R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-10-2009, 03:57 PM   #1
arj
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 14
Default Why 3 Channel Radios?

I'm sure this is a stupid newbie question but why are people buying three channel radio systems? One channel for throttle & brake/reverse, one for steering and the third is for ?????

Am I missing something really obvious?

Thanks

Arj
arj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 04:17 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
cwoods34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indy-freakin'-ana
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Could be a reverse module on a nitro vehicle, or a secondary steering servo or dig unit on a rock crawler...

My friend actually took a motorcycle horn and wired it in his scale crawler using a 3rd channel receiver. You would not believe how loud it is on a little RC car
__________________
Stop holding bitterness deep in your bum soul.
cwoods34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 04:21 PM   #3
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 481
Default

To plug in your transponder.
Lightin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 04:30 PM   #4
arj
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lightin' View Post
To plug in your transponder.
Does it just plug in just for power or does it get some radio signals from the transmitter too? I don't get it...
arj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 04:33 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
flatspunout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere between raising hell and Amazing Grace
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

The transponder doesn't require an available channel...it just uses power from either the battery or auxiliary plug on the receiver.

-rocky b
flatspunout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 04:40 PM   #6
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arj View Post
Does it just plug in just for power or does it get some radio signals from the transmitter too? I don't get it...
It's just powered through the third channel, that's all.
Some guys using 2-channel radios power the transponder using a Y-harness to splice into either of their channels.
Lightin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 04:41 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Skruger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: AT YOUR TRACK
Posts: 1,529
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arj View Post
I'm sure this is a stupid newbie question but why are people buying three channel radio systems? One channel for throttle & brake/reverse, one for steering and the third is for ?????

Am I missing something really obvious?

Thanks

Arj
On my electric trucks I use it for the transmission Foward,Reverse,Low
My rock crawler I use it for locking the rear diff
On my gasoline boats I use it for Fuel Trim
On my 1/4 scale Nascar I use it for Front to Rear brake Ballance (just like the real cars do)

And on my Scale boats I use it to turn On and Off light's (MCD switch 8)
__________________
ROAR # 11-118753 / MATT #11-118754
MECH # 11-118755 / RYLEE #11-118756
RIP :Loretta Plueard 2017
SUPPORTING NORTHWEST HARVEST --- WWW.NORTHWESTHARVEST.ORG THE HUNGER STOPS HERE
Skruger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 04:43 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arj View Post
I'm sure this is a stupid newbie question but why are people buying three channel radio systems? One channel for throttle & brake/reverse, one for steering and the third is for ?????

Am I missing something really obvious?
Yes - you are missing the obvious.

If you were the manufacturer, and you wanted or needed to boost your profits to stay in business, you have two direct ways of doing so.

1. Reduce your expenses (cut payroll/raises, cut projects, reduce $$$ on r&d, etc...)
2. Reduce your manufacturing costs.

By making a 2-channel and 3-channel radio and receiver that are otherwise basically the same, manufacturing costs increase. BUT if you decide to eliminate the 2-channel model, and sell the 3-channel model to would be buyers of 2-channel models, you give the buyer increased flexibility while at the same time boosting your profits by reducing your manufacturing expenses.

Simple Economics my friend!
kn7671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 05:14 PM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 97
Default

Some drifters like to make flipping head lights. Which is why they need 3rd channel.
grategenin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 05:19 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skruger View Post
On my electric trucks I use it for the transmission Foward,Reverse,Low
My rock crawler I use it for locking the rear diff
On my gasoline boats I use it for Fuel Trim
On my 1/4 scale Nascar I use it for Front to Rear brake Ballance (just like the real cars do)

And on my Scale boats I use it to turn On and Off light's (MCD switch 8)

I don't want to hear " i can't make it because of the price of gas" ever again
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 11:09 PM   #11
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,407
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Using the 3rd channel on my gas car as a kill switch.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 11:51 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
ldivinag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N37 33* W122 3*
Posts: 189
Default

on my 1/5 baja 5t, one is for the kill switch to remotely kill the engine.

the 4th channel on the 4pk will be for the laser cannons...









jk. 4th will be for the lights...
__________________
leo d.
ldivinag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 11:57 PM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
flatspunout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere between raising hell and Amazing Grace
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ldivinag View Post
on my 1/5 baja 5t, one is for the kill switch to remotely kill the engine.

the 4th channel on the 4pk will be for the laser cannons...
Ha laser cannons...sooooo 6 months ago! MuchMore *PLASMA* rifles FTW! (Available in blue, purple, and black of course)

-rocky b
flatspunout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 06:45 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
TwoTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,002
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

If I'm not mistaken, most 2 channel radios are considered 'lower end' by the manufacturers.

Take for example the the DX2.0 and the DX3.0. I don't need a 3 channel radio how ever the DX2.0 only has 2 model memories, so if I want more, need to step up to the DX3.0.

Once you step up to the higher end radios, it becomes a cost control measure I would geuss. It cost more to produce two radios that are the same but one is 2 channel and one is 3. By producing one version, keep production cost down, store don't need to stock more inventory etc...
TwoTone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 07:40 AM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 213
Default

futaba should definitely seriously consider making the futaba sixpack
Yub, yub, cmdr! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cebu RC Car Racing Club jpn Manila Racers 14147 05-27-2016 10:01 PM
RC Drifting Section briangomez931 Manila Racers 10549 05-30-2015 03:36 AM
The Big Locked Thread donitaROSE Manila Racers 89718 03-26-2015 08:17 AM
EP 1/10 Touring zafira2310 Indonesia Racing 10142 06-19-2010 12:09 AM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
M8 Synthesized... jocktheglide Electric On-Road 23 11-08-2004 11:26 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:34 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net