wolfeman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 04:43 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 184
Default

I don't know if this will help or not, but these are images of my BMI TC3 with the NOVAK GT-7 installed. I use a standard Schottky diode inline as close to the motor as I can within reason. This keeps me from having to have several schottkys on the several motors I run.


NitroJohnnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 05:46 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: hamilton,ohio
Posts: 357
Default gt-7

correct me if i am wrong, but i think removing that diode also voids the warranty?
sedanaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 05:54 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
correct me if i am wrong, but i think removing that diode also voids the warranty?
I can't believe it does, especially because you have external solder tabs to use your own wiring ideas. And in some cases you have no choice as space is an issue. Also if you are like me, I use 12 gauge wet noodle on everything so the oem diode had to go.
NitroJohnnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 10:39 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

that's what it said in the instruction menu

i think you can use the stand alone doide novak sells
Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 10:54 AM   #10
Registered User
 
glassman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 46
Default

nicely done...i love the GT7's.
glassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 11:01 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 462
Default

It's no problem ditching the new diode. Just put everything back when you send it in. Running all the extra stuff on the GT7 depends on what class you're racing.

In 6 cell Sedan, there's plenty of room for the new diode so you might as well run it. In 12th, You can take it off and just use the normal diodes that you always have.

Also, in stock 12th you can ditch that huge capacitor. I would definately run it in Mod though.
Unregistered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 11:21 AM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 99
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Novak needs to update their instructions then because a rookie like me would not know that the thing shrink wrapped was the diode. I have been soldering diodes to my motors too and it has been a major pain. Novaks instructions say you have to actually add a diode to the motor, if they have it built in now why have not not updated or at least added a drop in to say so??
bbentley40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 08:16 AM   #13
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 22
Default

I recently purchased a GT7. Your right the instructions are outdated. However, My GT7 box did have a notice in there that explained the new diode. It was tucked away under the decals that came with it.
TuxRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 12:21 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 99
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I think my had that notice too.. but dummy me though you were supposed to still install one on the motor too. I didnt think there was really a need for 2 of them, but who am I to argue with instructions.
bbentley40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 01:03 PM   #15
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I use the GT7...and removed the shrink wrap from the diode and soldered it directl to the power wires..

see my mod at:

http://groups.msn.com/RCZOMBIES/novakdiodemod.msnw
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak 13.5 Question? chris72983 Electric On-Road 64 04-18-2007 04:06 AM
Novak BL Question BlackKat Electric On-Road 5 03-14-2005 02:14 PM
novak spy question S-T-R-l-K-E-R Electric On-Road 1 03-03-2004 12:29 AM
Novak GT7 Question tmeeks Electric On-Road 2 02-16-2004 06:42 AM
Novak c2 question KINGZJ Electric On-Road 0 02-18-2003 09:58 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:32 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net