Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car >

T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car

Like Tree9Likes

T.O.P. Racing "Photon" 1/10 EP Touring Car

Old 08-25-2009, 10:19 AM
  #2026  
Tech Rookie
 
Jordan-Howe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Default

I ran the new TIR spool and driveshafts last weekend at the BRCA National and I found them very good quality and made the car very smooth.
I am loving this car at the moment I have only had the car for a month or two but am having some of my best results finishing 3rd at the BRCA Juniors and 8th at the lastest BRCA National.
So top job to all the guys
Jordan-Howe is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 08:35 PM
  #2027  
Tech Regular
 
Team STPN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Roseville, Cal
Posts: 321
Default

Originally Posted by STLNLST
I'm purple and I can do what I want. You ever gonna run that red thing any time soon???
I have ran it 4-5 times already...you just haven't been at Speedworld.....
Team STPN is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 10:06 PM
  #2028  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
Goingfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,457
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jordan-Howe
I ran the new TIR spool and driveshafts last weekend at the BRCA National and I found them very good quality and made the car very smooth.
I am loving this car at the moment I have only had the car for a month or two but am having some of my best results finishing 3rd at the BRCA Juniors and 8th at the lastest BRCA National.
So top job to all the guys
Hi
I did the same ting..but i uesd the TFK05 rear Diff ..two diff half together with no diff ring...works great...
Goingfast is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 05:22 AM
  #2029  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,966
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Team STPN
I have ran it 4-5 times already...you just haven't been at Speedworld.....
I'll be there Sunday so make sure you practice pulling over
STLNLST is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 02:14 PM
  #2030  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,279
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by STLNLST
I'll be there Sunday so make sure you practice pulling over
Do you have test new Medium upper deck ?
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 05:44 PM
  #2031  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,966
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC MARKET
Do you have test new Medium upper deck ?
The only thing I will be testing is settings for the Tekin RS and the new 200 software. Are you talking about the Photon top deck????
STLNLST is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 12:47 AM
  #2032  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
xray racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 1,574
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by xray racer
Hey guys,

Has anyone played around with Chassis flex much?... Josh you might be able to shed some light on this.

I've run the medium rubber wings so far, and preferred them over standard, but i'm curious as to what people have found in running the wings as opposed to the medium upper deck etc.

Is it better, or more noticeable running a stiffer top deck compared to different wings?... or do you prefer one over the other etc?

I am running Rubber/Asphalt by the way

Cheers

Robbie
....Anyone?
xray racer is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 06:21 PM
  #2033  
Tech Regular
 
Team STPN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Roseville, Cal
Posts: 321
Default

Originally Posted by STLNLST
The only thing I will be testing is settings for the Tekin RS and the new 200 software. Are you talking about the Photon top deck????
He is always testing...
You may need to pull over when my 17.5 passes your 13.5
Team STPN is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 07:16 PM
  #2034  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,966
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Team STPN
He is always testing...
You may need to pull over when my 17.5 passes your 13.5
Not running anything orion anymore so that will never happen again.
STLNLST is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 07:17 PM
  #2035  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,612
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Just to inform ,that Team Roche hv launched a SPool for BD5 which fit TOP Photon as well....and Team Roche is working on the Red Anodize colour now....

pls visit here for the spool infos. KKEPRC

p/s: i been using this spool on my bd5 for 35 packs lipo with 8 min each run...11.5t motor... no sign of wear at all...im driving on technical track which require me to brake alots.
kschu is offline  
Old 08-28-2009, 09:21 AM
  #2036  
pmc
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pinhal novo - Portugal
Posts: 173
Default

Hello

What is the best chassis plat to run rubber tires with
lipo the 2.5 mm for 6-cell or the 2mm for lipo??

someone has tested both with lipo?


thanks in advance.
Best regards:
Pedro Silva
pmc is offline  
Old 08-28-2009, 08:03 PM
  #2037  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

pretty sure i have the original spools, can i get a detailed description of "the fix" till i can get some updated units?
tallyrc is offline  
Old 08-28-2009, 08:19 PM
  #2038  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

tally, I think the best strategy right now is to hold it together with wood screws, drop CA into the screw holes to tighten up the hole, drop CA onto the screw threads to further threadlock and tighten up the hole, then CA the outdrives into the spool. At least, that's where I'm at right now so I can continue driving.
adamge is offline  
Old 08-29-2009, 02:58 AM
  #2039  
Tech Adept
 
amnesia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 119
Default

Anyone else having problems with the set screws coming out of the top of the rear hubs ? I am finding that the plastic that the hubs are made from is quite soft... going to have to glue them in I think.

This chassis is awesome - I wrung out another 2 laps on our track last night. I am so much more consistent and accurate with the Photon over my old TRF415. It has held up to some pretty big 'offs' too.


Nice one T.O.P.
amnesia is offline  
Old 08-29-2009, 05:56 AM
  #2040  
Tech Addict
 
Luke Hobson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: newark, nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 526
Default

I've not had any issues with the rear hubs stripping.

Maybe put a longer set screw in if you have any or just screw it further in and put a dab of thread lock on the top of the screw where the link goes on. If you decide to screw it further in.

hth
Luke
Luke Hobson is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.