Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A >

Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A

Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A

Reply

Old 12-20-2011, 07:43 PM
  #1111  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria B.C Canada
Posts: 391
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Oops

Last edited by light; 05-18-2012 at 11:13 PM. Reason: wrong answer
light is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 08:33 PM
  #1112  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,289
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by light View Post
opps
Or...Oops!
Still Bill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 10:49 PM
  #1113  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
Or...Oops!
You go Bill!!!
CypressMidWest is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 08:06 PM
  #1114  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (78)
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,394
Trader Rating: 78 (100%+)
Default

Blinky class Help!!! Using RS what would I set the (throttle control) at to be safe? Im running 3 and tried 4 but seems the same. Motor timming is maxed. Need more speed!
Josh-n-ya is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 02:52 PM
  #1115  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
Bishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Whangaparaoa, Auckland region, New Zealand
Posts: 55
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys, I've had a troll through this thread with no luck so it's probably quicker just to ask -

What is the motor limit for a Tekin RS (not pro) running 1 cell Lipo in a 1:12 Pan?

Cheers
Bishy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 03:21 PM
  #1116  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (225)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 3,495
Trader Rating: 225 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bishy View Post
Hi guys, I've had a troll through this thread with no luck so it's probably quicker just to ask -

What is the motor limit for a Tekin RS (not pro) running 1 cell Lipo in a 1:12 Pan?

Cheers
5 turn on the RS.
Andy Koback is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 03:25 PM
  #1117  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
Bishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Whangaparaoa, Auckland region, New Zealand
Posts: 55
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Okay, I was thinking that seeing as how there's only 3.7 volts going through it then the speedy may handle a lower turn motor. Is the limitation due to something other than actual current?
Thanks
Bishy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 03:30 PM
  #1118  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bishy View Post
Hi guys, I've had a troll through this thread with no luck so it's probably quicker just to ask -

What is the motor limit for a Tekin RS (not pro) running 1 cell Lipo in a 1:12 Pan?

Cheers
Originally Posted by Andy Koback View Post
5 turn on the RS.
Originally Posted by Bishy View Post
Okay, I was thinking that seeing as how there's only 3.7 volts going through it then the speedy may handle a lower turn motor. Is the limitation due to something other than actual current?
Thanks
Actually, there is no problem running hotter motors than 5.0 in 12th with an RS

Make sure you use 13g wire with 2 caps
12th scale is so light, the load isn't an issue

May not be the company line, but I don't know of anyone that has had an issue with it.
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 04:18 PM
  #1119  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
Bishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Whangaparaoa, Auckland region, New Zealand
Posts: 55
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
Actually, there is no problem running hotter motors than 5.0 in 12th with an RS

Make sure you use 13g wire with 2 caps
12th scale is so light, the load isn't an issue

May not be the company line, but I don't know of anyone that has had an issue with it.
Thanks guys, that is how I saw it too. Not a lot of load, and only half the voltage it's rated on.

(Not that I'm going to be throwing anything hotter than a 5.0 turn in there in the near future)

Cheers
Bishy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 09:56 AM
  #1120  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SGP
Posts: 218
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AreCee View Post
You don't solder the battery leads to the switch leads. Use a connector so you can detach the battery to recharge it. All you are doing is putting the battery in line with the negative switch lead so when the swich closes the circuit the RX battery powers up the ESC's internal BEC thereby powering the receiver and servo while the 1S powers the motor.

Personally I just plug my LiFe RX pack into the receiver and don't turn on the ESC. You actually use less of the RX pack this way. I normally recharge the pack with 50 to 60 mah for an eight minute heat and several warm up laps. It's much easier and you don't need to change any connectors or wires.
If I plug the LiFe rx pack straight into the receiver and don't turn on the esc, both the red and black wire from the esc will still be connected to the 1S lipo right?

I read that on certain setup, the red wire is not plug to the 1S lipo. So I just want to ask regarding this setup.

