R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-10-2012, 12:42 AM   #3766
Tech Master
 
mikeygar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,200
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Couldn't sleep last night so I did this to my BD5WXi :-)

mikeygar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 12:21 PM   #3767
Tech Addict
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Oh damn, didn't know that one piece servo mount could be used on the BD5WXi...how do you make it possible? Have you had to drill additional holes in the chassis?

Is that the only modification you do that we can see on the pics?

Regards,
G-rem
G-rem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:02 PM   #3768
Tech Master
 
mikeygar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,200
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-rem View Post
Oh damn, didn't know that one piece servo mount could be used on the BD5WXi...how do you make it possible? Have you had to drill additional holes in the chassis?

Is that the only modification you do that we can see on the pics?

Regards,
G-rem
had to drill a 2.2 mm hole to fit the dowel of the servo mount.
Servo is offset around 2 degrees since holes in the bottom are not lined up. You can see the dowel right below the original servo screw. The other hole used for mounting is the antenna hole. More on this on the next pic.


Pic isn't too clear but I used a 2mm spacer in bet chassis and the servo mount. Also used a long screw with a nut that is thread locked to hold it down securely. Servo mount is rigid, won't budge at all
mikeygar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:56 AM   #3769
Tech Addict
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

So nice, I'm gonna try it
Is it not possible to fit the antenna tube in the original hole of the one piece servo mount? Maybe in this case, we have to drill another hole...

Quote:
Servo is offset around 2 degrees since holes in the bottom are not lined up
Do you mean your drilled hole and the original one in the chassis are not perfectly aligned, so the servo is mounted a bit crooked?

Thanks a lot,
G-rem
G-rem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:18 AM   #3770
Tech Master
 
mikeygar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,200
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Is it not possible to fit the antenna tube in the original hole of the one piece servo mount? Maybe in this case, we have to drill another hole...
not possible because I used the original hole with a long screw and bolt to hold down the rear part of the servo mount. The hole I used for the antenna is the forward hole of the 20g weight which I don't use with antenna mount reversed.



Quote:
Do you mean your drilled hole and the original one in the chassis are not perfectly aligned, so the servo is mounted a bit crooked?
the hole I drilled was aligned with the original hole for the servo mount and the antenna mount. The hole for the original mount is the only one that is not inline with the rest of the holes. Get a ruler and check bottom of chassis and line up the holes of the screws in the centreline. You will see what i mean clearly
mikeygar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 01:29 AM   #3771
Tech Addict
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Souds good, thanks for the explanations

I was thinking something: what about the same mount you did like in the pictures above, but using a longer screw and put the antenna support above the nut? Do see what I mean?

Cheers,
G-rem
G-rem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:20 AM   #3772
Tech Master
 
mikeygar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,200
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-rem View Post
Souds good, thanks for the explanations

I was thinking something: what about the same mount you did like in the pictures above, but using a longer screw and put the antenna support above the nut? Do see what I mean?

Cheers,
G-rem
Possible but antenna mount might hit top deck. Worth a try though! Post pics :-)
mikeygar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 07:02 PM   #3773
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 181
Default

im looking for rear out drives or diffs for mr4tc. belt drive car. would like metal ones if they were ever made...
pm me if you have some or direct me where to get them. i have tried ebay etc...
turbo scorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 08:43 PM   #3774
Tech Champion
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,046
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I would like to try this BD7 bell crank on my 2004 SD but I am afraid the holes for the old bell crank will be in the way. You can't really undrill old holes. What is the distance between the center of the bell crank holes on the BD7?
__________________
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc
snoopyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 06:45 PM   #3775
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hi All,

Would anyone know whether the Yokomo DJC will fit the TOP Photon EX? (Pic below). Part No. BD-010FW
__________________
Team TOP Australia www.topracing.net.au

TOP Photon EX 17.5 + TOP Photon EX 21.5 + TOP Rebel F1 21.5

ORCA | Tekin RS Pro | Tekin Gen 2 RPM | Ko Pro-Po | EPIC Trinity
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 08:25 PM   #3776
rai
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BSB
Posts: 339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeygar View Post
had to drill a 2.2 mm hole to fit the dowel of the servo mount.
Servo is offset around 2 degrees since holes in the bottom are not lined up. You can see the dowel right below the original servo screw. The other hole used for mounting is the antenna hole. More on this on the next pic.


Pic isn't too clear but I used a 2mm spacer in bet chassis and the servo mount. Also used a long screw with a nut that is thread locked to hold it down securely. Servo mount is rigid, won't budge at all
How is it in terms of drivability? Is there any noticeable difference with and without the floating servo mount?
rai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:24 AM   #3777
Tech Master
 
Hugh Jazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: On a park bench
Posts: 1,592
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mazmo View Post
Hi All,

Would anyone know whether the Yokomo DJC will fit the TOP Photon EX? (Pic below). Part No. BD-010FW
Hi Mazmo.

If they did fit I would not use the Yokomo ones. In stead use the spec R or TRF if that is the size you are after. The Yokomo ones are a bit weak. Alex broke one at the titles first run. didn't hit anything and George was running spec R in mod
__________________
Dan Maher
Hugh Jazz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:41 AM   #3778
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh Jazz View Post
Hi Mazmo.

If they did fit I would not use the Yokomo ones. In stead use the spec R or TRF if that is the size you are after. The Yokomo ones are a bit weak. Alex broke one at the titles first run. didn't hit anything and George was running spec R in mod
Thanks Dan. In that case will probably go with spec R.

Cheers
Alan
__________________
Team TOP Australia www.topracing.net.au

TOP Photon EX 17.5 + TOP Photon EX 21.5 + TOP Rebel F1 21.5

ORCA | Tekin RS Pro | Tekin Gen 2 RPM | Ko Pro-Po | EPIC Trinity
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 11:14 AM   #3779
Tech Master
 
mikeygar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,200
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rai View Post
How is it in terms of drivability? Is there any noticeable difference with and without the floating servo mount?
can't really say yet, ran the car in less than optimal conditions, but steering response did feel enhanced. I'm guessing it should shine in high traction. Will update as I am able to test.
mikeygar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 06:48 PM   #3780
rai
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BSB
Posts: 339
Default

Mikeygar,

That's good news..Please update more once the car is tested to full condition...Thanks..
rai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Losi JRXS Kenshin Electric On-Road 13263 06-13-2016 04:39 PM
Yokomo MR4TC-BD mr.ng Electric On-Road 9094 02-05-2013 02:10 PM
Hey all, new to R/C Stin83 Electric On-Road 12 11-05-2005 10:29 AM
Is EP TC racing dying? Edwin Lee Malaysian R/C Racers 221 04-28-2005 12:46 AM
New 1/10 Touring Car ttektek Electric On-Road 63 03-21-2005 02:56 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:49 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net