R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2009, 10:37 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Dominic C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Smile AE TC5 belts too tight

Hi, i have a tc5 and the belts are very tight, i changed the front belt to a yokomo bd belt and its alot losser, but what shall i do on the back belt? should i cut every other toth out or buy a belt for another car which is bigger. thanks Dom
Dominic C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 10:50 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
rcterp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: No mans land.
Posts: 1,032
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic C View Post
Hi, i have a tc5 and the belts are very tight, i changed the front belt to a yokomo bd belt and its alot losser, but what shall i do on the back belt? should i cut every other toth out or buy a belt for another car which is bigger. thanks Dom
Before you go changing belts, did you change the position of the diff carriers? the factory/manual settings are a little tight; I changed mine by about 3 holes front and back and they're good now.
__________________
Φ
Glitter Lidz - "My driving doesn't shine but my lid does!!"
rcterp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 10:54 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
JCarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dayton,OH
Posts: 1,244
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What a friend of mine did on his car was actually put the diff on the tightest setting. Then sand the top side of the belt to get that plastic like coating off. Then soak the belt with traction compound and let it soak in over night. Before you run the car again set the diff to the loosest setting and the belt will soften up. It actually works very well for both belts.
__________________
Gorilla Size Racing

R10 USGT, TRF416 USGT, DB10R, TA05R VTA, R40, RS4 3SS, RS4 super, Savage, Hellfire.

Youthful enthusiasm only rules until old age and common sense exert themselves
JCarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 12:10 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Which kit did you buy....The original TC5 had a belt issiue but the R and F I have been told do not....You should be able to adjust the tension from the rear and run the yokomo belt on the front. I used to have a TC5 and it was the first addition and thats what I did to get it right...
NUCRPTRACER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 12:45 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winthrop harbor
Posts: 2,293
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic C View Post
Hi, i have a tc5 and the belts are very tight, i changed the front belt to a yokomo bd belt and its alot losser, but what shall i do on the back belt? should i cut every other toth out or buy a belt for another car which is bigger. thanks Dom
Is this a new kit or something you got used?

Couple things from my experience with the TC5, which belts do you have if it is a used kit and not an R or F? look and see if the belt has a "UK" or "UG" on it. The newest belts are "UG".

Are you using cam holders #31186 or 31184? 31184 offers more adjustability for belt tension.

Are you using the cam holders in the low-low position? If so, this will change the center line of the drive-line and depending on what belt tension position you are in will cause the belts to "tighten up". Also, if you are in the low-low position you may want to consider using Exo-Tek pt. # 1060 which will lower the center layshaft back in-line with the diffs when in the low-low position.

Last thing, check and make sure the cam holders are on the diffs correctly, I have reversed them more than once in haste to get it back together and put the belts in a bind.
__________________
Team Novak,Gravity RC,
ercwhtsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 12:33 AM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Dominic C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcterp View Post
Before you go changing belts, did you change the position of the diff carriers? the factory/manual settings are a little tight; I changed mine by about 3 holes front and back and they're good now.
yes i changed them to the losest position which made a slight difference but not enough.
Dominic C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 12:35 AM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Dominic C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NUCRPTRACER View Post
Which kit did you buy....The original TC5 had a belt issiue but the R and F I have been told do not....You should be able to adjust the tension from the rear and run the yokomo belt on the front. I used to have a TC5 and it was the first addition and thats what I did to get it right...
i brought the orginal tc5 kit.
Dominic C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 01:18 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 208
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default cam

If the belt is too tight you can change the cam holder part 31186 should give you more adjust-ability.
That's one difference I found between the TC5 and the TC5R

Hope this helps
yeahyeah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 01:24 PM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
Fasthobbies1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Coventry RI
Posts: 54
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

ok this may be a dumb question but how do you know if you have the 31186 or the 31184 adjusters? are there numbers on them to identify them?
Fasthobbies1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 02:26 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Bryan Kendall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brookfield, WI
Posts: 135
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Belts

I have a TC5R and i use the stock belts my front belt tension is 2 nd my rear tension is 14.
Bryan Kendall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 02:37 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 208
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default cam

You will notice that the 31184 has more notches almost 180 degrees the 31186 has less.
yeahyeah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 12:47 AM   #12
Tech Rookie
 
Dominic C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahyeah View Post
If the belt is too tight you can change the cam holder part 31186 should give you more adjust-ability.
That's one difference I found between the TC5 and the TC5R

Hope this helps
I tried the cam 31186 and it made it slightly tighter, thanks anyway
Dominic C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 12:49 AM   #13
Tech Rookie
 
Dominic C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasthobbies1 View Post
ok this may be a dumb question but how do you know if you have the 31186 or the 31184 adjusters? are there numbers on them to identify them?
Look in the manual an it tells you which cam is which.
Dominic C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 01:08 AM   #14
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,042
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Another simple solution;

http://www.exotekracing.com/EXOTEK_N...ARINGCAPS.html
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 01:17 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Rommel's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 305
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
I have these and work well
Rommel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Associated TC5 RCknight Electric On-Road 13254 05-12-2017 08:58 AM


Tags
tc5, tc5 accociated, tc5 belts


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:05 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net