Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A >

Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A

Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A

Old 02-11-2010, 10:52 AM
  #751  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (75)
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,659
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Sometimes I've seen that happen, but after trying to uncheck the box for a second time and applying the changes the settings changed as I desired. You could also downgrade the software (try V 2.00) and perform the upgrade to V 2.03 again to see if it makes a difference.

The cutoff, when activated, will cause the car to seem like it's suddenly losing power, then stops moving altogether. I've hit the cutoff once, and glad that I had it active - doing so might have saved the battery...
oeoeo327 is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 11:05 AM
  #752  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13,247
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Yeah just keep hitting it until it takes it. Might take a few tries but it will eventually.
wingracer is online now  
Old 02-11-2010, 12:29 PM
  #753  
Tech Regular
 
rinkrat99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 420
Default

What was really wierd was after not accepting the unchecked box, I also changed another setting and unchecked the box and only the other seting was accepted.

Strange
rinkrat99 is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 03:33 PM
  #754  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: lost...
Posts: 2,867
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

For those of you using the 220mah Li-Fe receiver pack how many amps do you charge the pack at and can you leave the pack fully charged or does it need to discharged down so many percent?
RoyU is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 06:31 PM
  #755  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (16)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,379
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RoyU View Post
For those of you using the 220mah Li-Fe receiver pack how many amps do you charge the pack at and can you leave the pack fully charged or does it need to discharged down so many percent?
I charge mine at 0.8A. No discharging necessary.

I believe charging at 4.5 times the pack's rating is OK; so, 1.0A works. I am just being safe.

Bill
Still Bill is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 07:27 PM
  #756  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RoyU View Post
For those of you using the 220mah Li-Fe receiver pack how many amps do you charge the pack at and can you leave the pack fully charged or does it need to discharged down so many percent?
I charge at 1amp using a LiFe profile on my $50 Loong-Max charger.

One thing I noticed is that the switch isn't soldered on very well and the wires can break off. I resoldered mine and they have stayed put.
AreCee is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 09:08 PM
  #757  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (16)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,379
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AreCee View Post
I charge at 1amp using a LiFe profile on my $50 Loong-Max charger.

One thing I noticed is that the switch isn't soldered on very well and the wires can break off. I resoldered mine and they have stayed put.
Poor quality switch. I already replaced it.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 06:40 AM
  #758  
Tech Regular
 
rinkrat99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 420
Default Help

Hi all

Here is the situation I am in with a Tekin RS and my 12th scaler

GEN-XL
1S Lipo rated 4900 mAh
2S RX pack rated 250 mAh
Voltage Regulator to RX rated 6V 1.5 A
Tekin RS FW V203
Hotwire V4.0

Was running practice with V203 and was fine for 5 laps then all of a sudden it started sputtering/bogging down, temp was under 100F. Back to the bench, the motor will quickly bog down when throttle is pressed quickly, it can ramp slowly and turn the motor until it reaches the RPM Start range (maybe). I monitered the RX pack output via scope and remained constant at 6V. Vbat at esc +/- was monitored with scope and found to be solid until the bogging/sputtering occurs, then I get a 4.1V nominal with a Vpp at 3.5/4.4V so this indicates large current surge. Also when the motor bogs down I get a high pitched squeel out of the RS.

Tried changing FW back to V198 and this got better if not totally back to normal.

Reset FW back to V203 and got same results (BAD). I reduced the Timing down to 20 degrees and same result. Reduced down to 0 degrees same result.

All motor connections seem fine, motor timing mechanically is at 0 on my Havok 17.5

Not sure where to go from here except reconfirm V198 has no issue.

