Community
Wiki Posts
Search

should i get a tl01?

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2002, 01:24 PM
Tech Rookie

Default should i get a tl01?

hi there......im kind of new to this hobby (although i had a car before)and was wondering......should i get a tl01. u see my local tracks has 2 sedan classes. the fist is the sport and u can only use a tl01 or ta01 (has to use stock tamiya motor) the other class is the pro and any car is allowed. i want to know which one i should get a car for. i was thinking the sport but i have heard some pretty bad things about the tl01, but it is in my price raqnge and does not require that much driving skills. any help on this would be apreciated.

thanx in advance
Old 10-31-2002, 01:39 PM
Tech Elite

Since there's a racing class at your club that's TL01 only, I'd say it's a good choice for a first car.

The TL01 will never compete on a track with a "pro" level car, but if you're racing in a "control" class, it can be made to run very well.

The good thing about the TL01 is that it's pretty idiot proof to build, and sturdy when the inevitable crashes happen.

It's also good value.

Sensible upgrades would be ballraces, oil-filled shocks, adjustable steering arms, and an Electronic speed controller, instead of the standard mechanical one.
Old 10-31-2002, 01:46 PM
Regional Moderator

Originally posted by sosidge

Sensible upgrades would be ballraces, oil-filled shocks, adjustable steering arms, and an Electronic speed controller, instead of the standard mechanical one.
I think he meant Ball Bearings. Also the racing gears would be a good upgrade. There's a new TL01-LA that just came out, I would go with that one. The new kit comes with new carriers up front and longer A arms.

Tamiya runs this in there TCS series and it's a very popular class.
Old 10-31-2002, 01:50 PM
Tech Rookie