R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-01-2009, 02:16 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Tucker101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wangaratta, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 119
Send a message via MSN to Tucker101
Default Some one please help me with my RS Pro

Well, the deal is, my RS pro has the 1,2 6,7 led's flashing, according to the instructions, the wrong motor has been selected, i selected brushless and it won't go at all.
They still flash
Could it have something to do with the radio calibration, it's meant to ask for neutral, forward then reverse but mine asks for neutral, reverse forward.
Can somebody please help me and give me the outline on how to set thiss thing up?
Thanks, Daniel
Tucker101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 05:08 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 5,058
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Are you using the hot wire? It should say BL-FW and that should fix the problem.
__________________
Steve Walter
Sweep Racing USA/ Speed Passion USA/ Karens Famous Cookies (Transporter)
SRW141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 05:52 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Tucker101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wangaratta, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 119
Send a message via MSN to Tucker101
Default

Yes i used the hotwire, it didn't fix it.
I just had it going, i accelerated then stopped, accelerated again, it didn't move again.
Hmmmm
Tucker101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 05:58 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Recoiled Revo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 202
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Recoiled Revo
Default

Make sure you have all the setting correct like
Voltage cut off
battery type
if they are all OK I would call Tekin tech support they are great people and would be able to help.
Recoiled Revo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 05:58 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Tucker101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wangaratta, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 119
Send a message via MSN to Tucker101
Default

I think i may have figured it out, it's the motor wires, the motor will only move if i am pushing the motor wires downwards on the the ESC posts, they have been soldered up and everything.
Why would it do this?
Tucker101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 06:11 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

That is quite strange could be a dodgy solder job on those wires, so maybe you need to re-solder them just be careful of excessive heat buildup.

Before you go about resoldering everything, you said something that grabbed my attention earlier. Your ESC is setting up in the wrong sequence as you pointed out, maybe try reversing the throttle channel on your radio and doing the ESC setup again.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 06:44 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Tucker101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wangaratta, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 119
Send a message via MSN to Tucker101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
That is quite strange could be a dodgy solder job on those wires, so maybe you need to re-solder them just be careful of excessive heat buildup.

Before you go about resoldering everything, you said something that grabbed my attention earlier. Your ESC is setting up in the wrong sequence as you pointed out, maybe try reversing the throttle channel on your radio and doing the ESC setup again.
I tried reversing the throttle but that hasn't worked either.
It just does the opposite.
In normal it will let me set up neutral and reverse but not forwards, in reverse it lets me set up neutral and forwards, not reverse.

I'm no good at soldering, i trusted someone else with that.
I took it to a specialist electronics place which specialise in things like this and they soldered it up for me.

I just wanna run my new car.

Thanks for your help everyone but keep the suggestions coming.
Tucker101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 06:50 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tucker101 View Post
I tried reversing the throttle but that hasn't worked either.
It just does the opposite.
In normal it will let me set up neutral and reverse but not forwards, in reverse it lets me set up neutral and forwards, not reverse.

I'm no good at soldering, i trusted someone else with that.
I took it to a specialist electronics place which specialise in things like this and they soldered it up for me.

I just wanna run my new car.

Thanks for your help everyone but keep the suggestions coming.
You may have a bad motor. Otherwise, check to make sure you have Sensored mode on if you are using a sensor wire, or Dual Mode.

Also, try setting your voltage cut-off to zero and boost timing to zero.

Then on your radio, make sure your throttle adjustment is set to 0 and reset the ESC to your radio again.

You could also try resoldering the wires again and ensure that A goes to A, B goes to B, and C goes to C. And also check to make sure your capacitor is not lob-sided or soldered wrong. Better yet, make sure there is no solder touching other posts.

Finally, make sure that all wires are touching the posts on the speed controller and not solder in between the contact points. Better yet, do you have a picture from all angles of the ESC that we can see? Also of the motor?
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 06:52 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

OK something else really simple to check but sometimes it does happen...

Double check that the wires are soldered to the corresponding letter on the motor and ESC...

A TO A
B TO B
C TO C

Check if the ESC will setup correctly with the sensor cable unplugged.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 06:58 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Get some pictures if you can.
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 07:11 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Mr. Bubby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,089
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I noticed that you said you brought it to a pro to be soldered, but in soldering the wire to the posts, he or she might've accidentally melted some soldered joints "inside" the speedo. That used to happen to me when I used to use the cyclone speedo and a 850 degree soldering iron maxed out. Nothing you can do at that point but send it in to be fixed. Hope this is not the case for you
__________________
Xray T4 '17 (Motiv Powered) Touring Car
Schumacher KC (SMC Powered) Stock Buggy
No 1/12 scale till they run with rubber tires!!!
Assoc. F6 (Cuz we run them with RUBBER TIRES!)
Mr. Bubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 08:31 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Bubby View Post
I noticed that you said you brought it to a pro to be soldered, but in soldering the wire to the posts, he or she might've accidentally melted some soldered joints "inside" the speedo. That used to happen to me when I used to use the cyclone speedo and a 850 degree soldering iron maxed out. Nothing you can do at that point but send it in to be fixed. Hope this is not the case for you
Either that or whoever did the soldering applied heat too long on a post and possibly damaged the ESC...

But need pics of the ESC (top, bottom, left, right) as well as the motor.
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 09:20 AM   #13
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Tucker, if you did hold a soldering iron down and somehow managed to melt the High temp solder you may have moved a component inside the unit.

Led's 1,2 & 6,7 shows wrong motor type. This could be a bad motor, one wire being off or an internal problem with the speedo. Since you can push down on the posts and get it to work I'd say it's inside the unit.

Contact [email protected] and get an RA number. Fill out the service form and send it in.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 10:14 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I found most times when you see this series of lights its because you unplug hotwire before gray window closes after changing. You should be able to just reload latest update into it and it will be fine.
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 11:13 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Tucker, if you did hold a soldering iron down and somehow managed to melt the High temp solder you may have moved a component inside the unit.

Led's 1,2 & 6,7 shows wrong motor type. This could be a bad motor, one wire being off or an internal problem with the speedo. Since you can push down on the posts and get it to work I'd say it's inside the unit.

Contact [email protected] and get an RA number. Fill out the service form and send it in.
Can I have an autographed Tekin RS Pro ESC from you? I wanna say that divinity blessed my speed controller.
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Team Losi JRXS Kenshin Electric On-Road 13263 06-13-2016 04:39 PM
Thinking of switching to on-road... please help! t4tx Electric On-Road 44 07-25-2009 11:27 AM
KO BMC vs SP GT2.0 vs LRP SXX krat Electric On-Road 36 07-11-2009 07:18 PM
Can a beginner start racing with this car? YR4Dude Electric On-Road 23 12-27-2006 11:37 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:16 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net