R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2009, 12:17 PM   #601
oze
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 142
Default

Just installed my RS Pro with Novak booster, 1S and a 10,5T motor. I got 200Vegas on the ESC.
What switch should be on or off and shall I check the 1S box?
oze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 04:32 PM   #602
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oze View Post
Just installed my RS Pro with Novak booster, 1S and a 10,5T motor. I got 200Vegas on the ESC.
What switch should be on or off and shall I check the 1S box?
Yes, check the 1S box.

Running a Novak booster this is not strictly necessary as it has its own cutoff but the normal procedure to enable the cutoff in the RS is as follows.

Turning on: Turn on booster, then turn on RS

Turning off: Turn off RS, then turn off booster.

If you do not turn on the RS it will still work, but will not enable the cutoff on the RS. As you are running a Novak booster you have the choice. Other boosters do not have a voltage cutoff so the above procedure is the recommended one.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 09:17 PM   #603
oze
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 142
Default

Thanks Trev for the detailed answer.
oze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 02:25 PM   #604
Tech Regular
 
Thistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 495
Send a message via MSN to Thistle
Default

Very helpful info here. I might be closer to solving the issues with my RS Pro 1S lipo set-up. Which is posted here: http://www.rctech.net/forum/6777988-post9114.html
__________________
Xray | Ofna | KO Propo | Tekin | Clockwork Racing Engines
Thistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 04:59 PM   #605
Tech Regular
 
kawirider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 319
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thistle View Post
Very helpful info here. I might be closer to solving the issues with my RS Pro 1S lipo set-up. Which is posted here: http://www.rctech.net/forum/6777988-post9114.html
you throttle dead band is set at 56 and should be like 5, thats one major issue.
__________________
Associated T4, CRC Gen XL, Associated 10R5 WGT, jconcepts BJ4

Josh Evans
kawirider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2009, 05:37 PM   #606
Tech Master
 
WIITA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,590
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

So, should you always keep the neutral width low? Thanks
WIITA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 12:56 AM   #607
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chico, Ca
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kawirider View Post
you throttle dead band is set at 56 and should be like 5, thats one major issue.
It sounds like your wiring the receiver pack incorrectly?? Pos & Neg from your recevier battery need to go to the pos & neg on the receiver's battery port. If you're using a single AAA battery that's a problem as well. AAA's put 1.5v which isn't enough for the speedo.
schurcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 10:50 AM   #608
Tech Regular
 
kawirider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 319
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WIITA View Post
So, should you always keep the neutral width low? Thanks
yes, the manual says that value should be around 6-10. right now, 56% of your trigger travel is locked up in the neutral dead band. and you need a reciever pack, one aa wont do it. put 4 of those together and you got one, just not rechargable. better to get a 250mah LiFe pack for that, you will need to have charger that has the A123 setting to charge one though.
__________________
Associated T4, CRC Gen XL, Associated 10R5 WGT, jconcepts BJ4

Josh Evans
kawirider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 03:09 PM   #609
Tech Regular
 
Thistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 495
Send a message via MSN to Thistle
Default

Actually, the AAA is wired to the lipo, so the receiver pack I was trying was 4.9 volts. (3.7 lipo + 1.2 AAA)
I tried a dedicated receiver pack, and the ESC responded perfectly, so I now have 2 AAA's wired in. (6.1 volts)
I will be trying it on the track tonight, and I'll let you all know how it goes.
__________________
Xray | Ofna | KO Propo | Tekin | Clockwork Racing Engines
Thistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 05:46 PM   #610
Tech Regular
 
kawirider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 319
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

hey thistle, that is not how it should be wired and i would NOT do it like that if i were u. it may work but only for a short time. the 4 cell reciever pack should be wired to the positive and negative on the reciever itself. what u have done is doing nothing at all. if you have 4 aaa's wired in series you are making 6 volts and by attaching the leads to the lipo battery side of the speedo, you are just fooling the speedo into turning on because it sees that 6v. what will happen is the speedo is going to pull the voltage from the reciever pack instead of the lipo to run the motor, those aaa will be dead in nothing flat. when you wire it in through the reciever, the reciver pack is only powering the reciver and servo which is a very small ampdraw. YOU WILL HAVE MAJOR PROBLEMS DOING IT THE WAY YOU ARE GOING AFTER It. this RS speedo is not exactly cheap to relpace due to bad install....but do what you want and furthermore, adding those aaa in parallel to the lipo does not boost the voltage to 6.1. to get the voltage to add on, the batteries have to be in series config. if i read your post right, what your doing could actually damage the lipo and pop the aaa's.
__________________
Associated T4, CRC Gen XL, Associated 10R5 WGT, jconcepts BJ4

Josh Evans
kawirider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 05:49 PM   #611
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 225
Default

I think he is playing on a joke on us. There is know way someone would really do that stuff.
march to my own is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 10:31 AM   #612
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by march to my own View Post
I think he is playing on a joke on us. There is know way someone would really do that stuff.
Er... Father's who pretend their son has been carried away by a hot air balloon, mothers injecting themselves with botulinium toxin (most deadly toxin known to man!) and teenagers doing whatever it takes to get on reality TV shows... Sure, someone could do something like this!!
SlowerOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 04:04 PM   #613
Tech Regular
 
Thistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 495
Send a message via MSN to Thistle
Default

Actually, Yes... I have done it... and yes, I did notice that my aaa's went dead part way through the run.
The wiring, was taught to me by a team driver for CRC, so it does work, but the one thing that I wasn't sure about was the red wire in the ESC plug. (Rx plug) I have left it in, because when I took it out, I had no power at all at the ESC. Perhaps with all of the testing I've been doing with hotwire settings, I should try taking the wire out again.

I'll keep you all informed on my progress.
__________________
Xray | Ofna | KO Propo | Tekin | Clockwork Racing Engines
Thistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 08:53 AM   #614
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thistle View Post
Actually, Yes... I have done it... and yes, I did notice that my aaa's went dead part way through the run.
The wiring, was taught to me by a team driver for CRC, so it does work, but the one thing that I wasn't sure about was the red wire in the ESC plug. (Rx plug) I have left it in, because when I took it out, I had no power at all at the ESC. Perhaps with all of the testing I've been doing with hotwire settings, I should try taking the wire out again.

I'll keep you all informed on my progress.
i think it was Trips or Crashby that described a similiar setup last year in the 1/12 thread.

however, as i suggested in the other thread, it would be easier and less frustrating to get things sorted out with a normal receiver pack and both the battery and esc switched on. (the excessive neutral width may not be the only problem)

once you have a feel for how it should be working, then try the 1cell booster scheme. note that Tekin only reccomends a receiver pack or booster, there may be a good reason or they may just be trying to keep their suggestions straightforward.
__________________
Tony Shimko

Last edited by avs; 01-01-2010 at 09:04 AM.
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 09:28 PM   #615
Tech Fanatic
 
jammincrtjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Im looking for a starting point for 1/12 scale 17.5 on a track with a 90 foot straight.

Any help is appreciated.
__________________
NEXUS RACING www.nexusracing.com | FANTOM RACING www.fantomracing.com
ORCA www.orcarc.com | TURTLE TRAX / www.turtletraxraceway.com
--------------------------------------------------
"If you're not first...you're last!"
jammincrtjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:13 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net