Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car >

T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car

T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car

Reply

Old 12-03-2010, 02:10 AM
  #6466  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,886
Default

Originally Posted by Derek_Siciliano View Post
Hey guys,

Just curious how do you properly set the droop on the photon?
The Photon is no different to any other car. Just use the droop screws in the arm.

The hoop on the rear hub makes the droop measurement look a bit different from the other cars on the market. As a guide, it's about 4mm lower than the bottom edge of the wishbone.

I have my car on 5.5 front, 1 rear (on the gauge) for rubber/carpet. Seems about right!
sosidge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 02:28 AM
  #6467  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (55)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 3,468
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RCFREAK View Post
Dave, did you just post "steering rack"? Let the TC3-4 go already!
Thats some funny $hit right there
Jamison R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 05:34 AM
  #6468  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
The Photon is no different to any other car. Just use the droop screws in the arm.

The hoop on the rear hub makes the droop measurement look a bit different from the other cars on the market. As a guide, it's about 4mm lower than the bottom edge of the wishbone.

I have my car on 5.5 front, 1 rear (on the gauge) for rubber/carpet. Seems about right!

Ok, my other question is how do you set the tweak after you have the set the droop?
Derek_Siciliano is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 06:24 AM
  #6469  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,886
Default

Originally Posted by Derek_Siciliano View Post
Ok, my other question is how do you set the tweak after you have the set the droop?
I just lift it with the holes in the middle of the shock towers and adjust the pre-load. But there are many ways to set tweak on these cars. It's just the same as any other RC car in that respect.
sosidge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 09:50 AM
  #6470  
Tech Master
iTrader: (55)
 
hanzo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Iam trying to change the spur gear. I can seem to remove the bearing. How do I do this?
hanzo3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 10:45 AM
  #6471  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 185
Default

Originally Posted by hanzo3 View Post
Iam trying to change the spur gear. I can seem to remove the bearing. How do I do this?
try to push the ball bearings a bit back and break the edge. rhan is your problem solved.
toptek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 06:10 PM
  #6472  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,134
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
RW Racing here in the UK make some machined one-piece centre pulley/spur combos.

Haven't tried one myself, but I reckon they would be a good option for people struggling with the plastic pulleys.
do you have a link or a site where these can be viewed/purchaced

thanks
Professor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 09:32 PM
  #6473  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (12)
 
HappyHippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 629
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Professor View Post
do you have a link or a site where these can be viewed/purchaced

thanks

http://www.rwracing.co.uk/cars.html
HappyHippo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 10:53 AM
  #6474  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
1shnot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maple,ontario,Canada
Posts: 519
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Little help here... first of all, I love this car.
But I'm having this naging leaking problem... I have change the orings ,added green slime , soaked the orings(40*) etc etc but half way into racing day i notice bottom of the spring retainer is all greasy with shock oil... is there anything else I can try other then getting v2's? I thought I heard someone trying muchmore pro orings did the trick, anyone else try it?

Thanx guys
1shnot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:22 AM
  #6475  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,886
Default

Originally Posted by 1shnot View Post
Little help here... first of all, I love this car.
But I'm having this naging leaking problem... I have change the orings ,added green slime , soaked the orings(40*) etc etc but half way into racing day i notice bottom of the spring retainer is all greasy with shock oil... is there anything else I can try other then getting v2's? I thought I heard someone trying muchmore pro orings did the trick, anyone else try it?

Thanx guys
I have the Tamiya o-rings (from #53574) and have no leaks. This is using the original shaft guides too.
sosidge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 03:24 PM
  #6476  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (103)
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,391
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 1shnot View Post
Little help here... first of all, I love this car.
But I'm having this naging leaking problem... I have change the orings ,added green slime , soaked the orings(40*) etc etc but half way into racing day i notice bottom of the spring retainer is all greasy with shock oil... is there anything else I can try other then getting v2's? I thought I heard someone trying muchmore pro orings did the trick, anyone else try it?

Thanx guys
Make sure that your shock shafts are not scratched up. They may be cutting into the o-rings and causing the leak.
stiltskin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 09:41 PM
  #6477  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,964
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I picked up an extra set of shock shafts and they are greyish in color compared to the shiny color of the ones that came in the kit. Nothing is specified on the package as to why... any ideas?
DaveW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:04 AM
  #6478  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (16)
 
gruman28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 716
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I am ordering a photon, I run on an indoor high traction asphault track, 17.5 spec, can I use the spool or should I buy another ball diff for the front?

I am kind of new to touring. I have only ran ball diff's. Just dont want to get to the track only to find that my car isnt as driveable as it should be.

Thanks
Chris
gruman28 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:34 AM
  #6479  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (73)
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,753
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gruman28 View Post
I am ordering a photon, I run on an indoor high traction asphault track, 17.5 spec, can I use the spool or should I buy another ball diff for the front?

I am kind of new to touring. I have only ran ball diff's. Just dont want to get to the track only to find that my car isnt as driveable as it should be.

Thanks
Chris
Most run spools, some are running gear diffs with thick fluid, not many would run ball diff up front with rubber tires.
MikeXray is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 10:20 AM
  #6480  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (192)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 28,267
Trader Rating: 192 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gruman28 View Post
I am ordering a photon, I run on an indoor high traction asphault track, 17.5 spec, can I use the spool or should I buy another ball diff for the front?

I am kind of new to touring. I have only ran ball diff's. Just dont want to get to the track only to find that my car isnt as driveable as it should be.

Thanks
Chris
If you are going to run a diff in the front I recommend getting gear diffs up front use 120,000 diff fluid and 10,000 in the rear and you should be set. That set up also works very well outdoors.
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service