R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-03-2009, 04:23 PM   #1
okayplayer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default TC - Balancing with weights ?

Hi,

I just finished setting up my Xray T2 009 EU, Rubber on asphalt with the Hudy tools. I noticed that when I try to balance it; by default the part that "wins" is the one that has on it's side:
Tekin RS PRO, Tekin 6.5T, Spektrum SRT3300T, Futaba Servo

Other side has IP 3800 35C 2S lipo.

I have to add 144 grams of lead on the lipo side to get an average balacing.

Is that normal ? Is balancing mandatory ? 144 grams is HUGE!

A friend of mine with exactly the same car/specs/electronics prefers not to balance the car by adding weight.

What is the way to go ?

Thanks,

Cédric
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 04:27 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
flatspunout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere between raising hell and Amazing Grace
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...um-weight.html
flatspunout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 04:34 PM   #3
okayplayer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

many thanks !
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 05:22 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: So ILL Larry Dean Pope
Posts: 479
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Weight displacement

On my 009EU I use a hyperdrive lipo tray for 2.5mm chassis (sits down in battery slots). With the car ready to run minus battery (lipo tray in car) I have the car on the balancing pins. Then position the battery with the front of the pack close to the topdeck and rear of the pack angled to where the car balances out with nothing else added.

With the TP5000 40c pack I had to add an additional 55 grams evenly distributed to get up to 1510. Don't know what the 3800 weighs in at but of course you'll have to add a little more weight than I did. With the battery gray 3M taped to the tray followed by battery tape I've had only one issue of it coming out from a serious T-BONE. HTH
__________________
REDLINE RC RACEWAY
ldp787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 09:39 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
lochness42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 824
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by okayplayer View Post
Hi,

I just finished setting up my Xray T2 009 EU, Rubber on asphalt with the Hudy tools. I noticed that when I try to balance it; by default the part that "wins" is the one that has on it's side:
Tekin RS PRO, Tekin 6.5T, Spektrum SRT3300T, Futaba Servo

Other side has IP 3800 35C 2S lipo.

I have to add 144 grams of lead on the lipo side to get an average balacing.

Is that normal ? Is balancing mandatory ? 144 grams is HUGE!

A friend of mine with exactly the same car/specs/electronics prefers not to balance the car by adding weight.

What is the way to go ?

Thanks,

Cédric
Hi, I had to add 2x 50g lead to chassis and have glued 2x 60g onto lipo to balance car and get minimum weight. So your 144 isn't that much
__________________
Pavel Balint
| Schumacher racing-cars.com | RCSGraphicWorx.co.uk | Cat K1 | Cougar SV2 & SVR |
Schumacher cars build videos http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=9780E62C20A0EC4F
lochness42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 04:31 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Use the hyper-drive lipo plate as mentioned above....Does wonders and that way you dont have a ton of weights all over the chassis...
NUCRPTRACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 04:50 AM   #7
okayplayer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

My car with lipo weigths 1320 grams.

Here're some shots; any remarks are welcome









Thanks,

Cédrics
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 05:23 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
miller tyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,713
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

THe weight is way to high. I would definitely get one of the Hyperdrive lipo plates for UNDER the battery. It's thin, places most of the weight in the cell slots and looks a lot neater, and accounts for about 140g.
__________________
Ken Miller
RCTarget - Capricorn - Pro Level RC - MAX Power - Maxima Fuel - EA Motorsorts - TQ Wire

LONG LIVE OPEN MODIFIED
miller tyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 05:23 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
flatspunout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere between raising hell and Amazing Grace
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

The top of the battery strap is a bad place for weight, especially that much...get it as low as you can to the chassis. Use either a lipo plate as mentioned above, or stick the weights to the side of the pack itself...either is better than that big hunk of lead up high on the strap as it kills your CG and will make the car transition like a tank.

-rocky b
flatspunout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 06:03 AM   #10
okayplayer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatspunout View Post
The top of the battery strap is a bad place for weight, especially that much...get it as low as you can to the chassis. Use either a lipo plate as mentioned above, or stick the weights to the side of the pack itself...either is better than that big hunk of lead up high on the strap as it kills your CG and will make the car transition like a tank.

-rocky b
Hi rocky b,

I changed the lead/fe layout; This is the best I can do for a good balancing.






Cédric
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 06:08 AM   #11
okayplayer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miller tyme View Post
THe weight is way to high. I would definitely get one of the Hyperdrive lipo plates for UNDER the battery. It's thin, places most of the weight in the cell slots and looks a lot neater, and accounts for about 140g.
Hi,

Where can I buy this Hyperdrive lipo plate for my T2 EU 009 ?

It's a flexfit chassis, so I don't know if putting a hyperdrive lipo will change anything in the flex.

Thanks a lot,

Cédric
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 06:16 AM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
flatspunout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere between raising hell and Amazing Grace
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

That's better from a CG standpoint but the stacks on either end of the pack don't look very secure...one good shot to the side and they will more than likely be ejected. Stick a full strip on either edge of the pack (preferably the inside if belt clearance allows it) and if you need more then put it on the outside edge. I highly recommend the lipo plate...it looks like you have spared no expense on your setup and the plate makes things so much easier and cleaner looking it is worth a little more coin.

-rocky b
flatspunout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 06:19 AM   #13
okayplayer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flatspunout View Post
That's better from a CG standpoint but the stacks on either end of the pack don't look very secure...one good shot to the side and they will more than likely be ejected. Stick a full strip on either edge of the pack (preferably the inside if belt clearance allows it) and if you need more then put it on the outside edge. I highly recommend the lipo plate...it looks like you have spared no expense on your setup and the plate makes things so much easier and cleaner looking it is worth a little more coin.

-rocky b
got it, where can I buy this lipo plate ? will it fit my Xray T2 EU 009 ? any issue with the T2 flexfit chassis ?

Cédric
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 06:20 AM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
flatspunout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere between raising hell and Amazing Grace
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I also noticed that the velcro under the battery strap is causing the strap to bow when you tighten down the thumb screw...that can lead to chassis tweak and make the car a nightmare to set up. Someone else who runs lipo with this chassis may be able to help there.

-rocky b
flatspunout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 06:26 AM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
flatspunout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere between raising hell and Amazing Grace
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

The website is www.hyperdriveracing.com but I don't see them listed under their products. Maybe miller tyme can give you a heads-up on them. There are a couple of manufacturers that make them and there is a thread on here somewhere for one of those companies...try doing a search for lipo plate in the onroad forum. Sorry I can't help more with the plate...I don't run one as I have a saddle-pack car.

-rocky b
flatspunout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13256 12-15-2017 05:13 PM
The Roadrunners RC Club V.2 Fran California Racing 8325 12-14-2017 05:17 PM
Hot Bodies Cyclone Frank McKinney Electric On-Road 19762 07-26-2017 11:42 PM
Team Losi JRXS Type-R Andrew Gray Electric On-Road 13454 07-11-2017 08:26 PM
Vintage Trans Am Class Drifter73 Nebraska/Iowa Racing 1225 12-18-2014 01:55 PM
Xray T2'007 Joep Electric On-Road 4185 07-07-2014 09:22 AM
Where do we stop? Radio Active Australian Racing 144 12-04-2012 05:04 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:16 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net