R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2004, 09:55 PM   #271
Tech Addict
 
microrcdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 710
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to microrcdude
Default

What sodier are ya using?
__________________
Kyle @ Top Gear Hobbies

MayorRC.com
microrcdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 10:05 PM   #272
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tunerjetta29
Well after a day at the track im a little frustrated. I cant get the wires to solder to my V2 at all, sanding, roughing up the surface, flux ,nothing seems to help the solder stick?? I have even had a few of the local track guys try and no one seems to be able to figure out why the solder just wont stick? And this is without even running the motor. Anyone have any ideas or tips??
You need to use a nice hot iron to solder those wires onto the endbell of a V2. An 80w iron should work well.
__________________
Awesomatix A700L (building) | VBC Wildfire D07 (building) |416WE/X Smokem | Hobbywing 120A v2.1 | Sanwa M11x
itchynads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 06:18 AM   #273
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: IN MY OWN HAPPY PLACE
Posts: 1,600
Send a message via AIM to Javen13 Send a message via Yahoo to Javen13
Default

hi i have a question regarding the width of the armature shaft and witch v2's come with the 4mm shaft and witch come with the 5mm shaft thanks
Javen13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 08:42 AM   #274
Tech Addict
 
tunerjetta29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 690
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I am using Deans Solder, and i have an electronic soldering iron that i can adjust the temperatire on up to 850 degrees Farenheit. So i dont think the solder or heat is the problem?? What have you guys been using solder wise to get the wires on??
tunerjetta29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 12:09 PM   #275
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

Javen, I assume you actually mean stack thickness. The Off rd (blue endbell) come with 5mm stack, the on rd (Black endbell) come with 4mm stack.

tunerjetta, If you have an electronics iron, does it have a small tip? If so it won't transfer enough of that heat. I use a 45wt iron with a large tip (about 8mm) anh have no problems soldering to the brush tubes.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 12:27 PM   #276
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 151
Default

tunerjetta29

Make sure you have not got the end bell fitted to the can (The can will suck all the heat through the aluminium end bell) and I use a 4.5mm chissel tip with standard 60/40 solder and a 50w iron.
Steve B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 12:57 PM   #277
Tech Addict
 
tunerjetta29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 690
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Well that must be my problem, i an trying to solder the wires with the bell fitted to the can. Ill try soldering it with the bell off. Thanks
tunerjetta29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 03:08 PM   #278
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

I always solder with the motor fully built. Can't help thinking it would be a pain to re-build the motor with the the endbell already soldered to the ESC wires.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 03:19 PM   #279
Tech Addict
 
tunerjetta29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 690
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Well thats what i figured as well, and as i expected it made no difference. It is really confusing as to what would cause the solder not to stick. Even with a rough surface and flux.....? Does anyone have any clear pics of their wires so i can see exactly how they are attached?
tunerjetta29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 04:34 PM   #280
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

There's a pic of HARA's solder job on the this thread.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 04:36 PM   #281
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 151
Default

Here is apicture of mine.

O by the way u do not have to remove the endbell but the heat will not be drawn away from the solder points as easy. Why do you think a lot of people have problems soldering th V2 endbell and not standard ones.
Steve B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 04:38 PM   #282
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 151
Default

Sorry heres the picture.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg v2 endbell.jpg (153.0 KB, 317 views)
Steve B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 07:14 PM   #283
Tech Addict
 
tunerjetta29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 690
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Alright well that gives me an idea of what to try, can you tell me, does it increase the resistance much or harm output/run time using a deans connector between the ESC and Motor?? I only ask because that is the first time ive seen that and really thought about it.
tunerjetta29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 07:20 PM   #284
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

You probably wouldn't notice a huge difference but it's always better to hard wire IMO. Plugs can come apart. I've seen people have a wire accadently get pulled by a turn marshall and suddenly no more power. When I had to run plugs when I first started racing years ago I used to zip tie them together so they couldn't come apart.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 07:23 PM   #285
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The actual plug wont add any resistance at all, what will add resistance is bad soldering to the plug, its four extra soldering points over hard wiring straight to the motor which if done badly will add a lot of resistance. Done well you wont notice any different between using plugs and hard wiring though.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Orion 3200 Lipos. Orion Charger, Orion balancer *new price* Mike Marshall R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 08-07-2008 09:26 AM
FS: Orion Advantage Charger w/2 Orion Carbon Edition 3200 Packs smarking1212 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-26-2008 02:44 AM
Orion Advantage Charger with 2 lipos orion/peak Rock Racing R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 04-21-2008 05:31 PM
Orion advantage carbon edition charger + Orion 3200 spec LiPo $150.00 vintagetamiya R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-09-2008 05:05 PM
New Orion 1100 micro battert and Orion Mod Elite for Sale Nightbreed R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-29-2003 02:11 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:38 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net