Like Tree6Likes

Schumacher Mi4

Old 10-22-2009, 02:15 AM
  #886  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
Default

You also Need TIR Driveshafts
MChandler is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 06:48 AM
  #887  
Tech Regular
 
steveonamission's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 349
Default

Originally Posted by MChandler View Post
You also Need TIR Driveshafts
Seems like people are snapping them indoors, so if you wanna break down, then you NEED them.

And these are very good drivers, guys that make Carpet Wars A finals etc.

Id stay away, seems like TIR driveshafts dont cut the mustard still, there spools better though.

As i posted on the Schumacher UK forum, Tamiya 46mm drivehshafts are the best option for indoors.
steveonamission is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 09:54 AM
  #888  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Are those tamiya driveshafts steel? And do they use a diff
blade?

I want steel cvd's up front but haven't found any so far.
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 10:00 AM
  #889  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Tamiya makes both steel and blue aluminum driveshafts and you can use blades on either of them (not sure if the Schumacher blades will fit, but Tamiya makes blades).
M-Technic is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 10:42 AM
  #890  
Tech Regular
 
steveonamission's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 349
Default

Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post
Are those tamiya driveshafts steel? And do they use a diff
blade?

I want steel cvd's up front but haven't found any so far.
Yeah the Tamiya 46mm "steel" complete set with axle etc, you have to run the TIR spool with them, so no blade needed, just slots into the outdrive. Obviously you have to run tamiya hexes too.
steveonamission is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 12:00 PM
  #891  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Hmmm. I gotta look into that!

I hate diff blades! Has. Especially with a spool, they wear to fast
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 10:23 AM
  #892  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
turbodog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Debary, Florida
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Florida State Series Race #2 race report- http://fseara.com/test2009-2010Results/ Superior SS13.5 A-main
Saturday we had the club race/practice. My Mi4 was really fast but was having some issues with the car just snapping loose in a few corners. it wasn't consistantly doing it was the bad part, it made for an evil car to drive. i took off the c/f arms front and rear and went to the medium arms and that helped the car alot but it still wasn't where I wanted the car to be heading into qualifying on Sunday. Sunday I made a couple of changes -shock position/moving the weights and qualified 2nd after the first round. This season we only get 1 set of tires so I opted to sit out the rest of qualifying to save my tires for the main. Well....the Xenon28 tires just didn't drop off enough for my strategy as I dropped to 8th on the grid and that just made to much ground to make up in the main. I had a really good run in the main and some luck as well as I made it back to a podium run, finishing third. Could've been a hero if my strategy worked but happy with my car as it worked great on raceday.
turbodog is offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 04:04 PM
  #893  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
dbmartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 644
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

here is the direct link to the results.

http://www.fseara.com/raceresults/20...ck_A-Main.html

Originally Posted by turbodog View Post
Florida State Series Race #2 race report- http://fseara.com/test2009-2010Results/ Superior SS13.5 A-main
Saturday we had the club race/practice. My Mi4 was really fast but was having some issues with the car just snapping loose in a few corners. it wasn't consistantly doing it was the bad part, it made for an evil car to drive. i took off the c/f arms front and rear and went to the medium arms and that helped the car alot but it still wasn't where I wanted the car to be heading into qualifying on Sunday. Sunday I made a couple of changes -shock position/moving the weights and qualified 2nd after the first round. This season we only get 1 set of tires so I opted to sit out the rest of qualifying to save my tires for the main. Well....the Xenon28 tires just didn't drop off enough for my strategy as I dropped to 8th on the grid and that just made to much ground to make up in the main. I had a really good run in the main and some luck as well as I made it back to a podium run, finishing third. Could've been a hero if my strategy worked but happy with my car as it worked great on raceday.
dbmartin is offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 05:58 PM
  #894  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (73)
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,755
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post


Are you running a locator on your lipo with the tape? is there a lipo brace for the 4 or 3.5? Car needs to loose 50g..
MikeXray is offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 07:51 PM
  #895  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Nope. I just have lead weight down the center of the chassis shoe goo'd in there so the lipo cant move in to hit the spur/pinion. And weight to get it to min weight

Im sure you could make any lipo brace/holder work. But I dont think its needed...
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Old 10-27-2009, 07:31 AM
  #896  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
turbodog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Debary, Florida
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dbmartin View Post
here is the direct link to the results.

http://www.fseara.com/raceresults/20...ck_A-Main.html
You the man Dave.
turbodog is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 03:37 PM
  #897  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
BrodieMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default On-Road Newb

Looking to start racing TC's for the first time and am going to get a Schumacher for sure, might be a bit overly agressive with my XXX4 to warrant a new Cat SX too If I get a used Mi3.5 it can be upgraded into an Mi4 I understand, is that right? Any suggestions for foam tires on a less than perfect tarmac. Not the warmest climate here in B.C. so thinking foams would be better on cold pavement than rubber tires.
Cheers
BrodieMan is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 04:47 PM
  #898  
Tech Regular
 
steveonamission's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 349
Default

Originally Posted by BrodieMan View Post
Looking to start racing TC's for the first time and am going to get a Schumacher for sure, might be a bit overly agressive with my XXX4 to warrant a new Cat SX too If I get a used Mi3.5 it can be upgraded into an Mi4 I understand, is that right? Any suggestions for foam tires on a less than perfect tarmac. Not the warmest climate here in B.C. so thinking foams would be better on cold pavement than rubber tires.
Cheers
Upgraded as in buy a complete new MI4 kit.

There two completely different cars, no such upgrade.

Cant help on foams, rubber uk guy
steveonamission is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 06:28 PM
  #899  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
BrodieMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

or was it the Mi3 into Mi3.5?? never stupid questions right I have all winter to get a TC so maybe better to shell out on a new Mi4 as parts for the Mi3.5 might get hard to find when it eventually gets discontinued. Never need much of an excuse to get a brand new car huh
BrodieMan is offline  
Old 10-28-2009, 06:51 PM
  #900  
Tech Regular
 
steveonamission's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 349
Default

Originally Posted by BrodieMan View Post
or was it the Mi3 into Mi3.5?? never stupid questions right I have all winter to get a TC so maybe better to shell out on a new Mi4 as parts for the Mi3.5 might get hard to find when it eventually gets discontinued. Never need much of an excuse to get a brand new car huh
Yeah more like MI3 to MI3.5, that is possible.

If your money isnt the worry, then MI4 all the way, its a much improved car over the mi3/.5
steveonamission is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.