Thanks
rinkrat99 is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 07:03 AM
  #759  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 234
Default

Souds like a motor sensor problem to me. Try switching motors.
Jeremy Otis is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 07:20 AM
  #760  
avs
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rinkrat99 View Post
Hi all

Was running practice with V203 and was fine for 5 laps then all of a sudden it started sputtering/bogging down, temp was under 100F. Back to the bench, the motor will quickly bog down when throttle is pressed quickly, it can ramp slowly and turn the motor until it reaches the RPM Start range (maybe).

hen I get a 4.1V nominal with a Vpp at 3.5/4.4V so this indicates large current surge. Also when the motor bogs down I get a high pitched squeel out of the RS.

Tried changing FW back to V198 and this got better if not totally back to normal.

Reset FW back to V203 and got same results (BAD). I reduced the Timing down to 20 degrees and same result. Reduced down to 0 degrees same result.


Not sure where to go from here except reconfirm V198 has no issue.

Thanks
i had a similiar experience, the motor would spin up ok if you added throttle slowly, but a quick pull of the trigger and you could see the motor wires staighten out but the motor wouldn't budge, and switching back to v200 was ok.

out of frustration i opened up the motor and found one of the power bars had a weak solder connection to its stator wire. resoldering it resolved the problem. i can't say i understand why, but the timing advance characteristic of v203 must have had something to do with it.
avs is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 08:37 AM
  #761  
Team Tekin
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,912
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rinkrat99 View Post
Was running practice with V203 and was fine for 5 laps then all of a sudden it started sputtering/bogging down, temp was under 100F. Back to the bench, the motor will quickly bog down when throttle is pressed quickly, it can ramp slowly and turn the motor until it reaches the RPM Start range (maybe). I monitered the RX pack output via scope and remained constant at 6V. Vbat at esc +/- was monitored with scope and found to be solid until the bogging/sputtering occurs, then I get a 4.1V nominal with a Vpp at 3.5/4.4V so this indicates large current surge. Also when the motor bogs down I get a high pitched squeel out of the RS.

Tried changing FW back to V198 and this got better if not totally back to normal.

Reset FW back to V203 and got same results (BAD). I reduced the Timing down to 20 degrees and same result. Reduced down to 0 degrees same result.

All motor connections seem fine, motor timing mechanically is at 0 on my Havok 17.5

Not sure where to go from here except reconfirm V198 has no issue.

Thanks
This sounds like a motor with a bad sensor or a bad harness. V203 requires 100% solid sensor signals or can cause the cogging/squeeling you're describing. Use the RS's sensor checker feature to verify the sensors are working.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 08:58 AM
  #762  
Tech Regular
 
rinkrat99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 420
Default

Hi Randy

How do I check the RS's sensor checker feature?

Thanks
rinkrat99 is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 09:30 AM
  #763  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Great Falls Montana
Posts: 34
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rinkrat99 View Post
Hi Randy

How do I check the RS's sensor checker feature?

Thanks
I believe you simply spin the rear wheels slowly by hand while the car is on and ready to run, the last 3 lights on the ESC should flicker.
Bobinmt is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:32 PM
  #764  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 439
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Set-up help

Okay, I have read through most of this thread and have not seen anybody else with this issue. I just installed a new RS in my 12th and loaded Jeff Cuffs set-up on it before I installed it (V203). I get everything put together and turn on the radio then booster, servo moves and the micro spectrum receiver starts blinking. I rebind the radio and receiver servo works and I have zero lights on the RS. I hook the RS into the receiver on my sonís truck and was able to calibrate it to the radio and the light turned on, but that was with 2C, hooked back up to 1C and still has no lights and every time I turn it off I have to rebind the radio and receiver just to get the servo to work. I have been through several scenarios and nothing has worked to this point. The battery is fully charged. Any suggestions on what it could be?
Equipment used: M8 Radio, Spectrum micro receiver, Novak booster, and IP 40C. I was running an SPX with no issues, just changed the speedo.
XCELL is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:36 PM
  #765  
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,664
Default

Do you have the voltage cutoff set to either 2 or 3? This means 2s or 3s. Try turning the voltage cutoff "off".
CarbonJoe is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.