R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 03-19-2009, 09:31 AM   #1
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default TC4, Cyclone S, or Sprint2 Sport??? HELP!!!

I am in the process of getting back into R/C racing after 10 years and just recently purchased an RC18T for offroad bashing and parking lot racing. I will now be getting a 1/10 touring car and I don't know which one is the best for me. I am a rookie driver so I want something simple at first, but I can wildly upgrade after I get better at driving. I also want a RTR because I am not into purchasing a controller that is more expensive than the car itself and want a car that I can just learn to drive the way it is.

Should I choose a:

Team Associated TC4 RTR
Hotbodies Cyclone S RTR
HPI Sprint2 Sport RTR

Thanks for the input and I will be making my purchase in the next week or so.

Mark
mlight13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 09:48 AM   #2
Tech Elite

Well, having a TC4 myself. I can say it's strong and durable car. And can be upgraded to a FT TC4.
Old 03-19-2009, 09:48 AM   #3
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

I was in the same situation last year. I ended up buying a used TC4. I'm really glad I did. It's a very tough car with lots of adjustments. There's not much reason to upgrade anything. If you get to the point where you start feeling held back by the car, don't upgrade it. Sell and step up to a pro level TC at that point. Otherwise, the TC4 is a great car to grow and learn with. Parts support is plentiful and there are probably many racers around you that are familiar with the car and how to set it up.

The Cyclone would be an okay choice, but it's not as durable as the TC4. I don't have one, but those around me that do seem to think they are money pits.

Another car you should consider is the Tamiya TA-05 series. It's a good TC to start out with as well.