Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car >

T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car

Like Tree9Likes

T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car

Old 01-19-2010, 07:44 AM
  #3391  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (13)
 
smilekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,538
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kschu
have u try use the TOP servo tape for servo without the servo mount ???how is they holding ?? good ??
im already using it. no problem at all .. but need thick double tape to make the servo more static ...
smilekt is offline  
Old 01-19-2010, 07:48 AM
  #3392  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (13)
 
smilekt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9,538
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kschu
if u use only the servo tape, u can make your motor side lighter few gram and you can move your servo alittle into the middle...maybe around 2-3mm...which will convert alittle weight to the middle...then left n right balance will be better....

my 2cent opinion....
im agree with u ...
smilekt is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 12:47 AM
  #3393  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default New Photon for sale

Hello,
I have a brand new built Photon for sale. Asphalt edition. Please see my for sale thread if interested.
Thanks!
losi offroader is offline  
Old 01-20-2010, 10:39 PM
  #3394  
Tech Addict
 
E.J. Evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 601
Default Snowbirds

I know Josh, Schreff, Larry, and Justin will be there. Who else will be there running a Photon?
E.J. Evans is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 05:43 AM
  #3395  
Tech Elite
 
MAD916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Center Seca
Posts: 3,117
Default

Timezone will be there I'll be running my Photon in 13.5 foam was a killer car last weekend at round #3 of the NWIC, spending the week putting all the new kibbles and bit's on it.
MAD916 is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 09:05 AM
  #3396  
Tech Addict
 
E.J. Evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 601
Default

Originally Posted by MAD916
Timezone will be there I'll be running my Photon in 13.5 foam was a killer car last weekend at round #3 of the NWIC, spending the week putting all the new kibbles and bit's on it.
E.J. Evans is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 11:18 AM
  #3397  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Rick Vessell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Central IL
Posts: 2,516
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by E.J. Evans
I know Josh, Schreff, Larry, and Justin will be there. Who else will be there running a Photon?
I'll be there running mod.
Rick Vessell is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 04:25 PM
  #3398  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

who sells the roche spool stateside? tired of toasting the factory one, even with steel outdrives..
tallyrc is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 04:31 PM
  #3399  
Tech Master
 
smoke81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,232
Default

Originally Posted by tallyrc
who sells the roche spool stateside? tired of toasting the factory one, even with steel outdrives..
I've ran the same spool since vegas till the novak. I replaced it, but its sitting in my box as a spare. Nothing was wrong with it just figured it would be a bad time for it to let go if it did... Wonder whats going on.. You are using the V2 spool right?

Last edited by smoke81; 01-21-2010 at 06:21 PM.
smoke81 is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 04:32 PM
  #3400  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,808
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

You are toasting the spools with steel outdrives? That is crazy

I have been running the same spool in my car for probably 6 months. Its actually the first version 3 spool I ever got still in my car.

And I have run nothing but 13.5, 10.5 and mod at least one day a week usually 2 for the last 5 months.
L.Fairtrace is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 04:40 PM
  #3401  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

dunno what version spool it is but the outdrives came from top less than two weeks ago.. are all the spools this flexy?..
tallyrc is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 04:47 PM
  #3402  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 44
Default

Originally Posted by tallyrc
who sells the roche spool stateside? tired of toasting the factory one, even with steel outdrives..
Are you using the stock machine screws to hold the outdrive on? Those strip the spool easily and you should get some screws with a more aggressive thread

I bet your problem is the screws loosening up and the outdrives wobbling around eventually rounding off the spool inside. my spool has atleast 50 runs on it and its still perfect (altho my tracks walls are forgiving)
JustinLessard is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 05:01 PM
  #3403  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

the screws that came with the drives..
tallyrc is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 05:03 PM
  #3404  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (109)
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 3,290
Trader Rating: 109 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JustinLessard
Are you using the stock machine screws to hold the outdrive on? Those strip the spool easily and you should get some screws with a more aggressive thread

I bet your problem is the screws loosening up and the outdrives wobbling around eventually rounding off the spool inside. my spool has atleast 50 runs on it and its still perfect (altho my tracks walls are forgiving)
i thought this problem was taken care of when they made the spools with the newer material
LOW ET is offline  
Old 01-21-2010, 05:15 PM
  #3405  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
Ron Goetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Goatsville, SC
Posts: 1,959
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JustinLessard
Are you using the stock machine screws to hold the outdrive on? Those strip the spool easily and you should get some screws with a more aggressive thread

I bet your problem is the screws loosening up and the outdrives wobbling around eventually rounding off the spool inside. my spool has atleast 50 runs on it and its still perfect (altho my tracks walls are forgiving)
Originally Posted by tallyrc
the screws that came with the drives..


I think you still have an original spool. The newer spool is made of a harder material and the screw hole is slightly smaller. If I were you I'd order a new spool from TOP USA and also I'd run the alum spool cups. The steel cups have no give in them so when you hit something you either bend the dog bone or break a c-hub/knuckle. Just be sure to stock up on blades.
Ron Goetter is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.