R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2010, 10:03 AM   #841
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AreCee View Post
That Rx pack is 220mah and I normally use about half per 8 minute heat.

I have it servo taped next to the Spektrum Micro Rx in my 12r5.1.

The biggest problem with that pack is the switch connections, they tend to break off.
In general, it's about 1-1/4" x 1" x 1/2".

I did replace the supplied on/off switch with a nice Novak switch.

http://www.nexusracing.com/product_i...7e88f9d473fe42

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 10:03 AM   #842
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I use 200mah IP LiFe pack and am very happy with it. I tend to take out 110mah per run (with a lot of practice laps).

I have it velcro taped to the top of the servo and swap them between runs. But i hate having to plug it into the receiver each time. I havent been able to find someone who makes a switch harness where the switch isnt a big massive thing
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 10:12 AM   #843
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Great Falls Montana
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
In general, it's about 1-1/4" x 1" x 1/2".

I did replace the supplied on/off switch with a nice Novak switch.

http://www.nexusracing.com/product_i...7e88f9d473fe42

Bill
Does that pack require balancing, if so which one do you use?

Bob
Bobinmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 10:49 AM   #844
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobinmt View Post
Does that pack require balancing, if so which one do you use?

Bob
No balancer...easy.

But, your charger does have to support Li-Fe (a123) charging. This could also possibly be done with a little hand-held charger.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 10:57 AM   #845
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Great Falls Montana
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
No balancer...easy.

But, your charger does have to support Li-Fe (a123) charging. This could also possibly be done with a little hand-held charger.

Bill
I have a Duratrax Onyx 230 charger that says it charges Li-Fe??
How long does the recharge take after one run on it?

Thanks again Bill for your help, I really appreciate it.

Bob
Bobinmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 11:34 AM   #846
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobinmt View Post
I have a Duratrax Onyx 230 charger that says it charges Li-Fe??
How long does the recharge take after one run on it?

Thanks again Bill for your help, I really appreciate it.

Bob
At .2amp about a half hour. I charge at .5 and it's done in 10 minutes or so but I don't time it since the main pack takes much longer to charge (I use two chargers obviously).
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 05:24 PM   #847
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobinmt View Post
I have a Duratrax Onyx 230 charger that says it charges Li-Fe??
How long does the recharge take after one run on it?

Thanks again Bill for your help, I really appreciate it.

Bob
I charge this Li-Fe at .8 amps because it can take something like four times. After a 6 minute run with my WGT car, it takes about 10-15 minutes.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 12:38 PM   #848
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Great Falls Montana
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Still Bill View Post
I charge this Li-Fe at .8 amps because it can take something like four times. After a 6 minute run with my WGT car, it takes about 10-15 minutes.

Bill
I just got my new Li-Fe packs, there 220mah 6.6v. My charger will only allow me to select 200 or 250mah nothing in between and the instruction manual says NOT to exceed the battery's stated capacity. When I select 200mah it automatically wants to charge at a 2.0 amp rate. I can change this but my question is should I and if so to what?

Bill you say that your charging yours at .8 amp? or is that 8.0 amps?

Thanks again for any help provided..
Bob
Bobinmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 02:58 PM   #849
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 275
Default

im pretty sure he means .8 amps. anything over 1amp to a 200mah battery is just risky. depending on your charger, if you just lie to it about the battery capacity and tell it the battery is bigger, then you can charge it faster. i think a .5amp charger rate should be fine. read any instructions that come with the battery. some companies say that their batteries require a few light cycles to break them in before you start using them normally.
benben10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 03:35 PM   #850
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Great Falls Montana
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Charge Rate

There is absolutely no instructions with these Lf-Fe's...
Bobinmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 04:00 PM   #851
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 275
Default

if you want to be gentle with them. then i would charge them at .1 or .2 amps (100 or 200 milliamps) fully. then discharge them to 3.2v per cell if your charger has discharge capability. you may have to discharge them in lipo mode to let you raise the cutoff voltage that high. do this 5-10 times and then from there use them normally (charge at .2-.5 amps and use until empty or top-off whenever).
benben10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 05:47 PM   #852
1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,139
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobinmt View Post
I just got my new Li-Fe packs, there 220mah 6.6v. My charger will only allow me to select 200 or 250mah nothing in between and the instruction manual says NOT to exceed the battery's stated capacity. When I select 200mah it automatically wants to charge at a 2.0 amp rate. I can change this but my question is should I and if so to what?

Bill you say that your charging yours at .8 amp? or is that 8.0 amps?

Thanks again for any help provided..
Bob
Just charge at 200mah setting to be safe. You will have plenty of capacity for 8 mins. I only pull 70mah for 8 mins racing and 1 min warm-up.

I charge at .4 amps. Which is quicker than my 1s lipo will charge. It's easily charged before the motor to cools down, if you are running to multiple lipos.
1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 08:19 PM   #853
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobinmt View Post
I just got my new Li-Fe packs, there 220mah 6.6v. My charger will only allow me to select 200 or 250mah nothing in between and the instruction manual says NOT to exceed the battery's stated capacity. When I select 200mah it automatically wants to charge at a 2.0 amp rate. I can change this but my question is should I and if so to what?

Bill you say that your charging yours at .8 amp? or is that 8.0 amps?

Thanks again for any help provided..
Bob
Definitely charging in A123 mode at .8 amps on my Hyperion charger.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 01:21 PM   #854
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I only have charged mine in the LiFe mode at up to .7 amps normally .5A. Of course the charger is set for LiFe voltages.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 10:58 AM   #855
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,880
Default

Please help:

1/12 crc genxl
13.5 duo middle hole timing
rs pro esc V203
life recv pack
Speedworld Asphalt raceway ~120x60

what rollout and esc settings?

Last edited by JayL; 04-16-2010 at 11:01 AM. Reason: esc version
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:27 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net