R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-17-2009, 10:24 AM   #121
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
The esc needs to see the boosted voltage. That is how we trick it into thinking it also has 6v on the motor battery. In the new version we will still need to 'see' that boosted voltage so we still do not care what the motor battery voltage is and can give you full power all the time on any setup or motor..... all the way to 0V.

We currently give full power but we are blind to the motor battery voltage. That is why we need a new version that allows the switch to be on so we can measure the motor battery voltage and activate the low voltage cutoff without losing any rip.
ok, thanks for clearing that up.
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 06:07 PM   #122
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Latest software:

http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire.html
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 06:43 PM   #123
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
What version is this??
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 08:21 PM   #124
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria B.C Canada
Posts: 390
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

198
__________________
Gorden
light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 07:58 AM   #125
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Randy

When i selected the 1s box and applied the setting, then disconnected and connected it back in the 1s box is unchecked??
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!

Last edited by nitrobeast; 05-02-2009 at 08:09 AM.
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 09:12 AM   #126
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrobeast View Post
Randy

When i selected the 1s box and applied the setting, then disconnected and connected it back in the 1s box is unchecked??
My guess is that you installed the new hotwire software on your PC, but you didn't update your RS to the new firmware yet... the new features/settings won't work until you update the RS to the new version as well...

Fire up the hotwire, hit the "versions" button and make sure your RS is on version 1.98. If it's on an earlier version, select 1.98 from the list, then update the RS. Make sure not to uinplug or disturb the RS until the uopdate is complete. Also, remember when you update the firmware, you have to recalibrate the RS to your transmitter again.
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 01:38 PM   #127
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

does version 198 also work with 2 S lipo's or is it a 1S lipo version only?
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 02:03 PM   #128
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
does version 198 also work with 2 S lipo's or is it a 1S lipo version only?
Its for both
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 02:06 PM   #129
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

what has been changed from the 194 version? Any new benifits for the 2S users?
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 07:12 AM   #130
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

read this thread in depth last nite while overlookin the setup that resides in my 12r5 (and with thought to the 10r5 that showed up at my door today), currently has the smc lipo and the lil muchmore lipo rx pack as of present. my question has any1 taken the idea of 10.5/1s (or even 13.5/1s for a slower combination) and grafted it on 1/10 pan? asked a couple times in threads on here, no real response.

curious more than anything. since i've had to move on from offroad (moving south into onroad country)...i pose the question since beyond TC, the only stuff out there is pan and i have no interest in ever buyin another sub-c cell in my life.

thx

R

PS-RP, can you send me 1.94 please. thx
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 10:23 AM   #131
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Looks like we messed up on the 1S checkbox in the final rev. It is setting 1S in the controller even thought it is not showing it when plugged back in to the hotwire. Unfortunatly that means you cannot uncheck the 1S and get back to normal.

If you select 1S and save settings you have to do a factory reset on the unit to get it back to normal operation.

Chris (hotwire engineer) is gone climbing mountains in Canada this week so we might have to pull this new version off the web until he returns and it can be fixed. It appears fully functional in all other areas. Sorry for the mistake

Version 198 works for all setups from 1s (with a booster or rece pack) to 4cell, 2S and up to 6s with a seperate BEC

Tekin Prez
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 10:46 AM   #132
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chico, Ca
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Randy ...... what are the main differences between 189 and 198? Is it the lipo cutoff for 1S and the ability to use the switch under 1S with a receiver pack or booster? What about other features such as boost, have these been changed or altered in any way>
schurcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 10:48 AM   #133
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

The only difference from 194 to 198 on the RS is the 1s box. Your old setups should work just fine.

198 will be down until we get the 1s fixed. It will be up shortly.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 11:13 AM   #134
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chico, Ca
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The only difference from 194 to 198 on the RS is the 1s box. Your old setups should work just fine.

198 will be down until we get the 1s fixed. It will be up shortly.
What about 189? I'm still running 189 in my 1S wgt car with a Rx pack. What are the differences?
schurcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 11:41 AM   #135
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Version 189 and 194 are used on 1S lipo with the esc power switch off, the red wire left in the receiver plug from the esc, and a receiver pack or booster. Leaving the power switch off on the ESC tricked the unit into not reacting to the low voltage of the 1S lipo and reducing throttle. However the lipo cutoff did not work because the power switch was off.

In 198 checking the 1S box does the same thing as leaving the switch off, but intelligently and allows the lipo cutoff to work properly. So they should perform the same overall and are setup the same except for leaving the esc switch on.
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:28 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net