R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2011, 09:07 PM   #1036
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,772
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infinite 12th View Post
I guess this is a complicated question then...lol

I was trying to show that only two racers that did well used the same speedo in 12th mod/13.5

MOD



13.5



Everyone else either had a second car with different speedo or changed speedo between rounds

I am surprised this question is not asked more

To me my question is simple

Was there a speedo that was successfully used in both classes

As far as I have proof only the LRP/Nosram guys used the same speedo

All 13.5 Tekin guys used LRP in mod hence no one really ran the Tekin in mod

And my question was what LRP/Nosram speedo did those two guys run in both mod/13.5 classes? Either TCv2 or Spec/stock?

Ya see there is all this monkey see/monkey do and I simply wanted to use just one car with one speedo and avoid any extra monies spent on extra speedo's for extra cars so to sum up...lol

There we're no Tekin's in mod A-main hence the racers chose to use LRP in mod and I wanted to know why if the Tekin "could" also work in mod...lol

Thank you for your tolerance and help
I guarantee everyone that ran mod and 13.5 had 2 different cars. No doubt.

There is also no doubt in my mind that the 2 that ran the lrp type speedos ran stock specs in both classes.

I know most guys that were running the lrp stuff in mod were running some mild boost in their mod motors.
__________________
Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - RocheUSA - MonTech - Sanwa - BSR Racing Tires - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

180 and 360 Raceway. Best on the East Coast. Take your pick
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 06:33 AM   #1037
Tech Fanatic
 
Infinite 12th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 877
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
And all of us are also lacking the knowledge about what firmware such sponsored drivers may be using in their speedos.
I'm here to learn

Thanks for the post

Quote:
Originally Posted by L.Fairtrace View Post
I guarantee everyone that ran mod and 13.5 had 2 different cars. No doubt.

There is also no doubt in my mind that the 2 that ran the lrp type speedos ran stock specs in both classes.

I know most guys that were running the lrp stuff in mod were running some mild boost in their mod motors.
Two cars ok

Thanks about the stock/spec answer I guess the LRP guys you spoke of didn't use receiver pack or booster?

I am curious their settings for 13.5/mod (0-1-1-2) ?????????????

Thanks for taking the time to answer Larry

Good luck racing
__________________
12th scale - The Jedi class...
Infinite 12th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:19 PM   #1038
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Stansbury Park, UT
Posts: 277
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

OK....I finally finished my build and want to know just exactly how to wire a RS for 1/12th scale. I'm sure there's a million post but why can't you find it on Tekins sight? Maybe you can. I'm just tired of reading about boosters and LiFe batteries. I've got a LiFe battery and was wondering if I could just plug it in the receiver? Or do I need to add a switch? Anyone with a diagram of what I should would be helpful.
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:33 PM   #1039
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,234
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveb View Post
OK....I finally finished my build and want to know just exactly how to wire a RS for 1/12th scale. I'm sure there's a million post but why can't you find it on Tekins sight? Maybe you can. I'm just tired of reading about boosters and LiFe batteries. I've got a LiFe battery and was wondering if I could just plug it in the receiver? Or do I need to add a switch? Anyone with a diagram of what I should would be helpful.
All but one of the LiFe receiver packs I have purchased had an on/off switch built in. Which LiFe pack do you have?

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:46 PM   #1040
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Stansbury Park, UT
Posts: 277
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Bill, I have the standard 6.6V Rx Battery.....I'd like to wire it up like a nitro rx pack and get the swith that has a charge lead but I don't have to. I used to live in Manteca and I think I bought some stuff from you years ago. Glad to see Norcal the place to race. Eric and Kevin have done well. Sad to see places like Ripon and Speedworld struggle. email me and I'll send you a picture of my car. Thanks for the help [email protected]
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 05:16 AM   #1041
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

i did my rx wiring when i ran pans like this
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A-rs%25201s%25202s%2520wiring.jpg  
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 12:23 PM   #1042
Tech Fanatic
 
scootr117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: On a Stage or Stand somewhere
Posts: 939
Default

Has there been a concern with using a voltage booster with the RS 1s for 13.5? I was advised the boosted timing/turbo settings will damage the "N" brand smart boost. If there has been...is there a fix?
__________________
Scooter EXperimental
RK Designs
CD SuperPro Motors
Mike Pulfer is my HERO....
scootr117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 03:42 PM   #1043
Tech Master
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scootr117 View Post
Has there been a concern with using a voltage booster with the RS 1s for 13.5? I was advised the boosted timing/turbo settings will damage the "N" brand smart boost. If there has been...is there a fix?
Are you talking the old, large, SmartBoost or their newer, smaller booster(which is essentially their old transponder booster repackaged)?

