R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2003, 01:12 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 22
Default Chassie Tweek on TC3

I have a FT TC3 that I have started to race. I have heard of problems w/ chassie tweek. What is it? Is this a problem with the plastic chassies or the Graphite ones? How can I prevent it or minimize the effects of it?

Thanks,
TuxRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 02:24 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Rob Hochberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to Rob Hochberg
Default

tweak is basically when the chassis is twisted, either laterally (side to side) or linearly (i think thats the word) but thats front to back, and it happens on just about every car, so what you do to compensate it is set your car up, fully loaded ready to race minus body, on a tweak board, and add or remove preload on the shocks according to what the level gauge says, someone at your track should be able to help you out with that. hope this helps. the tc3 usually doesnt tweak that bad, at least not with the stock chassis, i run the IRS chassis, so it requires me to check it more often, just to be sure.
Rob Hochberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 03:20 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Also...... watch that you dont over torque the outside motor screw (the one with the spring on it) It may be obvious, but I see quite a few people who really torque down on it, defeating it's purpose,just leave some space between the coils........also make sure your shocks are all of equal length,this way if you do start having a tweak issue like the car pulling, or turns better in one direction than the other ,you can be pretty sure that the chassis itself is the culprit..........you could take a dozen of the molded tub chassis and every one will be slightly different,this is one of the reasons alot of guys switch to a pure carbonfiber chassis like the BMI or warpspeed............hope this helps some
Joe B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 08:34 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Rick Worth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Elmwood,Tn
Posts: 348
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've never used a spring on the motor screws. Just set the tweak after it's tightnend down. Also the shock length means nothing since the introduction of droop screws. They never use all there travel with them so the length doesn't matter.
Rick Worth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 09:34 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Not that this should be a picking apart of others advice, but now that youve headed things in that direction "here goes"..... I cant see how disreguarding the spring on the motorclamp "which by the way" is one of the most suseptable areas on the stock chassis to incur excessive tweak and then try and dial it out every time you disturb the original setting being good advice.......reguardless of what you understand or think "it's there for a reason"........ otherwise mabe give associated a call and explain to them how much money they could have saved by taking the little worthless spring out all the kits for all these years.....im sure they'll be quite appreciative.......and "yes" shock length wont matter "IF" someone has a car with droopscrews.... "most do", but I see plenty older cars that dont......this wasn't specified........so I was just covering all bases.............
Joe B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 06:04 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Rick Worth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Elmwood,Tn
Posts: 348
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I didn't say that to start an argument. Just that a lot of people don't use the spring. I tighten my screws fairly tight & have checked the tweak before & after & halve not seen any problem with the tweak changing so I have'nt been using it. I'm sure if you get some gorillas on the screws they can make it noticable.
Rick Worth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 10:05 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Joe B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Unity Tweek Board espresso1967 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 06-02-2008 01:28 PM
MIP Tweek station for sale crazymechmow R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 01-26-2006 01:46 PM
how much tweek oldnslow Rookie Zone 1 03-21-2005 07:48 PM
Delta Tweek Board jrp R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-16-2004 07:23 AM
MIP tweek station picco007 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 10-13-2004 08:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:50 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net