R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-12-2003, 02:28 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London Canada
Posts: 229
Lightbulb Perfect balance

Has anyone checked out this chassis balancing tool from Integy yet ? Think it is or might be useful ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg integy system.jpg (19.3 KB, 748 views)
SteveG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 02:53 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

yes i have 1 and used it and its awsome.
the car vis so neutrol left and right.
its as good as the hudy set up system.
if you use both like me you can get a perfect set-up.
i highly reccomend it.
__________________
Tamiya
Much More Racing
LRP electronic
Futaba
Speedtechrc
trf racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 10:25 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TX
Posts: 115
Default

it's a verry good setup system to tweak your chassis
Los1Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 10:25 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London Canada
Posts: 229
Default

You have one ?? tell us more....

How do you set your chassis on it ?? Is the info displayed in grams ??
SteveG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 12:52 AM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Manfredo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 83
Default

Here is a review of that system:

http://www.rc411.com/scopes/94/index.htm
Manfredo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 01:11 AM   #6
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

IRS makes a much nicer system, easier to use as well, but nowhere in that same price range...
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 01:14 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 184
Default

How can that be accurate?

You have to pick the car up and set it back down 4 times to get all corner weights no? There is no way that can be as accurate as 4 individual scales I wouldn't think.

Any care to chime in on this?
NitroJohnnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 01:15 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Randman
IRS makes a much nicer system, easier to use as well, but nowhere in that same price range...

have you got a link to it?
cheers
__________________
Tamiya
Much More Racing
LRP electronic
Futaba
Speedtechrc
trf racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 01:18 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NitroJohnnyD
How can that be accurate?

You have to pick the car up and set it back down 4 times to get all corner weights no? There is no way that can be as accurate as 4 individual scales I wouldn't think.

Any care to chime in on this?

you have to lift it more then once b/c its best just to double check because when adjusting the front the back can go out and you may have to readjust.
it takes a fair bit of time but at the end its gonna improve performance and feel easier to drive.
__________________
Tamiya
Much More Racing
LRP electronic
Futaba
Speedtechrc
trf racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 01:19 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
JasonC's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

http://www.teamirsrc.com/tweak.html
__________________
#60 of the Original 100
If your not part of the solution
Your part of the problem !
JasonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 01:23 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

wow they are deer.
i think i prefer my integy ones.
a lot smaller.
__________________
Tamiya
Much More Racing
LRP electronic
Futaba
Speedtechrc
trf racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 01:28 AM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
you have to lift it more then once b/c its best just to double check because when adjusting the front the back can go out and you may have to readjust.
That's my point! You could get 25 different readings from that deal.

I know when I worked in a race shop setting up real race cars, I would spend plenty of time just getting my scales 100% accurate as far as level and on plane with each other, before ever setting the car on them.

I cannot imagine loading and unloading the car 10 times, inadvertantly, one or more of the scales would be moved, altered or otherwise disturbed, thus causing an error in measurement.

Just a thought. I think I'll use the old postal scale method and a calulator. Simple math and you can calculate crossweight (wedge) and percentages.
NitroJohnnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 01:58 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
JasonC's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

if you shop around you can pick up 4 scales for aprox $120 usd
http://www.exactadigital.com/mn_prod...eSH25_summ.php
__________________
#60 of the Original 100
If your not part of the solution
Your part of the problem !
JasonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 03:21 AM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 184
Default

That scale is way too big and not accurate enough. That's a 25lb scale and only grauates at 2.8g

You really need a 500gram scale that graduates in 0.1g. Those you won't get for that price, figure on spending double that amount, but the question is of course...

How bad do you want to win?
NitroJohnnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 03:52 AM   #15
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

I use a simple one scale setup to weigh my cars. I use this setup I made to balance the car front\rear and left\right. Then when its all right I put on a tweak board just to check and if my ride hights are all on it is always perfect. Scaling is always the last thing I do. Not that Ive been doing this for years or anything I just started but Id like anyones feedback on how I do this any criticism will be apreciated. The reason that Integy states that they use one scale is that a 4 scale system has calibration problems? Im not sure why it would if you had all 4 scales perminantly fixed to somthing and releveled before every use.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg nov13#02.jpg (56.6 KB, 399 views)
__________________
www.victoryhobbies.com Greenbay, Wisconsin
Speedie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to balance a rc car kh15 Electric On-Road 9 06-30-2009 05:06 PM
To Balance or Not to Balance Lipo Packs while charging RED-LINE M03 Electric On-Road 14 10-24-2007 05:00 PM
LiPo Charge Balance / Non-balance bugnet Electric On-Road 2 09-12-2007 07:39 AM
To Balance or Not to Balance Lipo Packs while charging RED-LINE M03 Electric Off-Road 25 09-04-2007 02:22 PM
How does one balance an off-road truck or buggy for perfect jumping? domokun Electric Off-Road 4 03-20-2005 05:17 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:38 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net