R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2010, 05:33 AM   #781
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 100
Default Possible to replace a receiver lead?

Slightly off topic ... I have a Tekin RS running 1S in a 1/12 scale, and it seems the black wire lead to my receiver must have overheated, as the rubber insulation has cooked off at several places along the lead. I haven't yet taken it apart to replace the lead, but I'm guessing it is a direct solder onto the board which may be tricky to do. Has anyone had to do this? Difficulty scale? My alternative is to heat shrink the entire lead. Thoughts?

(By the way, my theory as to how this happened is that it was caused by a weak solder joint to my deans connector (held together by the heat shrink, and the solder joint to the booster). I'm thinking the ESC was running the motor mostly off the receiver lead. I was having a hard time figuring out why my car was so slow and turbo boost didn't work ... thought I had cooked the battery, replaced that, then thought I had cooked the motor, so I put in a different motor, and all along it was a bad solder joint!)
JohnPrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 06:53 AM   #782
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,531
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the info. I got the TQ Booster.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 09:57 AM   #783
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I highly doubt the receiver would draw enuff current to be able to melt the insulation. To me it is more likely you were soldering something and the wire brushed the soldering iron
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 02:42 PM   #784
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 100
Default

It's the entire length of the wire ... bare wire next to brittle pieces of insulation next to bare wire all the way up the lead. I know what it looks like when you cook the insulation off a wire ... done it before when I was doing some experimentation with an old lipo that was headed for the trash.

Last edited by JohnPrz; 02-25-2010 at 03:21 PM.
JohnPrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 03:23 PM   #785
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 100
Default

Here's a picture.
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&amp;A-pict0024.jpg  
JohnPrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 07:13 PM   #786
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 5 (86%+)
Default setup..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swen View Post
Yes, it's Duo 1. It's a 40x70 track, 1s. I ran it last weekend in the middle hole, no turbo, profile 4, 45 timing. I tqed by a lap and won. Everyone said it was very fast and it felt that way too. I was rolled out at 2.558.
what rpm start and end....
obi wun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 07:22 PM   #787
Regional Moderator
 
Jon Carlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

7500 and the lowest one it gives you.
__________________
Jon Carlson
Team Associated, Reedy
Futaba, OS Engines, O'Donnell Racing Fuel
Jon Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 07:25 PM   #788
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 5 (86%+)
Default setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swen View Post
7500 and the lowest one it gives you.
is 7500 the start..if so whats the end...
obi wun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 07:27 PM   #789
Regional Moderator
 
Jon Carlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

No, 7500 is the end. The start is the lowest option it gives you when it calculates the RPM.
__________________
Jon Carlson
Team Associated, Reedy
Futaba, OS Engines, O'Donnell Racing Fuel
Jon Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 10:51 PM   #790
1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,139
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone got a killer set-up for RS-Pro with latest firmware.

Running a 10.5 Duo.
Small tight track.
69t 48p Spur
Rear tires at 46mm / 1.81 inch

I need more guts from this motor. Help would be very much appreciated.
1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 11:19 AM   #791
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

what milliamp battery are most using now,i have seen a little more use with 203 over 200 but not much just curios cause I'm going to be getting a 1/12 in a few weeks and need to buy a battery
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 11:23 AM   #792
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 275
Default

incase you dont want to read all bajillion pages of this, i think i saw ppl able to suck down as much as 3500mah in a 5 min run, but i dont think there are many choices of battery other than 5000-5600 mah. i have read that you should stay away from the reedy 1s battery because the weight is uneven left to right and unbalances your car. otherwise i thinker there are alot of SMC and thunderpower lovers out there.

oh and ty for bringing back this thread. i had wondered what happend to it.
benben10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 12:40 PM   #793
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
what milliamp battery are most using now,i have seen a little more use with 203 over 200 but not much just curios cause I'm going to be getting a 1/12 in a few weeks and need to buy a battery
in stock on our last layout I was sucking 3300mah adn 3900mah in 13.5, but on our current layout I have come down to 2900mah in stock and 3500mah in 13.5
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 01:54 PM   #794
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 275
Default

what all does the 1s lipo check box do? does it just turn off the BEC? would that mean we could use the RSpro for high voltage applications and with a RX pack and have everything work?

i was in the drag racing seen for a little while and was curious.
benben10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 03:43 PM   #795
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

1 cell check box is for the lipo cut off
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:00 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net