R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2009, 09:42 PM   #106
Tech Fanatic
 
CHRIS CHAVEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Weekend Warrior
Posts: 962
Default

Hello Jilles,

First, I'd like to say Thank You for this awesome thread!

Second, I was wondering if you use any lubrication in the spool cups/end of the dogbone inside the spool cups? Do you use the same Xenon blue grease you use on the rear blades or somthing else. Or do you just run it dry?

Thanks, Chris
__________________
"Dirt is for growing Potatoes"
TQ RC Racing
CHRIS CHAVEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 10:56 PM   #107
mk2
Tech Adept
 
mk2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: manteca ca.
Posts: 207
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mk2
Default

jilles hey you going to make the reedy tc race this year ?
__________________
PROTEK RC PRODUCTS
JOHNS BSR TIRES
WWW.AMAINHOBBIES.COM
EXPRESS MOTORSPORTS
RADIOPOST USA.
mk2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2009, 11:34 PM   #108
Tech Elite
 
jonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Johor, Malaysia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.141592 View Post
Sorry for any dumb questions asked as i just turned 1 year running a touring car...
Thanks again!
One year and you're already better than some of top dogs!!!

And I gotta agree with CraigM, change to Ti screws and you could play with the weight around the car..... just my opinion...

cya
jonest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 12:04 AM   #109
Tech Addict
 
3.141592's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SG-MY
Posts: 652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
I dunno what Jilles would say, but I'd get a titanium screw set which saves around 25g, then you can add that ballast to the battery side
Hi CraigM. My 416WE is already running with Ti screws
I have replaced all the screws with titanium and all the ball ends with aluminum. Still above 1500g....1534g to be exact. There are a few things i could save weight on though (but adding more $$ ). Aluminum screws, lightweight axle, front aluminum u-joint (currently running steel) Think my novak synthesizer receiver is also a weight-contributor...the thing is with all the calculations, i think it would still not bring me down well-below 1500g, well, maybe, and then add balancing-weight.

By the way Jilles, if you don't mind, what would be the 416WE weight when running 5-cells modified, spool setup?

Thanks in advance.
3.141592 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 11:45 AM   #110
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: belgium , brussels
Posts: 55
Default

Hello Gille
Enjoy !! the photo !!!

Ets 2008 Kastellaun !!

Last edited by grooveman; 04-11-2009 at 11:06 AM.
grooveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 11:51 AM   #111
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 126
Default

Hi Jilles,

Do you know if the SMC Ener-G 4600 will be permit at the European championship in Luxemburg ?

Nice pic mister Grooveman
Manu_05' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 12:46 PM   #112
AWK
Tech Fanatic
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 983
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Thanks again to Jilles who is a great driver for Tamiya and an even better representative. I am glad we have him on our team and within our company!
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 01:43 PM   #113
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 126
Default

other question for Jilles,

Do you use negative expo on throttle on your radio ?
Manu_05' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 02:23 PM   #114
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: europe
Posts: 149
Default

Hello Jilles, thanks for all your input
benoitrdv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 02:31 PM   #115
JGH
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 198
Default

february,
The carbon SP v2 Speedo is the same as the blue one.

3.1415936
The chassis is better balanced with 6 cells and not with 5 cell. Nevertheless, it's about 40 gram differents. Option is to change the receiver to the battery side. I think the drop is not set right as this differents of weight left and right is minimum and should not effect the drop so much.
Btw, I think you mean 1400gr with 5 cells.
The best way to test if the rollbar is the same left and right is to take off the c-hub and only check with the arms. Then lift one up and check the other arm at what point it goes up. You can also try a drop gauge and measure at what height it goes up both way.

CraigM,
Good idea to make the car lighter so you can use more ballast weight to make perfect balance.

kschu,
We will do some more tests and then we will see if we are gonna use the new SP2 speedo. At the moment I'm satisfied with the new Pearl Nosram speedo.

Rockymania,
It has been a long time that I tested different inserts as all races these days are controlled tyres, wheel and inserts.
In the past we made holes to avoid tyre/insert overheating.
Normally a softer insert has little less traction then a hard insert but is better for tyre overheating.

Chris,
Thanks! You are welcome!
I never use grease on the outdrive, I run them dry.

mk2,
Yes, the whole TRF team will attend the race!

3,1415926
I'm a little confused about your 1534 gr. As my 416 weight around 1400 gr. with titanium screws. When using JB inserts it's way under 1400 gr.

Grooveman,
Thanks for the picture! Where was this picture taken?

Manu_05,
The energy cells where already permitted at last euros. The problem was that some cells where not exactly within the 43mm, SMC now has special Euro cells that are below 43mm. I use 0 expo on the throttle, sometimes when runtime is a problem I run -10.

Carking,
Thanks for your compliments!

Jilles
JGH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 03:15 PM   #116
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 126
Default

Thanks for your answer Jilles, it's very nice !
Manu_05' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 03:31 PM   #117
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.141592 View Post
2. Another problem that i usually have is when i am setting up the roll bar. What is a good way to make sure they are mounted correctly? I usually just make sure both sides are equally the same but when it seems to be different when i try to lift up the arm on one side, then the other to check.
This method from EA Motorsports works pretty good as well.

"The way I do it (and most others I have seen) is to take the shocks and tires off the car and turn the car upside down and let the arms fall (both should fall to the same location. Then push up on them one at a time and watch the opposite arm to see when it starts to move. Then switch and do the same for the other side. They should both lift at the same point when raising the opposite side. If not then adjust the length of the link.

EA"
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 09:15 PM   #118
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JGH View Post
kschu,
We will do some more tests and then we will see if we are gonna use the new SP2 speedo. At the moment I'm satisfied with the new Pearl Nosram speedo.

Jilles
Pearl Nosram Speedo is same with LRP SXX rite???
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 10:22 PM   #119
Tech Elite
 
jonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Johor, Malaysia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kschu View Post
Pearl Nosram Speedo is same with LRP SXX rite???
http://www.rctouring.eu/new_escs_at_the_worlds.htm
jonest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 12:43 AM   #120
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Jilles,

-Which grease do you use for the driveshaft's joints?
-Do you always use the forward screw on the motor bulkhead?

Best regards,
Hugo
Hugo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:34 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net