R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2010, 04:58 PM   #2086
Tech Adept
 
housey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You know what mikeygar, I had exactly the same problem, I smashed up 2 standard chassis's pretty quick. Back in 2006 I had the same company (fibre-lyte) make me an exact copy of a standard chassis but without those cutouts and without the outer servo mount.
Had a few runs at the track tonight and I need to slap some anti-roll bars on there, but being late to the meeting meant I didn't have time to faff with setup. Its a little bit thrown together at the moment, but once I get it all tidied up and respectable looking I'll post a few more pics. Really happy with the chassis, I can fully recommend someone getting one if you are still a bit of a dinosaur like me and running the BD.
housey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 12:39 AM   #2087
Tech Adept
 
altreyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by housey View Post
Hope everyone likes it, I'm super happy with how it has turned out. Now I'm off to the track to test it out, cya!
Great Job Man! I had the BD also and my thought is about the flexibility. BD was pretty stiff, motor bulkhead was long so the rear torsion was pretty "bad" May be some "hole" on the chassis can help. But at the end is a fantastic work, let me know if you sell or ship those chassis i have some friend that is still using the BD and may be can be interested.
__________________
Yokomo BD7 - Yokomo R12C
Orca-Gm120
Reedy-Lrp
Helios EX10
altreyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 07:09 AM   #2088
Tech Adept
 
housey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If any of your friends wants one then they just need to contact this company,

http://www.fibre-lyte.co.uk/

and mention that they want a Yokomo BD chassis made to the same spec as me (Chris Swallow). I'm not sure about postage but I'm sure they would post worldwide for a reasonable fee.

There is a mod to the motor mount to fix the flex issue that the long bulkhead causes, although I haven't done it yet. Should be back at the track tomorrow for a big race meet, plenty of time to dial the car in, I'm hoping for a top 5 spot.
housey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 10:28 AM   #2089
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 122
Default

What size are the diff ball & thrust bearing?

Any recommendation for ceramics?
Sleepstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 07:19 PM   #2090
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleepstream View Post
What size are the diff ball & thrust bearing?

Any recommendation for ceramics?
diff ball size is 2.4mm and thrust ball is 1/16mm

maybe u can try on Roche Ceramic balls.
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 02:05 AM   #2091
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 122
Default

Cheers KSChu.

What other cars run the same thrust bearing size?

Heard you are running Sakura Zero now.
Sleepstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 02:35 AM   #2092
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleepstream View Post
Cheers KSChu.

What other cars run the same thrust bearing size?

Heard you are running Sakura Zero now.
other car that same thrust bearing with yokomo is Xray

im running both car....
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 03:40 AM   #2093
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

the xray thrust bearing is NOT the same as yokomo and not even compatible ...

there is no compatible thrust bearing from any othe rcompany

but to be fair the thrust bearing is really good. No need for ceramic balls there.
Just go for the regular 2.4mm ceramic diff balls and you should be fine. sand your diffplates and thrustbearing plates with 2000 grit wet-sandpaper (but dry! gives a better finish for diff plates) at every rebuild and your fine
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 04:53 PM   #2094
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 122
Default

Thanks for the info & tips Martin.. Hope to hear more from you soon.
Sleepstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 01:14 AM   #2095
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Croatia
Posts: 109
Default CVDs

Hi,

can i use CVDs from 4TC BD or BD5 use diferent CVDs.

Thanks
tomislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 02:50 AM   #2096
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleepstream View Post
Thanks for the info & tips Martin.. Hope to hear more from you soon.
i'm using 1/16" ceramic ball for my thrust bearing....

never fail me so far..
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 02:51 AM   #2097
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomislav View Post
Hi,

can i use CVDs from 4TC BD or BD5 use diferent CVDs.

Thanks
BD5 can use Sakura zero CVD or Tamiya CVD.
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 03:06 AM   #2098
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,344
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kschu View Post
BD5 can use Sakura zero CVD or Tamiya CVD.
Can you use the bd5 axle?
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 03:53 AM   #2099
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
Can you use the bd5 axle?

yes, only thing to change is the crossjoint...

why dont just try the ROche Heavyduty axle which take ages to wear out...?
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 11:19 AM   #2100
Tech Adept
 
housey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Guys what gear diffs will fit in the original BD?
housey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Losi JRXS Kenshin Electric On-Road 13263 06-13-2016 04:39 PM
Yokomo MR4TC-BD mr.ng Electric On-Road 9094 02-05-2013 02:10 PM
Hey all, new to R/C Stin83 Electric On-Road 12 11-05-2005 10:29 AM
Is EP TC racing dying? Edwin Lee Malaysian R/C Racers 221 04-28-2005 12:46 AM
New 1/10 Touring Car ttektek Electric On-Road 63 03-21-2005 02:56 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:23 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net