R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-18-2010, 05:54 AM   #2176
Tech Master
 
fpart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,970
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fpart
Default

About the only brittle part on the car is the c hubs. I have converted over to using xray c hubs. However, I have heard that going back to the non graphite c hubs gives you the durability back. I had already converted to I most likely won't go back to the stock ones. I like the fact that I can change castor with the xray ones, even if I rarely do change castor.

When is the gear diff coming out, the Yokomo one I mean!
__________________
teamTrinity.com Sweepracingusa.com
スクービーは私のヒーローです!
Why is Scooby so slow, you might ask?
fpart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 06:01 AM   #2177
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lohan View Post
I am umming, ahhing, and pondering on a BD5W. My main temptation is that Yokomo don't keep updating and changing their kit every year. In fact the BD was out for 5 years, and all the grainger parts were retrofitable or spares.

My question is this. How robust is the car? I have had a cyclone - which was pretty good, a shumacher mi4lp (hated the car) - but still fairly robust, I bought an Xray 008 second hand as a stop gap - also pretty robust as well.

What parts are brittle on this car?

Do any bd parts fit such as arms, c hubs etc?

is the worlds the same as the bd5 save for new chassis
I think you should reconsider that aspect of your temptation... The BD5W is the THIRD boxed kit of the BD5 since it was released two years ago - and Yokomo have just released ANOTHER new chassis for LiPo...

I'm not suggesting the car won't perform well - just that if you are looking for a chassis that won't have major revisions on a regular basis, you won't find it with the Yokomo. Frankly, you won't find it with any of the major chassis makers - annual boxed kits with new parts throughout the season is pretty much the norm!

Bear in mind also that Yokomo support is close to zero in the UK nowadays (it sounds like you are from the UK), so you will need to import all your parts.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 07:40 AM   #2178
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 147
Default boo hoo

I can't for the life of me think why CML won't support and distribute the BD5 in the uk.

On your point sosidge - when you say third boxed set - were there many revisions between them - I get the impression that:

bd5 - base model - came with one way
ltd - same base model - 2 chassis - one way
world - essentially the same - but new chassis for lipo

I can see the need for a lipo chassis, but if the car has essentially remained the same it's not too bad.

Schumacher, I think, made the biggest changes - MI2 - EC - mi3 then mi4

these were 4 fundamental changes - the Xray 008/009 are similar, and the suspension plastic part have remained the same from t2 through to t3'11.

I just hate the idea of a fundamentally altered car.

I think the bd parts are still stocked at a few shops, but I know the BD5 ain't.


onward i ponder...
Lohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 08:14 AM   #2179
Tech Master
 
fpart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,970
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fpart
Default

I just wanted to comment that Yokomo offers a upgrade kit for to upgrade the BD5 to the worlds spec. This was nice so that I didn't have to buy a new car. I don't think other manufacturers do that.
__________________
teamTrinity.com Sweepracingusa.com
スクービーは私のヒーローです!
Why is Scooby so slow, you might ask?
fpart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 09:03 AM   #2180
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,344
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fpart View Post
I just wanted to comment that Yokomo offers a upgrade kit for to upgrade the BD5 to the worlds spec. This was nice so that I didn't have to buy a new car. I don't think other manufacturers do that.
On their homepage, it's listed as discontinued .
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 09:27 AM   #2181
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

separate part can be buy to change your bd5 to W spec.

lowerdeck, upperdeck, motor mount, servo mount..
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 09:35 AM   #2182
Tech Master
 
fpart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,970
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fpart
Default

I wanted to ask Martin or Ronald why(a good thing, I think) they weren't using the extra tape to hold in the batterys. I mean the side tape straps. Is it the new chassis or some magical tape that makes it unnecessary?
__________________
teamTrinity.com Sweepracingusa.com
スクービーは私のヒーローです!
Why is Scooby so slow, you might ask?
fpart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 01:25 AM   #2183
Tech Adept
 
IgorR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 129
Default

I saw on some car gear diff in the front instead of a spool. Does anyone try this one the car?
__________________
Yokomo YR-X12
Shepherd Velox EC
IgorR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 01:49 AM   #2184
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

As ofr C-Hubs. They are not brittle. When there break you most likely also bend your front-rear-suspension mount in that accident as a hit has to be quite hard to break the c-hub.