Thanks.
faifaisalfal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 03:32 PM
  #1121  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (225)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 3,495
Trader Rating: 225 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by faifaisalfal View Post
If I plug the LiFe rx pack straight into the receiver and don't turn on the esc, both the red and black wire from the esc will still be connected to the 1S lipo right?

Thanks.
Correct! Use the receiver pack switch to turn it Off/On, not the one on the ESC.
Andy Koback is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 12:06 PM
  #1122  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,693
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I just ordered some of the Life Source 6.6V batts from Hobbico. They should be at the store Tuesday. I set up a second car for my son and wanted to see the difference between the bootster and battery with my own eyes. This pack doesn't come with a separate switch like the Dynamite, but looks like most of you who use it, like it.
liljohn1064 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 03:00 PM
  #1123  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
Bishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Whangaparaoa, Auckland region, New Zealand
Posts: 55
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Rollout/Esc settings 5.5 turn

Hi guys, I have searched this forum top to bottom and can't see the info I need so here goes:

Looking for some help with at least a rollout figure for my Tekin RS/SP 5.5turn 1 cell in a RC12R5.1. Running a receiver pack.

Outdoor track has laps in the 21 second range, with a 140ft straight leading into a fast sweeper, plus a technical infield.

Indoor carpet track is on an indoor sports pitch approx 95x45ft with laps in the 13 second range.

So far I have been running no motor timing, Boost of about 40 and Turbo around 10, with current limiter in the 70 range. My car is off the pace but not by a huge amount, the issue I have is I believe my Rollout is WAY to low (from 1.1 inches indoor to 1.3 outdoor!).

This stems from my background running TekinRS in 2S boosted applications (TC and Pro10) where you run FDR's in the 5.5 range...

I know I must be WAY out - so feel free to flame away!
Bishy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 03:37 PM
  #1124  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bishy View Post
Hi guys, I have searched this forum top to bottom and can't see the info I need so here goes:

Looking for some help with at least a rollout figure for my Tekin RS/SP 5.5turn 1 cell in a RC12R5.1. Running a receiver pack.

Outdoor track has laps in the 21 second range, with a 140ft straight leading into a fast sweeper, plus a technical infield.

Indoor carpet track is on an indoor sports pitch approx 95x45ft with laps in the 13 second range.

So far I have been running no motor timing, Boost of about 40 and Turbo around 10, with current limiter in the 70 range. My car is off the pace but not by a huge amount, the issue I have is I believe my Rollout is WAY to low (from 1.1 inches indoor to 1.3 outdoor!).

This stems from my background running TekinRS in 2S boosted applications (TC and Pro10) where you run FDR's in the 5.5 range...

I know I must be WAY out - so feel free to flame away!
Can't help you with the outdoor setup, and I've never run an SP motor, but for indoors I would remove the boost, add endbell timing, and roll out around 38mm

I run at a carpet track 90x45, laptimes in the low 9s, with a 4.5t, roll around 33mm, no boost

What I have found with mod motor timing
If the roll is too short, (small pinion) motor will temp higher due to high revs, esc will be cold
If the roll is too tall, motor will temp lower, esc will run hot

Optimum is when esc temp is a bit more than motor temp
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 05:42 PM
  #1125  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Rampokker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hawkes Bay, New Zealand
Posts: 619
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I've got a question regarding using a receiver pack on my rs with a 1s lipo.
If I have the 1s lipo option ticked in the hotwire interface, do I need to remove the red wire from the plug that goes from the esc to the receiver?

From what I've figured out while reading this thread, I should be able to leave said red wire in the plug. Then connect the esc to the 1s lipo, plug the life receiver pack into a spare slot in the receiver and also turn the esc power switch ON. This will then give me lipo cutoff while the receiver pack powers the servo and electronics and the lipo powers the motor.

Can someone please confirm that this is in fact the right way of doing it. Thanks!
Rampokker is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service