R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2003, 06:49 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Jedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 124
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Thumbs up what kind of speed control to use

Hi there this is my first post so if this comes out wronge please excuse me.
I have two speed controls that I have and was wondering what one would suit my racing better. I race 1/12 scale 4cell stock and I have been running a Keyence Zero Extreme and also have a Novak Atom both I have ran but the only problem I have with the Keyence is that it take so much movement on the throttle on the transmitter before the car with go forward, and with the Atom it is right there. What I would like to know is am I setting the Keyence up wrong as I have been to the web site and there is the same amount of info there. What also does all of the drive freq. and neutral freq. and brake freq. mean and what setting should they be at. Also if there is something better out there please feel free to help me in the right direction.

Thanks Jedd

Last edited by Jedd; 11-27-2003 at 06:57 PM.
Jedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 07:17 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default Re: what kind of speed control to use

Quote:
Originally posted by Jedd
Hi there this is my first post so if this comes out wronge please excuse me.
I have two speed controls that I have and was wondering what one would suit my racing better. I race 1/12 scale 4cell stock and I have been running a Keyence Zero Extreme and also have a Novak Atom both I have ran but the only problem I have with the Keyence is that it take so much movement on the throttle on the transmitter before the car with go forward, and with the Atom it is right there. What I would like to know is am I setting the Keyence up wrong as I have been to the web site and there is the same amount of info there. What also does all of the drive freq. and neutral freq. and brake freq. mean and what setting should they be at. Also if there is something better out there please feel free to help me in the right direction.

Thanks Jedd
from what I here the Keyence should be the way to go. Its obvious you have some set up issues with it try and reset it .
__________________
what the heck is r/c car??? ( said in your best redneck voice)

'OL BUZZARD FARMING (lol)
howard hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 07:25 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Jedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 124
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

How do I reset this thing as it really doesn't tell you in the instructions. I also run a KO MARS controller
thanks for the reply
Jedd
Jedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 07:42 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jedd
How do I reset this thing as it really doesn't tell you in the instructions. I also run a KO MARS controller
thanks for the reply
Jedd
I dont have one but I am sure if you contact steve wang at speed tech he could tell you how to do it
__________________
what the heck is r/c car??? ( said in your best redneck voice)

'OL BUZZARD FARMING (lol)
howard hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 07:47 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Jedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 124
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

thanks Howard I'll look into this, If anyone would have more info on the two ESC please reply.
Thanks Jedd
Jedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 07:53 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default

well, when you use the exteme, make sure your radio trim for the throttle is not in the brake area, then it'll take a while for the car to move.
pro3racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2003, 09:08 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
shortyzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane,Australia
Posts: 237
Default go NOVAK

i would stay with the nivak if the other one is playin up

that my two cents
shortyzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2003, 07:49 AM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
pro3racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Stevens Point Wisconsin
Posts: 964
Default

ya, me too, novaks are more dependable IMO. There custamer service is number 1, and novaks are very easy to set. I never had a keyence, because not man people have them, and a lot of people have novaks.
pro3racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2003, 12:07 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Downingtown, PA
Posts: 5,792
Trader Rating: 244 (99%+)
Default

Jedd,
I have been using the Keyence speedos for three years. They are the best available today. You have some setup issues with the speedo and your trasmitter. Call schumacher usa and ask for Paul Winn he will tell you exactly what to do.
P.S. These speedos are very High Tech and are not for the unexperienced.
Fred Perkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2003, 06:27 PM   #10
N4S
Tech Fanatic
 
N4S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 997
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I agree 100 % I have a hand full of the v's and the v extremes . By far the best spedo made today. I could set it up , but to explain it over the net is extremely hard. Once you match the radio to the speedo (with all trims to 0) your neutral width will affect what you are talking about . you can set these so low that if a breeze hits the trigger the car will move. no joke. The lower the freq. the more agressive the setting. the most confusing thing about them is the fact that they have 2 setting modes. Both freq. and values. For example the neutral brake.......You first set the NB freq wich i use 1.5 , Then you set the value of where it is. wich i set at 30% with a front diff and 0% with a one way. the percentage is the amount of brake that is applied in the neutral position. Rc old man said it best . these are not for the unexperienced , but if you understand what the freq and %'s mean then its not hard to learn to use them. Hope all this rambeling has helped in some way..... good luck.
N4S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2003, 06:58 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Jedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 124
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guy's for all of your imput I think I have it figured out and it was fromm all of your ideas as the tranmitter was not set correctly and I had to fix all of the setting. I used it today at a race and everthing worked great.
Thanks Jedd
Jedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2003, 07:12 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Downingtown, PA
Posts: 5,792
Trader Rating: 244 (99%+)
Default

No problem Jedd. Just use the quick guide for basic setups. Try changeing the nutral with to 0 or 5 and go from there. also when using the P94 style brush run a drive frequency of 11.0 or so.
Fred Perkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 05:10 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
ijnek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S'pore & M'sia, JB
Posts: 2,510
Send a message via ICQ to ijnek
Default

it sounds like u might have setup the minimum throttle drive which requires u to depress quite a lot of ur throttle trigger before the car actually respond.this value is normally abt 70%,so ur initial throttle trigger input will not get ur car moving at all...or ut esc frequency is set too low.
the keyence zero xtreme is 1 of the best esc u can have,but the settings might b too much if u r not familiar with them or worse,dun have a manual to guide u through...

check this 2 values...

try setting up the esc again....it might help
ijnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 08:17 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
xray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 209
Default

Jedd, sounds like you haven't set up the Brake, Throttle and Neutral point.

Then you do the following:
1. Move the neutral point toward the throtlle
2. Increase the throttle exponential on your transmitter
3. Set min throttle
4. Decrease the deadband
5. Decrease the drive frequency for more punch

Please try and let me know what is the outcome!
xray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2003, 09:27 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng
Default

im looking for a new speed control

lookin for something thats japanese

unlimited turn!
won races before ha ha

oh yeah not futaba i hate them
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
speed passion speed control, any good? newbie2 Electric Off-Road 11 08-31-2008 09:02 PM
speed passions granturismo speed control chad423 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 08-24-2008 10:03 PM
speed passion granturismo speed control chad423 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 07-11-2008 02:37 PM
speed passions granturismo speed control chad423 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 05-20-2008 09:23 PM
speed passion GT speed control $140.00 shipped.. rc_tradingpost R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-12-2008 08:10 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:52 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net