R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2011, 11:56 AM   #2626
RAL
Tech Elite
 
RAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,264
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

Best of luck Martin!

http://www.redrc.net/2011/02/martin-...to-schumacher/
__________________
TEAM ARAI GRIP ● J★STYLE ● P1 BRAND ● RÄLDESIGNWERKS ● EXOTEK
RAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 01:56 PM   #2627
Tech Adept
 
altreyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 139
Default

Good luck Martin!, thank you for your tips/suggestions about Yokomo since the old BD. They helped me a lot and i think many other people too.
__________________
Yokomo BD7 - Yokomo R12C
Orca-Gm120
Reedy-Lrp
Helios EX10
altreyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 02:43 PM   #2628
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: near the gas station
Posts: 365
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I have a BD5W forsale in the forsale thread
matt rem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 03:33 PM   #2629
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,172
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

RED RC had upload A Final round 2 video !

Last edited by RC MARKET; 02-13-2011 at 04:15 PM.
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 01:14 AM   #2630
Tech Fanatic
 
OZDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 930
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Anyone had this problem?

Guys,

Has anyone else had the wear shown in the pic.
Its the underneath of the rear shock mounts.
It would appear that the pin from the drive shafts is hitting the block.

I have had some times where the car will suddenly spin for no reason on high speed corners and suspect this may be why.

It has happened on both sides but is more prevalent on the left.

I'll try grinding it down so there is plenty of clearance but I was wondering if anyone else had this problem, what it did to the car and how they resolved it.

thanks

DC
Attached Thumbnails
New Yokomo TC, the BD-5-sany0062.jpg  
OZDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 01:16 AM   #2631
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OZDC View Post
Guys,

Has anyone else had the wear shown in the pic.
Its the underneath of the rear shock mounts.
It would appear that the pin from the drive shafts is hitting the block.

I have had some times where the car will suddenly spin for no reason on high speed corners and suspect this may be why.

It has happened on both sides but is more prevalent on the left.

I'll try grinding it down so there is plenty of clearance but I was wondering if anyone else had this problem, what it did to the car and how they resolved it.

thanks


DC

Because your rear diff position u put to high....if u put to low position, it's should not happen..
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 01:59 PM   #2632
Tech Fanatic
 
OZDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 930
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Ahh,

That makes sense.
I'll have a look.

Thanks a lot

DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by kschu View Post
Because your rear diff position u put to high....if u put to low position, it's should not happen..
OZDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 02:43 PM   #2633
Tech Adept
 
Nico''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 166
Default

with aluminium rear drive shafts, I had the pins which went a little bit out of the bones, but not totally, which could damage as you showed us.
Nico' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 07:15 PM   #2634
Tech Fanatic
 
OZDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 930
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Nico,

They are steel shafts and the pins sit pretty flush with the blades

DC
OZDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 07:17 PM   #2635
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OZDC View Post
Thanks Nico,

They are steel shafts and the pins sit pretty flush with the blades

DC
it's could be happen too even with steel dog bone...have u check your rear diff position ?
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 07:45 PM   #2636
Tech Fanatic
 
OZDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 930
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Not yet, I'm in the middle of a major rebuild.

Although I think you may be right.

I never thought of the cams changing the diff height, just the belt tension.

I'm not in front of the car now to check.
Are you meant to be able to adjust the belt tension with either a low or high diff. Or by setting the belt tension loose, am I raising the diff?


thanks

DC
OZDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 07:49 PM   #2637
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OZDC View Post
Not yet, I'm in the middle of a major rebuild.

Although I think you may be right.

I never thought of the cams changing the diff height, just the belt tension.

I'm not in front of the car now to check.
Are you meant to be able to adjust the belt tension with either a low or high diff. Or by setting the belt tension loose, am I raising the diff?


thanks

DC
yes, u able to adjust the belt tension with either low or high diff position.

hope u can solve the problem and enjoy the ride soon..
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 12:58 AM   #2638
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: AUSTRIA
Posts: 233
Send a message via ICQ to vitomon Send a message via Skype™ to vitomon
Default

had that problem too, in my case it was the high diff position.

another question: i am currently running the kit-shocks with the black damper membrane. i was wandering if there are other pistons than the 1mm that come witht he kit. are there any 1.1mm pisonts available for the bd5 dampers?? or will the tamiya 1.1mm pistons fit into the dampers??? any suggestions other than drill the 1mm to 1.1mm??

thx for the help guys.
vitomon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 01:35 AM   #2639
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
Tamiya and HB pistons fit BUT SHALL NOT BE USED!
The Yokomo shock body features a bigger inner diameter so if you use a tamiya piston the shock will get too soft as too much oil passes around the outside gap!



unfortunately that is not the same.
Try to get a 1.10 drill from somewhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitomon View Post
had that problem too, in my case it was the high diff position.

another question: i am currently running the kit-shocks with the black damper membrane. i was wandering if there are other pistons than the 1mm that come witht he kit. are there any 1.1mm pisonts available for the bd5 dampers?? or will the tamiya 1.1mm pistons fit into the dampers??? any suggestions other than drill the 1mm to 1.1mm??

thx for the help guys.
The answer is above. I m in the same situation as you, still looking for 1.1mm drill bit in my local area, if I cant find it I might order on ebay. Also read a few pages back,someone posted a link to an online hardware shop which sells 1.1mm drill bit.
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 02:00 AM   #2640
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitomon View Post
had that problem too, in my case it was the high diff position.

another question: i am currently running the kit-shocks with the black damper membrane. i was wandering if there are other pistons than the 1mm that come witht he kit. are there any 1.1mm pisonts available for the bd5 dampers?? or will the tamiya 1.1mm pistons fit into the dampers??? any suggestions other than drill the 1mm to 1.1mm??

thx for the help guys.
get a drill bit 1.1mm and drill the piston...

tamiya or other piston is not recommended to be use in bd5 shock...
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Losi JRXS Kenshin Electric On-Road 13263 06-13-2016 04:39 PM
Yokomo MR4TC-BD mr.ng Electric On-Road 9094 02-05-2013 02:10 PM
Hey all, new to R/C Stin83 Electric On-Road 12 11-05-2005 10:29 AM
Is EP TC racing dying? Edwin Lee Malaysian R/C Racers 221 04-28-2005 12:46 AM
New 1/10 Touring Car ttektek Electric On-Road 63 03-21-2005 02:56 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:50 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net