R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 03-09-2009, 06:07 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default MUST GO FASTER!

Hi Everyone

I am hoping you can help me here... I just cant seem to get my car to go fast enough at my local track.

Here is the problem.. I am running with a AE TC3 RTR that I have upgraded almost everything... Titanium main shaft, Alum dog bones, upgraded bearings, alum shock towers and caps, upgraded bearings, 64 pitch gearing, GT7 speed control, 27t monster Stock, EP 4200 Nimh packs (1.25 volts at 30a dis).

For some reason I just cant keep up.. The race winners are getting about 39 laps and I am turning 35... and I am going as fast as I possibly can. I am geared up as high as possible, so I am pulling the trigger full throttle all the way around the track... and the motor is warm to hot coming off.

I've been driving for 5 - 6 years, so I am pretty sure my driving skills are acceptable. I realize that the fastest car doesnt always win the race.

But... I am getting frustrated. I almost feel like it has to be the equipment since I am now competing with TC5s and Xray T2s. I feel like I am bringing a Pinto to a Nascar race.

What do you guys think? Is it time to upgrade the car?

What do I upgrade to? I want something for on road and oval with the same car... I dont like Losi (I have a XXX-S, what a pain it is to repair)

Please share your recomendations...

Stick with the TC3 and upgrade something else?
Go with the TC5?
Xrays are awesome... but a little pricey! Which one? Would a T1 be OK or would I be in a similar position?

What about others that I have NO experience with... HPI, Yokomo, etc.

Thanks in advance!

Geo
EagleTa2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 06:59 PM   #2
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EagleTa2 View Post

What do you guys think? Is it time to upgrade the car?
Only if you can race the whole 5 minutes w/o any crashes. Haven't you heard, slow is fast!