Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A >

Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A

Tekin RS/RS PRO on 1s Lipo Q&A

Old 10-14-2009, 01:41 PM
  #436  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 231
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
We use hobbywing motors in our tamiya minis in australia. I think they are 380 size motors but they have a fins around the motor to bulk it up to a 540 size motor so it fits in the car normally.
The hobbywing motors are sensorless
billb60 is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 02:20 PM
  #437  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 720
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AreCee View Post
I believe that he was referring to the mounting holes on the 380 motor requiring a new or modified mounting plate on the motor pod. So even with fins it won't bolt to a 1/12 scale rear pod.
adam lancia is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 10:29 PM
  #438  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

A couple of Questions guys.

First, I have no brakes if I run in the Sensored mode. If I run in DDR, I do. I have calibrated my radio with the brake EPA set down as low as the ESC will register it, which is 75% on a 4PK, turned it up and It's still no better. Any suggestions for what the problem could be?

Second, I am running a 17.5 Tekin motor, RS Pro V200, SMC 4000 1S, Novak booster. I need some baseline settings for a medium sized, medium grip track. I have tried motor and ESC timing cranked, both backed off, turbo on at all different levels, and everything in between. Can someone suggest a rollout and some settings?

Thanks,
Scott
Scottmisfits is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 03:13 AM
  #439  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK,the sunny north
Posts: 329
Default

Just got mt rs pro and will be running with a booster, but wana change to a receiver pack, do you guys always use a regulator or not, can u recommend a decent one?

Cheers
jas1 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 03:54 AM
  #440  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by billb60 View Post
The hobbywing motors are sensorless
There are sensorless escs around, like the R1
mangoman is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 03:57 AM
  #441  
sg1
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,259
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jas1 View Post
Just got mt rs pro and will be running with a booster, but wana change to a receiver pack, do you guys always use a regulator or not, can u recommend a decent one?

Cheers
I don't use a regulator. I have two 3.7v 140mah lipos in series.
-Wayne
sg1 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 04:01 AM
  #442  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sg1 View Post
I don't use a regulator. I have two 3.7v 140mah lipos in series.
-Wayne
Tekin have stated previously that while the esc seems to work fine without a regulator they suggest against doing so.

Obviously they cant really comment on the how your receiver/servo likes running at the higher voltage.
mangoman is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 04:02 AM
  #443  
sg1
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,259
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Scottmisfits View Post
A couple of Questions guys.

First, I have no brakes if I run in the Sensored mode. If I run in DDR, I do. I have calibrated my radio with the brake EPA set down as low as the ESC will register it, which is 75% on a 4PK, turned it up and It's still no better. Any suggestions for what the problem could be?

Second, I am running a 17.5 Tekin motor, RS Pro V200, SMC 4000 1S, Novak booster. I need some baseline settings for a medium sized, medium grip track. I have tried motor and ESC timing cranked, both backed off, turbo on at all different levels, and everything in between. Can someone suggest a rollout and some settings?

Thanks,
Scott

You don't need brakes I run my drag break setting at 0 and Break strength at 80.

Setting wise, try:

throttle profile 3
boost 20
turbo 10
motor timing low (2-4)
3.1" rollout

If the motor comes off cold, more boost or motor timing and another pinion.
-Wayne
sg1 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 04:04 AM
  #444  
sg1
Tech Elite
iTrader: (79)
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,259
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
Tekin have stated previously that while the esc seems to work fine without a regulator they suggest against doing so.

Obviously they cant really comment on the how your receiver/servo likes running at the higher voltage.
True, I've been running a 2S lipo for a while now and have had no problems.... so far
sg1 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 08:26 AM
  #445  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sg1 View Post
You don't need brakes I run my drag break setting at 0 and Break strength at 80.

Setting wise, try:

throttle profile 3
boost 20
turbo 10
motor timing low (2-4)
3.1" rollout

If the motor comes off cold, more boost or motor timing and another pinion.
-Wayne
i would have to agree with wayne. I do not run any drag brake, I do run 100 on the brake, but i am running push to keep the motor braking from slowing the car down. I have always been told by people that in stock you never use brake. just fyi
Throttle profile 5
boost 18
turbo max
motor timing is 0
push at 70
rollout 96mm
delay .5

Last edited by theisgroup; 10-15-2009 at 08:37 AM.
theisgroup is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 08:35 AM
  #446  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

In stock touring we never used brake with brushed motors. Is it really the same with brushless?

If you read the other part of my post, running in sensored mode, I have no brakes period. No matter how I have drag brake or brake strength set. I have a tone of brakes in DDM.

Any suggestions on that?
Scottmisfits is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 08:40 AM
  #447  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Scottmisfits View Post
In stock touring we never used brake with brushed motors. Is it really the same with brushless?

If you read the other part of my post, running in sensored mode, I have no brakes period. No matter how I have drag brake or brake strength set. I have a tone of brakes in DDM.

Any suggestions on that?
I can try it this weekend. But I never hit the brake at all and am running push in the speedo. so I really never noticed if the brakes work at all. I guess they do. at the end of the race before I hit the boards, I hit the brake to stop the car so I can pick it up.

I will play with that this weekend and let you know
theisgroup is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 08:46 AM
  #448  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,909
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Scottmisfits View Post
In stock touring we never used brake with brushed motors. Is it really the same with brushless?

If you read the other part of my post, running in sensored mode, I have no brakes period. No matter how I have drag brake or brake strength set. I have a tone of brakes in DDM.

Any suggestions on that?
You may be geared so tall on the pinion that the motor when braking cannot offer enough resistance. How is the car geared at the moment? What is the complete setup of the motor and ESC?
liljohn1064 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 10:33 AM
  #449  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I'm at a 72mm roll out right now. I have been as high as 111 but obviously that doesn't work. The setup that Randy posted was what I started with with standard, zero, and maxxed motor timing. I have also tried Maxxed, mid, and zero esc timing. Tried max turbo, mid, and zero.

I have put the set up that Randy posted back on. I am using a Tekin 17.5 with all this right now.
Scottmisfits is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 10:59 AM
  #450  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,909
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Scottmisfits View Post
I'm at a 72mm roll out right now. I have been as high as 111 but obviously that doesn't work. The setup that Randy posted was what I started with with standard, zero, and maxxed motor timing. I have also tried Maxxed, mid, and zero esc timing. Tried max turbo, mid, and zero.

I have put the set up that Randy posted back on. I am using a Tekin 17.5 with all this right now.
At 72mm you should have excellent brakes. Try resetting the ESC to factory default, then program it again.
liljohn1064 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.