Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A >

Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A

Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A

Old 10-17-2009, 04:34 AM
  #466  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pakk View Post
I got the latest vegas 200 setup up for 1s and a novak booster. I just soldered The red and black wire from the booster to the + and - posts. Then I plugged the booster into an empty spot on my RX. I turned both switches on.

Then I drove it around on my living room floor.

Then I started reading this thread, but did not read it all.

It seemed to drive fine, did I set it up right?
Don't use both switches just the Novak one. Hid the ESC switch so a turn marshal doesn't turn it on by mistake.
lidebt2 is offline  
Old 10-17-2009, 06:43 AM
  #467  
H I
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
H I's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,877
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I run RS pro with mod motor and ESC got little hot using high gearing.
What sort of temperature on RS pro can I push it up to?
H I is offline  
Old 10-17-2009, 06:46 AM
  #468  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Turn your ESC off and use only the Booster for power. Other than that, you're good.
Scottmisfits is offline  
Old 10-17-2009, 07:54 AM
  #469  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by H I View Post
I run RS pro with mod motor and ESC got little hot using high gearing.
What sort of temperature on RS pro can I push it up to?
The LEDs will flash showing how hot the ESC gets.....
It alternates between throttle status and the temperature of the esc.
mangoman is offline  
Old 10-17-2009, 01:15 PM
  #470  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (80)
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,082
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

The switch actually broke on this esc a while ago so I just have the wires twisted together with a touch of solder. So I just took them apart.

Just for reference, I did have both switches on and it seems to run exactly the same with the ESC switch off.

--pakk
pakk is offline  
Old 10-18-2009, 10:42 PM
  #471  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

With v200 software, the Tekin speedo is designed to be switched on with the receiver pack so that the LiPo cut-off will work. Switch on receiver pack, switch on speedo. Then the LiPo cut-off is effective.

This DOES NOT work with earlier versions of the software!!! On versions 199 or earlier, DO NOT switch on the speedo whilst the receiver pack is on. You might release the built-in smoke!! It also does not work with most other speedos.

Tekin - leading the way...
SlowerOne is offline  
Old 10-19-2009, 07:51 AM
  #472  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
With v200 software, the Tekin speedo is designed to be switched on with the receiver pack so that the LiPo cut-off will work. Switch on receiver pack, switch on speedo. Then the LiPo cut-off is effective.

This DOES NOT work with earlier versions of the software!!! On versions 199 or earlier, DO NOT switch on the speedo whilst the receiver pack is on. You might release the built-in smoke!! It also does not work with most other speedos.

Tekin - leading the way...
Is that true? i dont think i ever came across that comment before...
mangoman is offline  
Old 10-19-2009, 08:23 AM
  #473  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (33)
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 610
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Using 194 you must leave the esc switch off.

Once the repaired version of 198 is up on the site you will be able to select 1s with the Hotwire and then leave the switch on.
Here ya go, had to dig for it.
Mac The Knife is offline  
Old 10-19-2009, 08:45 AM
  #474  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,909
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

With V200 and the switch off, you do no get voltage cutoff. With V200 and the switch on you do. I've run V200 with the 13.5 Redline 1S for 2 months with no issues with both switches on. I have good brakes at the end of a run, the motor never gets over 160 and the WGT is plenty fast indoor.
liljohn1064 is offline  
Old 10-19-2009, 06:26 PM
  #475  
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,134
Default

Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
With v200 software, the Tekin speedo is designed to be switched on with the receiver pack so that the LiPo cut-off will work. Switch on receiver pack, switch on speedo. Then the LiPo cut-off is effective.
True, and leave the red wire in the receiver plug like normal.

Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
This DOES NOT work with earlier versions of the software!!! On versions 199 or earlier, DO NOT switch on the speedo whilst the receiver pack is on. You might release the built-in smoke!! It also does not work with most other speedos.

Tekin - leading the way...
Fortunately not exactly true. Randy's line should read... "Using 194 you must leave the esc switch off for best performance." With the switch on we reduce throttle due to the low voltage and the esc being setup for 4 cell nimh where 4v would be dead.

As of some later versions it does not run the motor on 1S with the switch on at all unless the 1S box is checked, but in no case does it cause damage (switch on or off) as long as the receiver pack or booster is supplying 6v to 8v to the receiver.

Tekin Prez
Tekin Prez is offline  
Old 10-19-2009, 11:10 PM
  #476  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
On versions 199 or earlier, DO NOT switch on the speedo whilst the receiver pack is on. You might release the built-in smoke!!
Hmmm, to tell you the truth i was more worried about the pretty general and implied comment that you could fry your esc by turning the esc on along with a receiver pack. I always recommend the RS to people here when i can and its something i want to keep this in mind when i recommend it if this is true.

Im sure there are plenty of people who get one for the first time and want to plug it in and bench test it with out doing a firmware update, because they are initially a little worried or confused with what to do with the hotwire.

Is the comment for receiver packs/boosters in general or referring to 2s receiver packs, which shouldnt ever be used without a voltage regulator in the first place?

Thanks,
Martin
mangoman is offline  
Old 10-20-2009, 05:43 PM
  #477  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Graduate Hospital
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Timing Boost Vs Turbo Boost

Can I get a definition of the two?

Thank you,

Rudy Diaz
Deznuts05 is offline  
Old 10-20-2009, 09:16 PM
  #478  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,909
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Deznuts05 View Post
Can I get a definition of the two?

Thank you,

Rudy Diaz
Timing boost is fixed where you set it, like turning the endbell of the motor, but via the ESC. Turbo changes the timing curve after a delay during wide open throttle. If done right, Turbo looks like second gear at about the time regular acceleration is complete. The two can stack, but the danger is in revving the motor to the point where there is no more torque and the car actually slows instead of accelerating further when the turbo delay is reached.
liljohn1064 is offline  
Old 10-20-2009, 09:20 PM
  #479  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,909
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
Hmmm, to tell you the truth i was more worried about the pretty general and implied comment that you could fry your esc by turning the esc on along with a receiver pack. I always recommend the RS to people here when i can and its something i want to keep this in mind when i recommend it if this is true.

Im sure there are plenty of people who get one for the first time and want to plug it in and bench test it with out doing a firmware update, because they are initially a little worried or confused with what to do with the hotwire.

Is the comment for receiver packs/boosters in general or referring to 2s receiver packs, which shouldnt ever be used without a voltage regulator in the first place?

Thanks,
Martin
This is an excellent point. You should run Hotwire first, update to firmware V200 and set up the ESC before applying any kind of power. I did my last one before it was mounted in the car. The USB connection provides all the power necessary. As side note, I've never run Hotwire with the main battery connected or the power switch on, its not necessary.
liljohn1064 is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 09:53 AM
  #480  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Graduate Hospital
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for answering my question

Rudy Diaz
Deznuts05 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.