I ran two different cars 13.5 boosted last year (12th and WGT) with the older and larger Novak SmartBoost, no problems at all. Changed over to the TQ style of booster, because of some better reliability and to use the 1S cut off with the Tekin instead of the (higher) Novak cut off.

I really don't think that there's some mystical way of boost hurting a Novak booster. If that were so, it would hurt ANY kind of booster, and that's just not happening. The power through the booster only provides power to the servo, transponder (if installed) and the Tekin's brain board.

Heck, most people have run their TQ style booster for years, no issues.

If you want a great booster, the one from Stormer is a good start (needs some simple 5 minute rewiring work to be as reliable as a TQ booster, PM me) and it's the same one from HobbyKing.
__________________
Tom Keith

Tekin & Sweep, thanks for all that you do for you know who!

Associated/T.O.P./Mugen/Fantom/Spektrum/Savox

Last edited by Buckaroo; 10-24-2011 at 03:56 PM.
Buckaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 03:49 PM   #1044
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

buy one buy TQ and be done with it
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 06:38 PM   #1045
Tech Addict
 
RacinJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa Az
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
i did my rx wiring when i ran pans like this
+1

I've run this set up for over a year. It works great.
__________________
Roche P12 '16 & '17; Team Scream 17.5 & 13.5

1/12th scale, just 1/12th scale.
I love to go like hell for 8 minutes.
RacinJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 07:10 AM   #1046
Tech Fanatic
 
scootr117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: On a Stage or Stand somewhere
Posts: 939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckaroo View Post
Are you talking the old, large, SmartBoost or their newer, smaller booster(which is essentially their old transponder booster repackaged)?

I ran two different cars 13.5 boosted last year (12th and WGT) with the older and larger Novak SmartBoost, no problems at all. Changed over to the TQ style of booster, because of some better reliability and to use the 1S cut off with the Tekin instead of the (higher) Novak cut off.

I really don't think that there's some mystical way of boost hurting a Novak booster. If that were so, it would hurt ANY kind of booster, and that's just not happening. The power through the booster only provides power to the servo, transponder (if installed) and the Tekin's brain board.

Heck, most people have run their TQ style booster for years, no issues.

If you want a great booster, the one from Stormer is a good start (needs some simple 5 minute rewiring work to be as reliable as a TQ booster, PM me) and it's the same one from HobbyKing.
Its an older style judging from the size. If mine dies, I will look at the one from Stormer....thanks for the info.
__________________
Scooter EXperimental
RK Designs
CD SuperPro Motors
Mike Pulfer is my HERO....
scootr117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 07:19 AM   #1047
Tech Elite
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scootr117 View Post
Its an older style judging from the size. If mine dies, I will look at the one from Stormer....thanks for the info.
It's not about the booster being damaged, it's about its tendency to "brown out" under heavy current load. I think someone posted how to overcome this problem somewhere else in the thread.......
__________________
Team CRC, PowerPush, Access Race Place, US Indoor Champs, CD SUPERPRO, RK Designs, TxDSkingraphix, Cypress, Founder and lead instructor of the Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driver Training Program, enroll now.....
CypressMidWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 08:21 AM   #1048
Tech Regular
 
racing_jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spokane
Posts: 333
Default

I have always ran the booster (TQ booster) and have always had good success with it.
Jason
__________________
Thank you to my sponsors-
Team Associated-Reedy-ProLine-B&B Hobbies Racing
racing_jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 10:06 AM   #1049
Tech Fanatic
 
scootr117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: On a Stage or Stand somewhere
Posts: 939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CypressMidWest View Post
It's not about the booster being damaged, it's about its tendency to "brown out" under heavy current load. I think someone posted how to overcome this problem somewhere else in the thread.......
I was thinking "Brown out " was to melt down and quit working. The thread is fairly large...I will try searching it with that term.
__________________
Scooter EXperimental
RK Designs
CD SuperPro Motors
Mike Pulfer is my HERO....
scootr117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 10:11 AM   #1050
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CypressMidWest View Post
It's not about the booster being damaged, it's about its tendency to "brown out" under heavy current load. I think someone posted how to overcome this problem somewhere else in the thread.......
Quote:
Originally Posted by scootr117 View Post
I was thinking "Brown out " was to melt down and quit working. The thread is fairly large...I will try searching it with that term.
I thought that the correct term is "Code Brown"? That's sort of a "melt down", right?
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:27 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net