R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 03-25-2009, 05:18 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default What to buy?

Hello,

I am kinda new to this RC car business. And i was wondering what i should buy or consider when purchasing a RC car. I do not want the RC car to be slow, but it doesn't have to be super fast. If anyone could help me that would be great.

Thank you
Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 05:48 PM   #2
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

First decide what class you want to run.

Look at what is popular in your area, it will mean more parts support and set-up help.

Then buy best you can afford, better than buying cheap for 3 months and then buying another kit.

Buy 'super fast' it can always be slowed down, the inverse is not always possible.

LONG LIVE OPEN MODIFIED
miller tyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 10:04 PM   #3
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Also, tools, chargers, batteries, are all important.

Tools - Buy some allen screwdrivers. They're so much better and easier to use than allen keys. They'll save you time and hassle.

If you want to be able to set your car up properly if you're racing. Camber gauge, right height gauge, are the minimum. Toe gauge or a setup station is good too. Setup stations measure everything at one time.

Chargers. Whether you decide to run lipo or cell batteries. Buy a charger that will handle both. Because when you switch to lipo(and you will) you dont want to go spending moeny on another charger. The Onyx 230 is pretty nice for the price.

Batteries. Lipo if you can. Its worth it. No worries about cooling down before charging or running. No discharging. No little crap involved like you do with cell packs. Just charge it and run it. And you can do that all day long. Th eonly thing with lipos is you should get a balancer for your battery to keep the cells inside matched.
RC-DriftNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 08:53 AM   #4