As for the Xray C-Hub: f-part, did you realise that the Xray C-Hub has got a different geometry?
befor swapping parts you should always verify that they are identical in terms of geometry...

Battery mounting:

I use flat type batteries (GM) and only use 1 stripe of Xenon battery tape. That's EASILY enough. there is no need for any additional fixation.
There is the weight in the middle that keeps the battery from moving towards the belts and that is all that is necessary.
If you loose a battery that is mounted that way the car is tweaked/bent/broken in a way that continueing the run would not be successfull anyway

we tried double geardiff at some point but did not like it.

In fact in modified everybody went for a balldiff as it just feels better driving.
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 02:22 AM   #2185
Tech Adept
 
IgorR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IgorR View Post
Hello,

What is the difference between the schocks from the BD5 box and the PRO Shock Set for BD5 (SSS Size) BD-1SSS-7?
anyone?
__________________
Yokomo YR-X12
Shepherd Velox EC
IgorR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 02:24 AM   #2186
Tech Master
 
fpart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,970
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fpart
Default

Martin, Yes I knew that it changed the geometry and adapted the setups for it. Its funny, I saw the ets race on youtube and can understand why people don't break parts. The carpet tracks are awesome over there and have very few track barriers! Where I race they have plastic barriers everywhere. It is hard to not hit something. Even if you are a very good driver!
__________________
teamTrinity.com Sweepracingusa.com
スクービーは私のヒーローです!
Why is Scooby so slow, you might ask?
fpart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 02:38 AM   #2187
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IgorR View Post
anyone?
same shocks but in a set to by, so there is no need to order all the parts on their own if you want a new / spare set of shocks


@fpart:

the ets track was not one of the most challenging ones really :-) usually the tracks are tighter over here too but we have corner dots so you never really hit a barrier.
on the track I pracitced at though there is only wood barriers and it is a lot smaller :-)
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 02:54 AM   #2188
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Here is my setup from ETS Kastellaun
Attached Thumbnails
New Yokomo TC, the BD-5-bd5_ets_rd1_kastellaun_online.jpg  
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 02:59 AM   #2189
Tech Adept
 
IgorR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 129
Default

Thanks Martin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
same shocks but in a set to by, so there is no need to order all the parts on their own if you want a new / spare set of shocks


@fpart:

the ets track was not one of the most challenging ones really :-) usually the tracks are tighter over here too but we have corner dots so you never really hit a barrier.
on the track I pracitced at though there is only wood barriers and it is a lot smaller :-)
__________________
Yokomo YR-X12
Shepherd Velox EC
IgorR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 08:27 AM   #2190
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mclean, VA
Posts: 3,940
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Wow, Volker sweeps the 1st round of ETS pretty easily...Can't beat a team where you have a great driver and a great setup man working together as one. This is definitely Yokomo's recipe for success like Masami and Dad Masaki back in the day.

I definitely think at the pro-level in onroad you need to have both a driver and setup engineer working together to bring out the most performance possible.
Apex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Losi JRXS Kenshin Electric On-Road 13263 06-13-2016 04:39 PM
Yokomo MR4TC-BD mr.ng Electric On-Road 9094 02-05-2013 02:10 PM
Hey all, new to R/C Stin83 Electric On-Road 12 11-05-2005 10:29 AM
Is EP TC racing dying? Edwin Lee Malaysian R/C Racers 221 04-28-2005 12:46 AM
New 1/10 Touring Car ttektek Electric On-Road 63 03-21-2005 02:56 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:58 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net