R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2011, 12:03 AM   #1021
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

http://rcprogear.com/tagged/iic11

Per the above tech sheet posted by Syndrome, Mike used an LRP for mod and a Tekin for 13.5 at the IIC.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 12:04 AM   #1022
Tech Fanatic
 
Infinite 12th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 877
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
http://rcprogear.com/tagged/iic11

Per the above tech sheet posted by Syndrome, Mike used an LRP for mod and a Tekin for 13.5 at the IIC.

Bill
Thank you
__________________
12th scale - The Jedi class...
Infinite 12th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 12:07 AM   #1023
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Oh-kee-doe-kee.

As an Associated driver, I was surprised that he ran anything other than LRP.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 12:15 AM   #1024
Tech Fanatic
 
Infinite 12th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 877
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
Oh-kee-doe-kee.

As an Associated driver, I was surprised that he ran anything other than LRP.
Very helpful your link

So in looking closely I notice that Naoto used the nosram in both 12th scale 13.5 and mod

Was it the LRP copy of stock/spec or TC for both I dunno?

Also Alexander H. used LRP in both 13.5 and mod so those are the only two racers who stuck with the LRP type speedo's inbetween classes of 13.5 and mod

So what did Alexander use also the stock/spec or TC I dunno?

Very hard to get info on this ...lol

Meaning these two did not change speedo's for the .5 classes like everyone else did
__________________
12th scale - The Jedi class...
Infinite 12th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 06:46 AM   #1025
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infinite 12th View Post
Very helpful your link

So in looking closely I notice that Naoto used the nosram in both 12th scale 13.5 and mod

Was it the LRP copy of stock/spec or TC for both I dunno?

Also Alexander H. used LRP in both 13.5 and mod so those are the only two racers who stuck with the LRP type speedo's inbetween classes of 13.5 and mod

So what did Alexander use also the stock/spec or TC I dunno?

Very hard to get info on this ...lol

Meaning these two did not change speedo's for the .5 classes like everyone else did
I'm not certain about your questions but the Tekin RS Pro can certainly handle a 4T and a 17.5T "Blinky" and any open class just by pressing two buttons. Once you program C1 and C2 with the Hotwire all you need to access those profiles are the buttons on the ESC. One side note is that if you are planning to use a very low turn motor you may wish to consider using a receiver pack, the booster is more than enough for "Blinky' and high turn motors.

As far as how to set up your chassis for each class????? That's entirely up to you.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 10:00 AM   #1026
Tech Master
 
cheehtae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,470
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I was using my rs in tc racing and then decided to put it on my 12th scale , first thing I did was to update it then did all the parameters needed, made sure its in 1s mode. when I them connect my battery and turn on the power button I did not heart any chime that you would normally heart when you first turn it on, yes there is power, steering is working but when you hit your accelerator there is no power to the motor, it won't move. You can see the led accelerate if you hit the accelerator. Any help?
__________________
every impulse that we strive to strangle broods in the mind, and poison us...action is a mode of purification... the only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it.
cheehtae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 10:22 AM   #1027
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheehtae View Post
I was using my rs in tc racing and then decided to put it on my 12th scale , first thing I did was to update it then did all the parameters needed, made sure its in 1s mode. when I them connect my battery and turn on the power button I did not heart any chime that you would normally heart when you first turn it on, yes there is power, steering is working but when you hit your accelerator there is no power to the motor, it won't move. You can see the led accelerate if you hit the accelerator. Any help?
Do you have a 1s voltage booster, or receiver pack ?

The Tekin RS won't run 1s with out it.
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 10:23 AM   #1028
Tech Fanatic
 
Infinite 12th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 877
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AreCee View Post
I'm not certain about your questions but the Tekin RS Pro can certainly handle a 4T and a 17.5T "Blinky" and any open class just by pressing two buttons. Once you program C1 and C2 with the Hotwire all you need to access those profiles are the buttons on the ESC. One side note is that if you are planning to use a very low turn motor you may wish to consider using a receiver pack, the booster is more than enough for "Blinky' and high turn motors.

As far as how to set up your chassis for each class????? That's entirely up to you.
I guess this is a complicated question then...lol

I was trying to show that only two racers that did well used the same speedo in 12th mod/13.5

MOD



13.5



Everyone else either had a second car with different speedo or changed speedo between rounds

I am surprised this question is not asked more

To me my question is simple

Was there a speedo that was successfully used in both classes

As far as I have proof only the LRP/Nosram guys used the same speedo

All 13.5 Tekin guys used LRP in mod hence no one really ran the Tekin in mod

And my question was what LRP/Nosram speedo did those two guys run in both mod/13.5 classes? Either TCv2 or Spec/stock?

Ya see there is all this monkey see/monkey do and I simply wanted to use just one car with one speedo and avoid any extra monies spent on extra speedo's for extra cars so to sum up...lol

There we're no Tekin's in mod A-main hence the racers chose to use LRP in mod and I wanted to know why if the Tekin "could" also work in mod...lol

Thank you for your tolerance and help
__________________
12th scale - The Jedi class...

Last edited by Infinite 12th; 10-20-2011 at 10:43 AM.
Infinite 12th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 10:53 AM   #1029
Tech Master
 
cheehtae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,470
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
Do you have a 1s voltage booster, or receiver pack ?

