R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 11-16-2003, 12:30 AM   #1
Tech Addict

Default Are dischargers necessary?

If you usually run your pack until its dead do you need to discharge it? Im a noob to electric stuff so I dont really know. The reason Im asking is that I could save some money getting started in electric if I dont get one. If they are necessary, is it essential that it be a 30amp discharge or is a 20amp discharge sufficent?

Thanks

Last edited by AE Racer; 11-16-2003 at 12:35 AM.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 12:36 AM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

If you're a perfectionist then yes... discharge to at least 5.4 per pack (that's what i do for my fuk 3300s.)

Last edited by AWOLsoldier; 11-16-2003 at 03:20 AM.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 01:27 AM   #3
Tech Addict

Do you think a 20amp discharge is enough though?
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 01:50 AM   #4
Tech Elite

this is what i(and most people) do:
run them till it almost dumps.discharge to 5.4V per pack/0.9V per cell.tray until exactly 0.9V.store or recharge after cooling.

the discharge rate,if u've already run the packs,won't really matter.20A's are actually for cycling the packs after long periods of storage.If u have only a coupla hundred mAh's left in the packs,20A will only mean 1 minute or so.
as with most RC equipment,get the best u can afford.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2003, 08:05 AM   #5
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

i have gotten the lrp competiton charger partly because it had a 10 amp disharge and variable shut off voltage

however i have read enough about discharge trays that i am now wondering if i need one

i am also kinda new to this electric stuff or at least i havent done it for a year or 2 and feel like everything is new

i am racing and use smc matched packs and i want them to run well and last a long time