Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car >

T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car

Like Tree9Likes

T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car

Old 11-12-2009, 01:12 PM
  #2761  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (109)
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 3,290
Trader Rating: 109 (100%+)
Default

i'm putting this rubber kit together and ran across some things,

i've got two .20mm shims that came in the bag of hardware for the axles but they're not noted in the assembly manual. do these go on the rear axles between the bearing and the drive pin for the hexes? they seem to have more slop then the fronts.

i also got four aluminum axles, i thought it was going to be two steel for the front and two aluminum for the rear
LOW ET is offline  
Old 11-12-2009, 01:22 PM
  #2762  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 339
Default

Yes, those shims are for rear axles.

Cheers.
Fastfreddy74 is offline  
Old 11-12-2009, 01:46 PM
  #2763  
Tech Regular
 
BagofSkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Buckingham, UK
Posts: 344
Default

Originally Posted by LOW ET
i also got four aluminum axles, i thought it was going to be two steel for the front and two aluminum for the rear
Yeah, despite the advertised spec the rubber kits not come with aluminium front axles. No one has said why. Seems to have been a change for the 2nd batch of kits.

Just make sure you put the two shorter shafts in the back and the longer ones in the front.
BagofSkill is offline  
Old 11-12-2009, 04:20 PM
  #2764  
Tech Addict
 
Luke Hobson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: newark, nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 526
Default

out of both the kits I had, (one in April/may and one in september) both had steels up front..

Luke
Luke Hobson is offline  
Old 11-12-2009, 07:41 PM
  #2765  
Tech Elite
 
Piyo Piyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jakarta - INDONESIA
Posts: 3,051
Default

Any axles (I mean the universals part that connected to tyres) from other brands that I can used? Tamiya or XRAY?
Thanks.
Piyo Piyo is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 01:03 AM
  #2766  
Tech Regular
 
BagofSkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Buckingham, UK
Posts: 344
Default

My kit, bought 20th September, came with ally shafts and V2 spool with additional steel cups.

I've seen/heard of half a dozen others with ally, only yours with steels Luke. Maybe it's luck of the draw or what's in stock when the kits are being bagged.
BagofSkill is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 05:36 AM
  #2767  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (103)
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,393
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

How's the version two spool holding up? Any issues with the steel cups?
stiltskin is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 07:24 AM
  #2768  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

The v2 spool with the steel cubs works fine for me.
No play and the cubs are strong.
mikky32 is offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 07:30 AM
  #2769  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (103)
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,393
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

Thanks. I'm still running the plastic cups and I am debating between the steel cups or the Roche spool with the Yokomo gear. I've got about twenty plastic cups and an extra spool, so I'm not in a big hurry.
stiltskin is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 10:19 AM
  #2770  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (109)
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 3,290
Trader Rating: 109 (100%+)
Default

so when is the optional belt tensioner needed? my belts feel fine with out it but it is a new kit.

also what turnbuckle wrench you guys using with the steel turnbuckles? seems to be a 3.5mm or something.
LOW ET is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 01:49 PM
  #2771  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Low, I see no signs of needed a belt tensioner. After moderate use, my belts still are tight even with the diff in the middle position. Lots of diff movement left.
I'm using my Xray 3&4 mm turnbuckle wrench, the 4mm end. It's larger than ideal, but works.
adamge is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 02:00 PM
  #2772  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,439
Default

I'm using a wrench that I got in an old Yokomo kit - I think it is a Lunsford. Seems to be the right size.

On the topic of belt tension, I have my front belt on three notches loose. Needed to be loose otherwise the tension would literally bend the chassis up (sans topdeck). Rear is in the middle. Seems OK for 13.5.
sosidge is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 02:09 PM
  #2773  
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

How about TIR spool....
what you guys think about it ?
I'm thinking about to order one for 416 and tamiya one also made by same material like photon version...
any feedback welcome
yokemad is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 03:58 PM
  #2774  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (103)
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,393
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

Carpet season just started for us. Lipo 2.5 chassis on it's way. Life is good.
stiltskin is offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 05:05 PM
  #2775  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 83
Default 13.5 fdr

Originally Posted by stiltskin
Carpet season just started for us. Lipo 2.5 chassis on it's way. Life is good.
Hey Stiltskin,
Do you know a good FDR for a Tekin 13.5 in my rubber photon?
thank you
grouchy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.