The Tekin RS won't run 1s with out it.
Yes I was using a booster pack, I did try a different speed control and it was fine.
__________________
every impulse that we strive to strangle broods in the mind, and poison us...action is a mode of purification... the only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it.

Last edited by cheehtae; 10-20-2011 at 11:30 AM.
cheehtae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 11:10 AM   #1030
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infinite 12th View Post
And my question was what LRP/Nosram speedo did those two guys run in both mod/13.5 classes? Either TCv2 or Spec/stock?

Ya see there is all this monkey see/monkey do and I simply wanted to use just one car with one speedo and avoid any extra monies spent on extra speedo's for extra cars so to sum up...lol

There we're no Tekin's in mod A-main hence the racers chose to use LRP in mod and I wanted to know why if the Tekin "could" also work in mod...lol

Thank you for your tolerance and help
I personally wouldn't race the same chassis set-up in blinky and mod but would use one car set-up for each.

As far as which speedo, it comes down to sponsorship in the pros and personal preference for "feel" in non-pro. I have used the same speedo in stock and mod but then I can't really feel any real difference between brands except in my wallet. Therefore, I tend to stay with the brand/item that I have the most familiarity with and in this case it's Tekin. So far I was the top racer at my track in both WGT and 1/12 both are open speedo. The holder of the 1/12 fast lap was using a 4cell GTB and a receiver pack.

I would say that if you can afford it to try all of the ESCs and select the one that you think gives you the most consistent results and sell the rest.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 11:19 AM   #1031
Tech Fanatic
 
Infinite 12th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 877
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AreCee View Post
I personally wouldn't race the same chassis set-up in blinky and mod but would use one car set-up for each.

As far as which speedo, it comes down to sponsorship in the pros and personal preference for "feel" in non-pro. I have used the same speedo in stock and mod but then I can't really feel any real difference between brands except in my wallet. Therefore, I tend to stay with the brand/item that I have the most familiarity with and in this case it's Tekin. So far I was the top racer at my track in both WGT and 1/12 both are open speedo. The holder of the 1/12 fast lap was using a 4cell GTB and a receiver pack.

I would say that if you can afford it to try all of the ESCs and select the one that you think gives you the most consistent results and sell the rest.
My posts stated I did not need any chassis advice. I can figure that out. Just esc question...lol

lol...That's just it as my post suggested is that I can't afford to buy them all and having in my past made so many bad decisions about this or that is why I ask before buying so I can race sooner than later especially considering my last purchase is a speedo...lol

Who know's what exact speedo Naoto was running? TC or stockspec LRP Nosram copy :O

And what did hagberg run? TC or stockspec?

These being the ONLY two guys again that had the same speedo/brand in both classes so it is possible to do well with LRP for both but which LRP is my question or why the Tekin guys like blackstock switched speedo/brands between mod and 13.5

Thank you for your time
__________________
12th scale - The Jedi class...
Infinite 12th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 11:29 AM   #1032
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheehtae View Post
Yes I using a booster pack, I did try a different speed control and it war fine.
When using a TQ booster with a Tekin, I only turn on the booster switch, not the esc switch.
this is with the booster red wire soldered to the (+) post on the esc, and the 3wire plug, into the receiver.

Which type is your "different" esc ?
And how do you have it wired as compared with the Tekin ?
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 02:17 PM   #1033
Tech Master
 
cheehtae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,470
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
When using a TQ booster with a Tekin, I only turn on the booster switch, not the esc switch.
this is with the booster red wire soldered to the (+) post on the esc, and the 3wire plug, into the receiver.

Which type is your "different" esc ?
And how do you have it wired as compared with the Tekin ?
I'm using a china booster, there is no on and off for it., for the other esc it's a hobbywing esc and its not even sensored.
__________________
every impulse that we strive to strangle broods in the mind, and poison us...action is a mode of purification... the only way to get rid of temptation is to yield to it.
cheehtae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 07:58 PM   #1034
Tech Elite
 
chris moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phx AZ
Posts: 3,780
Trader Rating: 88 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheehtae View Post
I'm using a china booster, there is no on and off for it., for the other esc it's a hobbywing esc and its not even sensored.
I'm using an early version of the TQ without an on/off switch in one car and one of the cheap chinese boosters in another. Both have RS esc's and both work perfect, either your booster is bad or you have it wired wrong. Can you post a pic of your wiring?
__________________
Sponsered by:

CMDezigns Paint Works
https://www.facebook.com/pages/CM-Dezigns/259989190822177?ref=hl
chris moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 08:53 PM   #1035
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infinite 12th View Post
My posts stated I did not need any chassis advice. I can figure that out. Just esc question...lol

lol...That's just it as my post suggested is that I can't afford to buy them all and having in my past made so many bad decisions about this or that is why I ask before buying so I can race sooner than later especially considering my last purchase is a speedo...lol

Who know's what exact speedo Naoto was running? TC or stockspec LRP Nosram copy :O

And what did hagberg run? TC or stockspec?

These being the ONLY two guys again that had the same speedo/brand in both classes so it is possible to do well with LRP for both but which LRP is my question or why the Tekin guys like blackstock switched speedo/brands between mod and 13.5

Thank you for your time
And all of us are also lacking the knowledge about what firmware such sponsored drivers may be using in their speedos.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:15 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net